Discuss Darlings

Come discuss with us!

I bet we’ve all experienced our bookish ships sinking, right? Our pairings not ending up together… Or when one of them ends up with someone else…

I am one of those people who take ships VERY seriously. I rage and will forever dislike a book if my ship doesn’t happen. Well, okay, not really, there are still different aspects that make a book good or bad, but non-ships make me so mad. It’s the SECOND worst thing an author could do. The first being character deaths, of course.

I have had so many sunken ships/ships that didn’t sail… But I won’t be sharing them in fear of spoilers! I just want to express (mentally, to them) how sad I am that they didn’t work out. They broke my heart, really!

It’s probably because, with love triangles, I tend to pick the “best friend” over whoever the other guy is, and we all know how best friend tend to get friendzoned. I mourn for you guys, and I sincerely pray that there will be more books where you guys will reign supreme!

There are other times when I like the FIRST GUY who shows up rather than whoever shows up second. :P I have no idea why I think this way, but it happens a LOT! And usually girls end up with who she met last, yeah? At least, that’s the case with a lot of the books I’ve read with love triangles. :T Am I weird? Okay, I’m weird.

pagebreak

I also asked Faye (The Social Potato) and Kureha (you can find her on Goodreads) a few ship-related questions:

Well what are your thoughts on sinking ships in general?

Faye: Well, it sucks, but it’s not the end of the world for me. I’ll always respect the author’s “main” ships. :P They usually have a reason for doing what they do! XD

Kure: I’m disappointed, but, yes, I move on. LOL

What’s the worst case you’ve experienced, though? Like you REALLY wanted them to end up together and it was tragic how they didn’t?

Faye: When I found out Matt and Sora ended up together in Digimon (an anime), I actually cried. =)) I wanted him with Mimi! I’m less immature now though.

Kure: I’m sometimes drawn to tragic ships. I’m only reading Naruto (anime/manga) right now to see if my ship happens. A few years ago, I would have been devastated if they didn’t become canon.

What sort of pairing do you ship the most? (Best friends, bad boy/good girl, etc.)

Faye: It depends on the story, haha. But I like it if they were complete opposites… if they bantered a lot… and they find common ground.

Kure: It depends on the story. I usually ship based on compatibility. I’ve even shipped siblings… Only once, though. And I blame it on the writers and the actors.

pagebreak

Tell me about your ships!

Aimee likes to ship all the ships. Give her a book without romance and she’ll still find a pairing to ship. Seriously. That’s just how life is.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | all of Aimee’s posts →

59 thoughts on “Why Do My Ships Always Sink?!

    1. It’s a half/half thing for me, since there are some authors who go for the nerdy friend nowadays. ;P While everything else does play a bigger part for how a story entertains me, I’m one of those people that NEEDS their ships to happen. xD I still haven’t continued that series, so I currently have no stand on Chaol/Calaena/Dorian. ;P

      Like

  1. BFFs tend to get friedzones indeed. It’s always the mysterious guy who wins over the BFF =/ I’ve actually read more books where the first guy gets the girl, but there are exceptions. OH MY GOD FAYE, MATT AND MIMI FTW!!!! *sobs* I usually ship the opposites too, but it really depends on the book. Sometimes I do love me some BFF romance (Catching Jordan, for instance). Great post, ladies!

    Like

  2. I tend to ship people who do end up together so I don’t get disappointed a lot. :P but I do have some that sank. And those suck. Sometimes it affects how I like a book, but sometimes not really. I think the one that I felt bad about was Lucien and Amy in Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. I mean you can gather from the title they won’t end up together, but I loved Lucien anyway. Haha

    Like

    1. Haha! That happens a lot, but there are just those times where I CAN’T ACCEPT IT. XD For me, it’ll only affect the book if the guy the girl chose is an ass, or if the pacing was bad. :) I can’t remember who Lucien is. D: Loved Amy & Roger!

      Like

  3. I kind of always go for the best friend too, I just really love that romance, you know? They know each other in and out, they support one another, and yeah, the awkwardness when it starts developing into romance territory but it’s always so damn cute. I’ll always ship the best friend, unless they’re complete jerks then nope, buh-bye. But, sometimes, I do also kind of ship the first one that shows up too. If I don’t like any of them I don’t really care who ends up with each other. The hardest though, is when I like both of them. It’s mean. I don’t want to choose, I don’t want the MC to choose. No one choose. They all live happily ever after, ‘kay? ;) Nah, half the time I don’t know who I want them to end up with until they end up with someone else and I’m like “NO. YOU’RE SUPPOSED TO END UP WITH THE OTHER ONE.”. And then just go into denial.

    Like

    1. Me too! They’re my favorites! <3 I don't think I've ever experienced liking both love interests. xD But I've had a lot where I don't really care about who the girl ends up with.

      I am in that in denial stage ALL THE TIME!

      Like

  4. I hate it when that happens. :( You read like 4 books, waiting, on the edge of your seat, for the girl-and guy to get together, then the series ends, and they DON’T!!!
    Interesting post, tho!

    Like

  5. Yep, yep, yep. The nice guy almost always finishes last in YA. Especially in a contemporary, the jerk bad boy type guy usually gets the girl, it makes me so mad! It’s like GIVE ME YOUR LEFTOVERS LADIES. And my ships have been pretty lucky lately *crosses fingers* I was really happy with the ending of Ignite Me. We shall see about Ruin & Rising though ;) But I did used to feel like all my ships were sinking a few years ago. Maybe I just got better at predicting who would end up with who, ha. Great post :)

    Like

    1. EXACTLY. Why?! D: I would gladly take the nice guys off your hands, dears!

      IGNITE ME? NOOO LOL. I have a deep dispassion for Warner. ;P

      Sometimes I know that the girl will end up with this guy but I just don’t like him. D:

      Like

  6. I’m glad then that I haven’t been reading as many ya romances lately so I haven’t been agonizing over who they end up with. Heck I think a few of the ones I have read romance hasn’t been as big of a factor thankfully. Except the lunar chronicles which everyone is ending up with the ones they should it looks like =)

    Like

  7. I think I’ve been lucky (and or just not overly invested?) in that I don’t have too many sinking ships. I think I tend to go over to the author’s side though if he/she makes a good case for their ship, like with The Hunger Games. :) It does suck though to not have the closure you feel is right – especially after investing so much time into the characters!

    Like

  8. This isn’t such a big deal for me – but it depends on each individual story! But even if my original ship does sink, well I’m happy as long as I can see that the other match works a lot better.

    I’m also prone to jumping ships. Haha. I did this in the Hunger Games. At first it HAD to be Gale, but then I was all for Peeta. And I jumped ships multiple times in VA and Twilight, :P

    Like

    1. I hardly ever see the other match as a good thing, no matter how awesome the other guy is. xD

      I rarely jump ships, but when I do, there’s good reason for it! Bahaha! VA had so much ship-jumping. ;P

      Like

  9. I’ll confess – I don’t recall any of my ships really “sinking” before, but I can imagine that it would definitely stink! Thanks for sharing Aimee!

    Like

  10. I can only really recall one of my ships ever sinking—usually i’m pretty good at determining who an MC should be with based on compatiiblity and who just makes her an overall better person. It sucked when my ship lost lol but i do tend to go for the underdogs that just give off the “there’s more to me than you can probably guess” vibe lol

    Like

  11. Ah… I also often root for the underdog, the nice guy, the friend who worships from afar. Sometimes that works for me, but other times, not so much. I get so invested that I will confess to peeking at the endings of certain books just to see if I can handle them.
    Great topic!
    Jen @ YA Romantics

    Like

  12. Yes, I’ve definitely been in a position several times where my ships sink. An example I can think of at the top of my head is the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa. In that one I really loved Puck, however Ash ended up with Meagan. I just find those funny characters more interesting than the new broody mysterious ones. Still, I respect Julie and her writing choices. It’s because of this where whichever boy the author chooses doesn’t matter, I want the integrity to stay with the story. I wouldn’t want a unnatural choice to happen just because certain people like a ship.

    Still, I do get a little sad when ships sink :P

    Awesome discussion post! You always manage to bring up interesting ideals

    Like

  13. I take ships seriously too Aimee. I don’t like it when the girl ends up with the villain turned love interest (sounds familiar?) or when the girl dies and the main character is left mourning. I’ll be like “WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! YOU *and a stream of curses follows*. It’s rare that I root for the bestfriend, but when I root for the good guy or the “friend” guy I tend to hate the main character a LOT. I mean, would you really fall for a mean/ass/jerk/douche guy who treats you like trash? Ugh. I love bad boys, but there’s a limitation to how evil they can be to a girl.

    Like

  14. oh my god I feel you *hugs*

    I’ll always fall for the first guys who appears. ALWAYS. Sometimes the MC herself isn’t sure if her feelings for the guy is like or respect or something else but I just ship them together!!! As long as they are cute/swoony/totally cool together, I don’t even care anymore. And once I’m settled for a team, it’s going to be take some effort to make be switch camps so AHH. THE HEARTBREAK.

    This is why we have fanfiction ;)

    Like

  15. It could just be the book amnesia kicking in, but I don’t think I’ve ever had one of my ships sink before…I probably have but just can’t remember it/blocked it from my memory lol

    It would definitely suck not having one of my ships be canon though! Although at the same time, I don’t take my ships THAT seriously so I’d probably rage about it for a bit and then move on :P

    Like

  16. I’m very very worried for my ship in Ensnared… WHAT IF IT ALL GOES TO THE DOGS?!! *cries* I’m scared. But mostly my ships work out perfectly like in Ignite me = omg, I am so happy. And also I was happy my ship stayed okay in Reboot/Rebel and I’m still torn to who exactly I’m shipping in Partials. I think it’s Samm/Kira really, though I DO like Marcus. I need to read the last book, actually…

    Like

  17. Two words: Shatter Me. MY SHIP SUNK TO THE BOTTOM OF THE OCEAN AND GOT SMASHED IN A BAJILLION PIECES :P

    I hate it when I become invested in a ship and then the author goes and abandons me and my little boat *shakes fist*

    Like

  18. UGH ME TOO! So many love triangles that were done in a horrendous way. Okay, that was extreme. But the thing is, I too often dislike books that sunk my otp!! :( But the love triangle that I love the most is CLOCKWORK PRINCESS!! *wink wink* Anyway, now that Ruin and Rising has been released, I am dreading over the fate of my otp!!! Oh-noooooo

    Like

  19. I hate it when my ship sinks too and it affects my view on the book. I think I have DNFed one series so far because of it. Well, aside from the awful plot, my OTP died so I don’t think I have any reason to read it.

    Like

  20. Arg, I hate sinking ships, too! I think it’s pretty normal for a lot of people to pick the “best friend” or second lead guy, but because I hate sinking ships so badly, I just automatically gravitate to the one I know will get the girl/guy, haha. So luckily, I’m very rarely ever wrong (It’s all my drama watching, good practice!).

    Great discussion, Aimee!

    Like

  21. For whatever reason, I’ve had the good fortune of most of my ships begin canon. Actually, I think it’s TV shows where I ship the non-canon, so with books I tend to settle quite well. Usually I can handle my ship sinking, since it is the writer’s decision after all and whatever they choose is going to end up being their best route. And if it really bothers me, there’s always AUs and fan art to find :D

    Like

  22. To be honest, I usually end up liking the guys that DO end up with the girl so I hardly get disappointed but I did read a book recently where I favoured the second guy whole heartedly and I am 100% positive is not going to get the girl, and I am sooo loathing when that day comes. I don’t even think I want to read the rest of the series (Chameleon by kelly Oram) cause of that one reason alone. But other than that, I happy to say I always get my couples. LOL ;p Love this post! Thanks for sharing, Aimee! :D

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair 

    Like

  23. My biggest failed ship: the UNEARTHLY series. I was on board with the LI in book one, then book two changed my mind, and I couldn’t switch back. :( There are times when I’ve felt bad for the other guy because I’ve liked him so much (Adrian Ivashkov, Cal from HEXED HALL, etc), but I never felt as though they were going to end up with the heroine anyway, if you know what I mean.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    Like

  24. My ship almost always happens :P
    Joke hahaha
    Not really, I just tend to like the guy that the girl usually gets paired with. I’m easy to please when it comes to ships, because if they have a cute banter, if the guy’s funny and adorable, charming and if I could see how cute they are together, then I will instantly like them. Tho I don’t always support all ships. I ship my book boyfriends hard, like Warner or Daemon (Don’t get mad Aimee, but I really do love Warner, tho Adam is a good man :D)

    Like

  25. I don’t get on ships as hard as other people do, but I do find myself confused sometimes at which ships sank and which sailed. Ok enough of the analogy lol. I hate love triangles, and it always seems to be a guessing game at who the author is really rooting for.

    Like

  26. For some reason, my ships always sink, too. Because I generally pick the boy that the MC falls for SECOND, who NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER GETS THE GIRL, AIMEE. NEVER. It’s so unfair.
    But because my ships never float, I am pretty much resigned to the fact that my book boyfriend will not get his MC. He’ll pretty much just have to be content with my never ending and true love ;D Well, along with all my other book boyfriends, of course!

    Like

  27. Ha, it definitely sucks having a ship sink, but I’m with Faye — it’s not really the end of the world for me because mostly I tend to focus on character development and the plot progression, rather than the romance. Though a good romance will have me swooning all the way, for sure! I guess I’ve just never really experienced a ship sinking because I tend to support the first guy who came along. In love triangles, at least, and generally the books I read have fairly well-done romance. With crappy romance, I just can’t be bothered if my ship sinks or floats. :P

    The only times I can remember feeling disappointed with a sunken ship is in The Diviners by Libba Bray and Requiem by Lauren Oliver. I totally shipped the MC with the pickpocket love interest in Diviners but then she ended up with someone I absolutely disliked for some reason! That really got me because I just couldn’t accept the ending and was left with a disgusted face the whole day. (Yep, it’s THAT extreme!) And for Requiem, that open ending, man. THAT OPEN ENDING. Who does Lena end up with? Alex or Julian?! Personally, I much preferred Alex over Julian, but Lauren Oliver left me hanging so I never found out who Lena chose in the end. Don’t know if that counts as a ship sinking, but whatever, I was SO mad with that ending.

    I know what you mean about picking the best friend, though — I’m the same! I’d much rather the protag fall in love with the friend she knows for ages than some random dude who looks hot in a leather jacket. Seriously. But great post, Aimee! Let’s hope some of your ships start setting sail and actually making it to the end instead of sinking! ;)

    Like

  28. YOU KNOW (how I felt about the Shatter Me series). And I am suspecting I’d feel the same way with Splintered. NOOOOO! Even though, in the end, I respect the author’s decisions, I STILL sulk and become really sad and disappointed. It can’t be helped! It’s the reality of being a book nerd.

    Like

  29. I totally agree, Aimee. If my ship isn’t picked by the end it’s a huge disappointment for me! I was not happy with the way Cassandra Clare handled Tessa/Jem/Will in her Infernal Devices series! The epilogue of the last book ruined the whole series for me. I was not happy with Nightshade series by Andrea Cremer either, and on top of not picking my ship she did something HORRIBLE to my guy! :( Great post! :)

    Like

  30. Sometimes my ships will sink and sometimes they stay alive but you are so right, I always ship the best friend too! But what is with the friendzone? If only the heroines could see what is in front of them *sighs* Lovely discussion Aimee!

    Like

  31. I am somehow lucky with my ships cause they end up together…but I think it’s because I pick the obvious choice, like the bad boys and the misunderstood villain (I’m looking at you Warner). But once in awhile I do end up loving the underdog more and it pains my heart when they don’t get picked but I try and stay positive and think, he/she will get the perfect person for them in the future. It does piss me off at times when my ships doesn’t work out, but I just accept it and move on…sometimes.

    Like

  32. Like Faye, I like it when the two are complete opposites yet find common ground. Those are my favorite types of relationships, so I almost always root for the guy who has less in common with the heroine. I also tend to root for the first guy that is introduced, so I guess I’m weird too. :D I form a better connection with the one I’m introduced to first, I think. I already start rooting for him and the heroine before I’m even aware of a love triangle. Great post! I agree that it can be pretty painful when the couple you’re wanting to get together don’t actually end up together. :(

    Like

  33. I get very upset when my ships sink, and it happens A LOT because for some reason the authors seem to hate me/my favourite characters. Like Zutara in Avatar. EVERYTHING ABOUT THEM WAS SET UP TO BE ENDGAME. The parallels, the earlier storylines, even their scenes in the bloody finale, but NOOOOO, because Amber ships it they cannot end up together!

    ……

    I take things a bit personally, I admit.

    Like

  34. Ugh I could go on and on about the ships that I love and didn’t love and the ones that never set sail but I agree with most of the girls here and your posting. I do hope that one day the best friend does win out cause poor guys are left out in the cold somewhere. Even though I hate deaths, I still think it’s romantic and the ship is still there, they’re just sailing in another world.

    Like

  35. Imagine entering a fandom just for the ship you liked and even claiming it as my top fandom and at the end… Johndave got sunk…… I’m sad and disappointed…. 3 years if my life thrown to the fucking trash…. It’s horrible……

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

