To find out more about the tour and other stops, go here!

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)

Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Dark Metropolis, #1
published on June 17th 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
paranormal | romance | LGBT

find the book on
Goodreads | Amazon

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder’s mother is cursed with a spell that’s driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.

Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city’s secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they’re not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don’t always seem to stay that way.

 

Tour - Review

If we’re being honest, I actually wanted to read this based on pure intrigue. I never actually expected to like this one, but I did. I’ll warn you potential readers, though: The synopsis could be very misleading. It gives us the impression that the book is solely Thea’s story, when it’s actually more of her friend, Nan’s. It wsan’t a very bad thing, but I would’ve liked to expect the multiple POVs when going into the book.

“I’ve always felt fairy tales are as true as anything that really happened.”

If you want to read about a fresh new take on zombies–Dark Metropolis is your book. The zombies were creepy–I swear I could feel my skin crawl when I read about their lust for blood. It wasn’t your typical I-rose-from-the-dead-give-me-your-blood type of zombie. Well, it was, but there was so much more to how the zombies came to be, and it was a fascinating (and highly disturbing) process.

Dark Metropolis had a cast of interesting characters with different backgrounds. We have Thea, whose mother’s going insane from the death of her father, Nan, who was color-blind and couldn’t hear music properly, Freddy, who has been living a lie, and Sigi, who is not in the synopsis but plays an important role in the story.

While the individual characters had interesting backgrounds, I felt like their personalities were kind of flat. The characters felt a bit like cardboard cutouts. The constant change in POV also made it a bit hard for me to connect to the characters, since I felt like their stories were always cut short.

I couldn’t care less for the romance. We had two major romances: one between a boy and a girl, and another one between two girls. Neither made me root for them–I didn’t really care whether or not either couple would end up together. The romance was just kind of there. I didn’t get any feels from it. Okay, well, I support them, but it didn’t matter if they got together or not. Am I making any sense?

What did give me feels was the awesome mother/father/daughter relationship between Thea and her parents. She cared for them both and she did everything she could to show that. Her parents loved each other so much and scenes between them made me shed a tear or two.

Dark Metropolis was a dark and gritty book with a diverse set of characters and a snooze-worthy romance for anyone looking for a decent, new zombie book.

Skulls 3

 

Tour - Abt the author

Jaclyn Dolamore

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.

 

Tour - Giveaway

Win a harcover copy of the book! (U.S. only)

GiveawayButton

Aimee enjoys dark, creepy and graphic books. She may not be able to sleep properly at night, but for some reason she can’t stay away from all the gore-y, nightmare-inducing books.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | all of Aimee’s posts →

Advertisements

20 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

  1. I kind of want to try this because of the super creepy zombie aspect. :) I love zombies done with unique spins! The paper-cut-out characters? Eh…not so much. I also prefer books with fewer POVs, but hey! It’s on my wish list. x)

    Like

  2. I’m actually kind of interested in this one, and I HATE zombies. But the 1930’s feel, and excellent family dynamic . . . yep, probably gonna get this one. Great review, Aimee!

    Like

  3. This one is about ZOMBIES?! I couldn’t tell by that cover o_O That’s probably the most beautiful cover for a zombie series that I’ve ever seen, and I’m noooot sure what to feel about it because I’m a major zombie fan :P But in any case, if you say the’yre creepy, then they must be! And I’m interested in reading about them. I may be stricter though because I looove zombies a lot, so I’d probably be less forgiving. Flat characters incoming >_<

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Like

  4. I really like historical paranormal books, and I just started this one even though I’m not a big fan of zombies. Not sure what I think about it so far. I agree that I’m not feeling incredibly connected to any of the characters yet. We’ll see how it goes….
    Thanks so much for stopping by! Jen @ YA Romantics

    Like

  5. Aw, I absolutely hate it when the romance isn’t great and the characters are flat. This trend has been going on so long and its getting annoying. Nevertheless, I’m glad this was an OK read, though I probably wont be picking it up.

    Like

  6. I have to admit i’ve interested in this one just because of the zombies lol! I don’t usually like anything zombie related but i’m interested in this one! It kind of sucks that the romance wasn’t all the great and that the chaarcters were pretty much flat :( I feel like i read so many books myself that lately all of them seem that way :(

    Like

  7. This sounds really creepy! I don’t usually read many zombie books, but I might give this a try! It’s a shame about the snooze-worthy romance and the underdeveloped characters, but everything else sounds excellent! Thanks for sharing Aimee, and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3

    Like

  8. Thanks for sharing what you liked and disliked about the book – Thea’s parents were so in love with one another – I felt so sad in the end when they had their good-byes. And Nan… I wonder what might happen to her in the sequel – she was just so special. :)

    Like

  9. OMG, the zombies are giving me the creeps and I haven’t even read this book yet! I like the sound of the premise, and while its really too bad about the two-dimensional characters and romance, I am curious to see how this story ends. I have to pick up a zombie book, so maybe this one will do. I’m glad you enjoyed some aspects of this, Aimee! Great review! :D

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair 

    Like

  10. I’m really curious about the author’s different take on zombies! The characters sounds a bit disappointing since they seemed flat to you. I wish the romance could’ve been better as well. I’m glad you liked the family relationship though. It’s great to hear that the parents actually has a role in the story and they’re not simply taking a ‘vacation’.

    Like

  11. I don’t wanna sound mean or uninterested but Zombie novels never appealed to me. I read one zombie novel once, but after that I just didn’t venture about it anymore. To me, zombies are much more entertaining when they’re in a game. But nonetheless, awesome review Aimee! :D

    Like

  12. Ooooo, I’m intrigued c: I’ve always been obsessed with the culture of the roaring twenties: flappers, jazz, the economic boom, prohibition, bootlegging…it all just intrigues me. However this one takes place in the aftermath of the twenties which makes me quite curious as I don’t believe I’ve read a story that took place in the 1930’s.

    And it also has zombies!??! Well I certainly wasn’t excepting that one. I’m certainly interested in zombie books. They tend to really showcase the inner workings of human nature and how far some will go to survive, which is something we definitely don’t get to see ordinarily. However what doesn’t sound appealing is flat characters and the fact that this is partially due to multiple POVs >.< Sigh, multiple POVs really do tend not to work out well. The romance also sounds mediocre in this one.

    I think I'll still check this one out because I'm intrigued by the zombies and the time period c: Great review Aimee! Lol wish I lived in the US so I could enter the giveaway :p

    Like

  13. Aww sad to hear that the characters fell flat and the romance just exist there for the sake of nothing. that’s like the most awful combination for me :( Though I’m really looking forward to read this one. But yay to the realistic zombie and awesome familial relationship! Maybe I’ll still try this one :D

    Thank you for sharing!

    Neysa @ Papier Revue

    Like

  14. I liked the variety of personalities in the characters, too! I was sad they some of the characters were a bit flat though and romance wasn’t nearly as interested as I hoped though. I think I’m in the same point as you with it being middle ground. I did like the zombie/necromancer aspect! Great review!

    PS. Here’s my review of it if you’re interested (:

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s