To find out more about the tour and other stops, go here!

Threats of Sky and Sea (Threats of Sky and Sea #1)

Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision

Threats of Sky and Sea, #1
published on May 20th 2014 by Createspace
fantasy | romance

find the book on
Goodreads | Kindle | Paperback | Nook | iBooks | Smashwords

Sixteen year-old Breena Perdit has spent her life as a barmaid, innocent to her father’s past and happily free from the Elemental gifts that would condemn her to a life in the Egrian King’s army. Until the day that three Elemental soldiers recognize her father as a traitor to the throne and Bree’s father is thrown in jail—along with the secrets from his last mission as the King’s assassin. Secrets that could help the King win a war. Secrets he refuses to share.

Desperate to escape before the King’s capricious whims prove her and her father’s downfall, Bree bargains with him: information for their lives. It’s a good trade. And she has faith she’ll get them both out of the King’s grasp with time.

But that was before the discovery that she’s the weapon the King’s been waiting for in his war.

Now, time is running out. To save her father’s life and understand her own, Bree must unravel the knot of her father’s past before the King takes his life– and uses her to bring a nation to its knees.

 

Tour - Review

This one caught my eye when I saw it being featured in one of my favorite blogs, so when the blog tour sign-ups were announced, I had to give it a shot. Thank you to Giselle at Xpresso Book Tours and Jennifer Ellision for the opportunity to read this book!

Do you guys remember me ranting about how Throne of Glass didn’t live up to my very high expectations? Well, Threats of Sky and Sea was everything Throne of Glass was supposed to be (for me, at least). We have a heroine who I highly respect (I’ll even innumerate all the reasons why), lovely relationships between characters, an interesting cast of secondary characters and an intriguing new world.

Let’s start with our heroine, Breena. I think she’s a character we can all respect and admire, for these reasons and others:

  • She’s resourceful. Don’t have a sword or dagger to protect you? You can use anything else! Breena can use a even branches for self defense if she needs to.
  • She has a conscience. There’s a boy being beaten up, and even if Breena knows it’d be better to run, she can’t just leave him there to possibly die!
  • She’s snarky and sassy. Yup. Even when the air in her lungs are being beaten out of her.
  • She’s responsible. She started work when she was only twelve!
  • She knows when it’s her fault and when it isn’t. You guys know those stupid heroines who think everything’s their fault? Breena isn’t one of them. She knows when it is and she tries to fix her mistakes, but when things aren’t her fault there’s no way she’s taking the blame.
  • She said this: “There are times for defiance, but now is not one of them.” See, she has brains, too!

I should stop. I guess you guys get the picture, anyway.

“Da and I are business partners.”

Another thing I loved was the non-romantic relationships in the story. First off, Breena and her dad just work so well together and I love their father/daughter dynamics. They were equals and treated each other as such (mostly–but I won’t spoil anything). Breena also had a wonderful set of friends: Tregle (my favorite character), the sweet one, and Princess Aleta, the one with the half-bitchy-but-actually-friendly attitude.

Non-romantic relationships aside, the romance was actually the part of the story I wasn’t able to love. Caden’s a wonderful (sweet and caring) character on his own, but I just didn’t love the idea of him and Breena as a couple. I might warm up to them in the future installments.

As for the story and world-building, I would like to commend Jennifer Ellison for getting me immersed in her writing and in the world she created. I loved being in the world of elementals and I would love to know more. There were a few parts in the story I wasn’t fully sold on, but for the most part, I enjoyed the twists and turns the novel had to bring.

Threats of Sky and Sea was a well-balanced novel with just the right amounts of action, politics and developing relationships. I highly recommend high fantasy fans to pick this one up!

Skulls 4

 

Tour - Abt the author

Jennifer Ellision

Jennifer Ellision

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Jennifer Ellision spent a great deal of her childhood staying up past her bedtime with a book and a flashlight. When she couldn’t find the stories she wanted to read, she started writing them. She loves words, has a soft spot for fanfiction, and is a master of the fangirl flail. She lives in South Florida with her family, where she lives in fear of temperatures below 60 Fahrenheit.

 

Tour - Giveaway

Win a whole lot of prize packs, copies of the book and swag! (US/Can only)

GiveawayButton

Have a high fantasy book (YA with a touch of romance would be awesome) you need other to talk about? Recommend it to Aimee! High fantasy is her heaven.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | all of Aimee’s posts →

16 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision

  1. Wow this sounds like a wonderful fantasy novel and Breena is def someone I would like and root for! So happy you enjoyed it, Aimee! I also need to read Throne of Glass still – mostly bc I’m so curious of all the fuss about it >.<

    Like

  2. Yay! I wasn’t really interested in it, but I really want to give it a go now, because I think I’ll love Breena, sounds like the type of character I love, and you can definitely admire her for that. A GIRL WITH BRAINS. And a good family relationship! We know how they usually are…Shame about the romance though, probably would’ve been the perfect book if it was one you could get into, too. Sounds pretty amazing as it is though! :)

    Like

  3. Wow, I never heard of this one before today but it’s been definitely been added into my TBR now c: I did enjoy Throne of Glass, but ended up giving it 3.5 stars. Crown of Midnight on the other hand was beyond amazing and got a full five. So, the fact that you say this one is what you wanted from Throne of Glass?? Excites me to no end.

    Breena sounds like a great main character! I’m sure I’d love her narration, not only does she sounds kick ass but she also sounds intelligent. Lol she understands there’s a time and place to be reckless, as evidenced by that quote. I’m also loving the fact that this one includes platonic relationships that are displayed in a positive light c: It appears that’s becoming more common in YA and that makes me so happy omfg. The fact you don’t like the romance so far but like the love interest is interesting. Hopefully Caden’s and Brenna’s relationship will continue to grow and develop in order to make you a fan.

    Awesome world building too?? This book seems to have it all. I’m so entering this giveaway (yay it’s open for Canadians!!) and hopefully luck is on my side so I can win.

    Great review <33

    p.s. lol just realized that luck so isn't on my side, it's friday the 13th :o

    Like

  4. Woah, I cannot believe you compared it to Throne of Glass and said it was even more awesome! That’s an insta-sell right there. I love the sound of the heroine and her snarkiness and resourcefulness, I’ll be adding this to the TBR. Elementals sounds really interesting too! Great review Aimee <3

    Like

  5. I agree with Jeann — this book is better than Throne of Glass? WANT. Personally, I enjoyed ToG quite a bit, so to hear any book that’s even better than it is like… wow. Anyway, Breena totally sounds like a heroine I can cheer on and not feel like slapping every once in a while. “You guys know those stupid heroines who think everything’s their fault? Breena isn’t one of them.” — I see these heroines SO often these days. Then they start to get broody and basically ask for self-pity because they’re trying to save the world by themselves or some shit like that. It’s annoying, and it’s such a relief that Breena isn’t like that.

    Honestly, this book is sounding better and better — I like how developed the secondary characters are. I rant about this quite a bit, but I hate it when authors introduce secondary characters only to completely forget about them as the story progresses, focusing instead ALL on the protag and her love life or stuff like that. Thank goodness this wasn’t the case here. And lol, at least there wasn’t instalove or any of that dramatic “romantic” stuff, I hope? Otherwise, the romance should be good for me.

    Overall, glad that you enjoyed this, Aimee! I hadn’t heard of it before now, so thanks for putting it on my radar. Loving the title as well. <3 Great review!

    P.S. Totally diggin' the name and look of your blog! :D

    Like

  6. I haven’t read Throne of Glass yet so I wouldn’t know the comparison. haha, it looks like this one was good. I cannot wait to read it. It looks like I’ll like the heroine as well :)

    Like

  7. YES!! Wasn’t it fantastic!? I had no expectations when I started reading it but I fell in love with Bree and the world super fast and loved the book!! Cannot wait to see where the second book will take us!
    Great review, Aimee!

    Like

  8. I hadn’t heard of this before, but it sounds great! I’m loving the sound of Breena as a heroine – she definitely sounds like a likeable, relatable protagonist. It’s always great to hear a book has great relationships between the characters, but it’s a shame the romance fell a bit flat for you. Nonetheless, definitely going to consider giving this a try! Thanks for sharing Aimee, and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3

    Like

  9. I did not know about this book. I failed in life. BUT YOU DIDN’T! Even though that cover makes me want to kill someone, and I’m not talking about you or I. But it’s not a good idea, maybe, probably, since she’ll be the MC I’ll fall for while in this book, or so you say. LIFE IS UNFAIR. XD

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

