Undead Monthly

Check out what you’ve missed in the last month!

So, if you’ll notice, in the last few weeks Dyan and I haven’t been reading/reviewing and we’re really sorry for that! School has been HECTIC, people. We had a test on the SECOND DAY OF SCHOOL. Who does that? Anyway, here’s our recap!

Undead Monthly-Highlights

• This isn’t a highlight since it’s not fun, but Aimee and Dyan are going back to school! Check out the details here.

• Dyan finally posted her bookshelf tour! Take a look here. (Wait for Aimee’s sometime in July as well.)

• Aimee finally met her co-blogger Faye! (And they hung out with Dre @ Sporadic Reads.) Check out Faye’s awesome recap of the meeting here!

Undead Monthly-Featurer

Threats of Sky and Sea (Threats of Sky and Sea #1)

Threats of Sky and Sea was everything I hoped Throne of Glass was but wasn’t. With a very respectable heroine (I elaborate more on that in my review) and interesting world-building, this book has put this author on my auto-read list. -Aimee

—-

Reboot (Reboot, #1)

Reboot by Amy Tintera
Dyan has no review, but Aimee has a very negative one here!

My favorite book of the month is reboot. The premise was very unique and the book was executed beautifully. Aside from that, Wren is a total badass, and Callum is too fucking cute. -Dyan

 

Undead Monthly-Reviews

• Movie review: Maleficent | 3.5 stars | review

• City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6) by Cassandra Clare | 2.5 stars | review

• Love and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan | 4 stars | review

• Thousand Words by Jennifer Brown | 3 stars | review

• Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1) by Jaclyn Dolamore | 3 stars | review

• Threats of Sky and Sea (Threats of Sky and Sea, #1) by Jennifer Ellision | 4 stars | review

• This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith | 1.5 stars | review

• Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die, #1) by Danielle Paige | 1.5 stars | review

• TV Pilot Review: Delirium | 1 star | review

Undead Monthly-Other

Interview with Paula Stokes, author of The Art of Lainey!

• Aimee talks about the YA male lead tropes.

• Aimee explains why the blog will be having less reviews. (Hint: SCHOOL!)

WHY DO MY SHIPS ALWAYS SINK? A question asked by many readers.

• Obsessed with blog stats? Don’t be! Improve your stats-related thinking habits.

• Dyan’s bookshelf tour is up!

Undead Monthly-In the Future

Click on the covers to check out these books’ Goodreads pages!

Aimee’s to-be-published in July wishlist:

Midnight Thief (Midnight Thief, #1) Landline Unwept (The Nightbirds, #1)

Dyan’s to-be-published in July wishlist:

On the Fence The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles, #1) The Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #1)

Things to look forward to in July:

• Breathe, Annie, Breathe (Hundred Oaks, #5) by Miranda Kenneally blog tour (review)

• Aimee’s bookshelf tour! (Hopefully.)

pagebreak

That’s it for this month’s wrap-up, guys! Be sure to leave links to your monthly/weekly summaries for us to check out!

About Aimee & Dyan

Aimee & Dyan (n.): A duo of frenemies who totally love to watch book-to-movie adaptations together to make fun of.

all of Aimee & Dyan’s joint posts →

23 thoughts on “Monthly Summary: June

  1. Lol! I find it fascinating how Dyan loved a book that Aimee hated. Unfortunately I’m more with Aimee on this one. This book was just such a mess in my eyes, but it isn’t stopping everyone else from loving it. Yay! Landline and On the Fence :) I hope you girls love these! And heh, can’t wait for your bookshelf tour, Aimee!

    Like

    1. We’re awesome like that. ;P Reboot was such an annoying read, haha! xD Landline looks awesomeeee. And I still need to clean up my shelves because they’re a MESS. ;P

      Like

    1. Happy July, Emily! :) School is very rude and inconsiderate. We were still on vacation mode! -_- Landline looks great and On the Fence was so cute! :D

      Like

  2. I’m curious about what you’ll think of Unwept, Aimee. I thought it had great potential but just fell a bit flat :|

    Have a lovely July, ladies! <33

    Like

  3. Unwept just arrived in the mail yesterday! I LOVED Midnight Thief. And Maggie adored Queen of the Tearling and Tina is about to read Kiss of Deception! hooray.

    Good luck with school. Isn’t it great when you get to meet other bloggers?!!

    Like

  4. Test on the second day? Yikes. Even my school waited at least a week. Though we did have practice tests in the holidays, which sucked. Yay, you got to meet Faye! Looks and sounds like the three of you had fun. :) I was so disappointed with Dorothy Must Die, I liked it a bit better, I didn’t find it bad, but didn’t find it amazing either. It was okay. Though, the fact that everything you and the characters learn in it, is on the back of the book really annoyed me :/ Just read the back and you have book one. What is the point of that? The more I think about it, the more I want to throw it at someone. I’ve read Unwept and On the Fence! Unwept was eerie and I had no clue what was going on, really strange, but it kept me reading, and it’s pretty short so it was a quick read. I LOVED On the Fence though, my first Kasie West and damn. My only complaint is that it ended.

    Like

  5. Eeeek school. Thank god it’s summer over here. I wish you the best of luck with school, and I totally understand how it can hinder your blogging/commenting. Lol I would definitely not consider school a highlight [;

    I’m also super excited for Landline, it seems like a more mature contemporary than I usually read so I’m intrigued to see how much I enjoy it. I also can’t wait to see what you think about Breathe, Annie, Breathe. I do enjoy Miranda’s books, however some more than others.

    Like

  6. Aimee, I’m looking forward to Landline as well! I hope we both love it. I checked out your meet up with Faye and it looks like you ladies had some fun! It’s always a blast meeting fellow book lovers. And bummer about the test on your second day of school! I hated when that sort of thing happened.

    Dyan, I hope you enjoy On the Fence. I adored Pivot Point by Kasie West but I’ve yet to read her contemporary books yet.

    Great post, ladies! :)

    Like

  7. So awesome that you guys did so much in June, even if you had classes. :D You’ll handle it well for now :D
    Do you guys have any terror teachers? :)

    Like

  8. I am looking forward to Kiss of Deception too! And uhm, girls are you both sure you were busy this month? Because you sure both posted a lot of things :) And I have yet to see Dyan’s tour! Going there now…. :D

    Like

  9. SCHOOL. *shakes fist* Thankfully I’m past the busiest part of high school (my finals were in May), but I still know what it feels like to be overwhelmed with studies. At least you’re still able to blog and comment! I had to take a seven-month hiatus because I couldn’t juggle so many things at once. You guys are like, superwomen. ;) All the same, all the best with school, and don’t stress yourselves out too much!

    Aimee: You have some pretty cool books on your wishlist — super excited for Midnight Thief as well, even though it’s been getting some mixed reviews. And LANDLINE!!! I’m ridiculously excited for that even though I haven’t read a single Rainbow Rowell book. I knowww, I do intend to fix that! Hope you get to read those soon so I can read all your thoughts!

    Dyan: Ooh, On the Fence! I really liked that book, even though I tend to prefer darker contemporaries rather than fluffy ones. Still, Kasie West is an amazing author and all the characters were awesome. I can’t wait for you to read it! And eh, I’m currently reading The Kiss of Deception, and it’s not that great. I don’t want to dampen your excitement for it, but it’s kind of boring. :P

    Anyway, hope July will be a much better month for you guys! <3

    Like

  10. Hmm, I’m intrigued by Threats of Sky and Sea, as I quite enjoy the Throne of Glass series (though admittedly, book 1 didn’t crazy wow me, haha). I love both your guys July TBR list! Most of those are one mine, too!

    Like

  11. Ah well. Y’all still got me beat. I’ve been away for two weeks, and since then, I’ve just now posted one article. Anyway, school’s first. Always. Always.

    Have a great month!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

