City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6)

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments, book #6
published on May 27th 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry
fantasy | paranormal | romance

find the author on
Kami’s Goodreads |Margaret’s Goodreads

find the book on
Goodreads | The Book Depository

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

REVIEW

*This review might contain spoilers.

I think that Clare has finally run out of the good stuff. I’m a fan of the series–bordering on obsessive, actually! So it isn’t a surprise that I’ve been so excitedfor this! I’ve waited for this for 2 years! Which is a total bust, ‘cause it turned out to be the greatest disappointment of 2014 so far. For me, at least.

Plot-wise, everything was creative–although I personally think that it was a bit dragging. It has been ever since City of Fallen Angels. (This is where Aimee inserts herself to say, “YES! It should have ended with book 3.)

Character-wise, City of Heavenly Fire was pretty much shit. Jace was all wrong. Clary was very underdeveloped. Then lovely Emma Carstairs can’t be troubled to stay in her own series! I mean, she a great kid, tough and loyal, but she was taking up so many chapters–I was so looking forward to Clace feels, but hooray! There weren’t any!

Another thing that was shit about it was the writing. I have no idea if this was a recent development or if it was always there throughout all the books, but the writing style was so boring. Then again, it could be the fact that I have been in a reading slump recently.

“I love you, and I’ll love you until I die, and if there’s a life after that, I’ll love you then.”

So the writing style led to another problem, which made me seriously rage: the romance didn’t give me any of the feels I wanted/was expecting. I didn’t swoon. I’m suffering from withdrawals.

All I really felt was the need for the book to just end!


 A quickie overview:

Read this if: You’re a serious fan of the series. And you’re not in any sort of reading slump.

Don’t read this if: You felt like the books after book 3 were dragging and unnecessary.

pagebreak

Skulls 2.5

2.5 skulls

pagebreak

Have you read the Mortal Instruments books? Did you like them? Are you going to read this one?

There are those moments when Dyan loves all the books she reads. Then there are days when she dislikes them with a burning passion. It depends, really.

Goodreads | all of Dyan’s posts →

39 thoughts on “Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

  1. It’s so nice to see a review that isn’t from the perspective of a major fan. I’ve actually been putting this off because it’s so long and I don’t really want the series to end. I think I’ll put it off until I really really feel like reading it. Thank you for this! ;)

    Like

    1. Due to the reviews of other people, I seriously thought that I would enjoy this! So, imagine my surprise when I didn’t. :/

      Anyway, I hope that you will end up liking it, though!

      Like

  2. I absolutely agree with your review!! I was thinking maybe I had just started disliking it because it took so long to hurry up and be published! but alas it was not her best. I agree no feels, I think it was because of all the point of view changes throughout and not getting to know anyone, just a thought, I haven’t posted my review just yet, I thought it was more of a rant but hey.. got to let it out somewhere. Good to know I’m not the only one! (your slump is not to blame)

    Like

    1. Yay! I’m not alone anymore!

      I think that because it took so long, our expectations of the book rocketed. So, when it turned out to be horrible….yeah. And I totally agree with you about the POV changes!

      Anyway, hope to see your ‘rant’ soon!

      Like

  3. Oh my gosh, I’m so relieved to know I wasn’t the only one feeling that disappointment! I really wanted to like the book but I just couldn’t! I think the story was pretty much protracted and..naah.

    Like

  4. I’m only going to read this for Simon/Isabelle and the hopes that Alec suffers greatly and does not get a happy ending. ;) I just bought this one but now I’m not in the mood to read it. -_-

    Like

  5. Honestly, I skipped your review, but I can’t resist commenting! :)
    I saw this book earlier at the bookstore and I almost bought a copy. I decided to buy this next time I visit the bookstore since I haven’t read the rest of the series yet, but I am so excited for these one. Hopefully, it won’t disappoint. :)

    Like

  6. So I’ve only read the first book in this series, and I’m not really sure whether I’ll ever decide to continue with it again… but I still only skimmed your review just in case. :) I’m sorry to see you weren’t a fan though. :(

    Like

  7. I’m sorry it was a dud for you, Dyan! It sounds weird that the characters would suddenly turn underdeveloped… maybe because Clare has lost her charm? Some writera DO devolve in their writing. Harsh, but it happens! Then again, what do I know, right? In any case, it sucks when anticipated book turns out to be a mediocre one, because you’d feel cheated somehow. There, there. Hope your next read is better!

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Like

    1. Yeah, I felt that there wasn’t really ‘enough’ of the characters that you could connect with them. And, that is so true! I honestly wanted to cry when I finished the book, because it did not, at all, meet my expectations. So,, basically, this read was a bust. :/

      Like

  8. I’ve read the whole series and I’ve been addicted with the whole happenings in it, but it looks like the last one isn’t as great as the first books. Even when the book came out, I didn’t feel the need to read it immediately, but now, at least I could lower my expectations.

    Like

    1. At first, I was obsessed with this series! In between releases, I would curb my cravings with fanfics! But after the first three books were released, it seemed that Clare ran out of the good stuff. I felt less satisfied with every book after COG…

      It’s a good idea to lower expectations, I hope that you’ll end up liking it though! :)

      Like

  9. So, how terrible is it that I have the first five books to this series on my shelf … and have read exactly none. I haven’t even watched the movie with Lilly Collins, because I hate watching the movie before I read the book. I deserve to be judged.

    Matilda @ Oxford Reviews

    Like

    1. lol! You’re just like Aimee! I think a quarter of her books are new!

      Anyway, I hope that you’ll get around to reading them at some point!

      Like

    1. Me too! Ever since the book signing, I’ve only been able to read like 4 books a month, max!

      And yeah, I would have been a lot happier if Clare ended this series in COG, instead of butchering it with the following books!

      Like

      1. I loved Will! I loved the first two books, but because of who she ended up with in the third, I only skimmed the last one! :)

        Like

  10. I’m actually glad to see a review that isn’t raving about geniusness on Clare’s part! I mean, I enjoy the series, and it’s a great way for me to lose myself for a few hours, but it’s not my favorite by any means. I haven’t read anything past the third book, and that one was my favorite. I’ll make sure I keep an open mind when I read past book 4 :D

    Like

    1. I was an obsessed fanatic before, but after I read the fourth book, I started hating this series!

      I hope that like others, you’ll end up liking the rest, and not feel like you’ve wasted your time!

      Like

  11. I’m sorry you didn’t like the last book. I have yet to continue the series with City of Fallen Angels so I’m not sure how it would end up for me. I’m actually a fan of the books and was glad and thankful when Clare decided to continue the series until the sixth. BTW, I would really want your opinion about Clare’s decision of expanding the series. For me, I think it’s both a good and a bad move. So what do you think?

    Like

  12. I was ecstatic upon hearing of the sequels, because let’s face it, Jace and Clary are awesome. However, when I read City of Fallen Angels, I felt as though Clare isn’t really giving it her all anymore…….

    I hope that you’ll end up liking the rest of the series, though!

    Like

  13. Just finished reading COHF last night and i have to agree im disappointed. i wouldn’t say it was horrible and im glad it ended how i wanted it to, but there was only like one climax (Simon) and she spent way too much time preparing the reader for her next series and i dont think that was fair to Clary or Jaces’s characters. she pretty much used the last 5 chapters as marketing for TDA and it kinda ruined the feel of the book. i didnt swoon or feel invested in clary and jaces relationship like i did in the first 3 books and that was the biggest let down. and i was pretty sure she said there would be 2 weddings but why can i only think of one? well i def could have been worse but i feel more sad that it ended boringly then that fact that it ended. i was over half way through the book and i felt as though it didnt really start yet (aside from the first good character dying). not enough excitement for such a long and awaited book :(

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

