Dangerous Creatures

Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Dangerous Creatures book #1
published on May 20th 2014 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
fantasy | paranormal | romance

find the author on
Kami’s Goodreads |Margaret’s Goodreads

find the book on
Goodreads | The Book Depository

A new series returns to the world of Beautiful Creatures. Some loves are cursed…others are dangerous.

Ridley Duchannes will be the first to tell you that she’s a bad girl. She’s Dark. She’s a Siren. You can never trust her, or even yourself when she’s around. Lucky for her, Wesley “Link” Lincoln can never seem to remember that; quarter Incubus or not, his heart is Mortal when it comes to Ridley. When Link heads to New York City to start a music career, Ridley goes along for the ride-and she has her own reasons. As if leaving small-town Gatlin for the big city, trying to form a band, and surviving life with a partially reformed Siren isn’t hard enough already, Link soon learns he has a price on his head that no Caster or Mortal can ever pay.

Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, the #1 New York Times bestselling coauthors of Beautiful Creatures, are back and casting another magical spell. Their signature mixture of mystery, suspense, and romance, along with a dash of fun and danger, will pull fans in and leave them begging for more.

REVIEW

Having read all the books in the authors’ Caster Chronicles series, I knew that I needed to pick this up to get more from the world that I loved. That being said, it’s been three years since I read those books, and I only remember the story in chunks and not as a whole. But even if I didn’t remember the details, I did understand all the references in Dangerous Creatures. I recommend reading the Caster Chronicles series before starting this one.

“When it came right down to it, that was what Sirens were–pretty songbirds with nightmares for nests.”

Ridley, a Siren, was one of my favorite characters before, so it wasn’t a surprise that I enjoyed reading from her perspective. I’ll admit though, I was a little bit disappointed that she wasn’t as badass as she was before. We were introduced to her softer side, but there were plenty of times in Dangerous Creatures where Ridley was vulnerable. I’m not sure if it’s a good thing (since it’s realistic) or a bad thing (because it was kind of wimpy).

Link was, and probably always be, a self-centered, laid-back idiot. We all love how Link’s down-to-earth and can make us laugh with the stupid songs he writes, but once he gets caught up in his own world, he doesn’t really think of anything else but getting to the top, being the “cool guy,” and that sort of thing.

“When it came to relationships, the truth never set anyone free. The truth only set things on fire.”

Clearly. The romance in this one was… confusing as hell, to put it simply. I used to ship Ridley and link so hard, but in this one, they were constantly on-and-off and horrible dynamics. Add in a new possible love interest to turn this in to the most shitty romance (a love triangle, no less) in the Caster World. This new love interest is Lennox Gates, who was petty and bipolar. I didn’t like his character one bit, even when he was one of those “tortured” characters who are “changing” (which I generally don’t care for).

Majority of the plot seemed kind of pointless. There was this bigger picture that was relevant (the part with the actual villain), but little pieces that built up the story that were just dragging (Ridley’s favor–you’ll understand when you read it, and other things).

The only thing that made the book an easy read for me was the writing style. I flew through the book, the authors’ words making it an addicting read that kept me turning pages, sucking everything in.


 A quickie overview:

Read this if: You were a fan of the Caster Chronicles series. You need a sexy, doesn’t-take-shit heroine. Drama is good for you.

Don’t read this if: Love triangles make you squirm. Trust me, this is one of the worst, most unnecessary kind-of-love-triangles I’ve ever read.

pagebreak

Skulls 2

2 skulls

pagebreak

Have you read the Caster Chronicles books? Did you like them? Are you going to read this one?
SIG - Aimee
36 thoughts on “Review: Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

  1. tortured souuuuuullllllllssssss

    the last tortured soul i liked was that one guy’s who tried to tell me my advice was worth crap. i sure taught him bwhahahahah!!! but seriously, that phrase has become a trigger for me- instant eye-rolling and deduction of one star if it enters the picture. (there are exceptions, of course, for creatures like AKIVA!!! though he made me roll my eyes too. in dreams of gods and monsters. have you read laini taylor?)

    Like

  2. I read Beautiful Creatures and didn’t care for it, but I did really like Ridley so I was interested in trying this out. But now… nah, it sounds like I would have the same issues with this book that I had with Beautiful Creatures. Oh well, I have many other books to read! :)

    Like

  3. I wanted to read Beautiful Creatures before the movie came out, but I didn’t. And then the movie was pretty lame. Now I don’t really have any interest in that series or this. Looks like I’m not missing much though. ;)

    Like

  4. Oh no, not the dreaded love triangle! And this one sounds especially cringeworthy :( Quite a while ago I read some of the Caster Cronichles books, though not all of them. The only thing I remember is that I thought they were a bit… boring. And I basically cannot remember anything about the story itself. So yeah, I think I’m going to skip this one. (Not that I was REALLY planning to read this, anyway.)

    Lovely review, Aimee! <33

    Like

    1. Yes! I didn’t understand the need for it at all. -_- Caster Chronicles was one of my first completed series I think! :P This one was just really sad.

      Like

  5. I’ve only read Beautiful Creatures, I was planning to read the rest of series but I guess other books got on the way. Ridley’s character did interest me though, much more than Lena. I’m trying to remember who Link is…lol, it has been so long. Anyway. I don’t think I’ll read this although the cove is gorgeous! But clearly I’m not as interested with the series as I was to be, I did enjoy the first book but it’s not enough for me to continue on. And I don’t mind love triangles if they are done well but it looks like this wasn’t. Awesome review Aimee!

    Like

    1. Lena was okay, but if badass characters are your thing, Rid’s a much better candidate. :) Link is Ethan’s best friend, haha! xD This is my least favorite cover of the series, actually. ._. :P

      Like

  6. Oh my, I’ve not read the Beautiful Creatures books (yet?) but I’ve seen the movie, and i was intrigued by the idea of this book. Obviously, though, it’s not worth much of anyone’s time–especially if the characters (the whole reason, I’d imagine, you’d want to read this) aren’t what they were before. Boo. Great review Aimee!

    Like

  7. Hmmm would you recommend it to me if I didn’t enjoy the Caster Chronicles? I had to stop at the first book because I didn’t like Evan and Ridley’s romance. It was written pretty boring too. But I think I might like this one from the way you’ve described it.

    Like

    1. I’m not sure… maybe not. It depends. I loved Ridley and Link from the Caster Chronicles books, but I didn’t love them in this one. D: I think you mean Ethan and Lena’s romance. :P

      Like

  8. I grabbed a copy of this off Netgalley, but I haven’t read the Caster Chronicles yet. I had to skim your review for fear of spoilers haha but I don’t think there were much phew! :D It sucks that you didn’t enjoy this more, and the fact that the Ridley changed so much..I’m not a fan of that inconsistency. Wonderful review Aimee, I hope your next read is much, much better xx

    Like

  9. Ah damn, shitty love triangle? I’m crying. I’ll try my best to finish of the Caster Chronicles before I read this one! I’m hoping I’ll still like it since drama is right up my ally and at least I know about the love triangle before going into right? :D Loved your review, even though you didn’t like this one too much. Hope you have a lovely reading month in June though!

    Like

  10. I’ve listened to the first two books of Caster Chronicles and the narration was boring. Ridley’s kind of my favorite. I’ll have to reread the series before thinking about adding this one to the list. Oh btw, what did you think about the movie?

    Like

    1. Ridley was my favorite as well! See, that’s why I don’t listen to audiobooks. :) The movie was actually not horrible. My dad said people who didn’t read the book would enjoy it more. :)

      Like

      1. Not sure. Maybe. They should! I think they should. But maybe it depends if there’s market for it. If people who watched the first one liked it so much to want another. Maybe.

        Like

  11. Great review, i’ve been a fan of The Caster Chronicles saga since it came to my hands back on 2011 so i read all the books. I think that this is one of the decent few Book Series that came out right after Twilight’s succses. I enjoy this book, but i think it was because of the hype about a new book for this series. Off course i’m looking after the new one but there was a couple of things that made me really upset with “Dangerous creatures”. Specially all about Link being so dumb about Ridley, i mean, the girl wanted to kiss Lennox (more than once) she even confess it to Link, but he was so blind that… i dont know, where is the self respect? …. I really think that if they had wanted to make a real “Love triangle” they would have had to be more “serious” about this, at the end i thought there wasn’t a real main plot because off the many subplots which were totally useless .

    Sorry for my bad English i’m from Peru… but i think that i wrote this in a very “understandable” way :3

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

