Book Tag

So today I’ll be answering somequestions for TWO wonderful book tags. The first will be The Book Blogger Test and then The Chocolate Book Tag. I’m sorry, but I’m unaware of who started the tags. If you do, please let me know!

The Book Blogger Test

For this one, I’ll just be answering some bookish questions. I was tagged by [links will lead to their book tag posts!] Joy @ thoughtsbyj, Dre @ Sporadic Reads, Jules @ Jules Bookshelf and Ella @ The Filipina Booknote! Thanks girls!

1. What are your top three book pet peeves?

Just three? Well then. *huffs*

  1. Heroines who authors describe as beautiful but always claim they’re “ugly”–nope. Or, you know, stupid heroines in general.
  2. Manipulative love interests. (I’m looking at YOU, Jules! Haha!) So Morpheus and Warner… Go die. And “bad” boys… Lol, no thanks. I’d take the best friend any day.
  3. Artsy writing. I know a lot of people like those descriptive, poetic, “beautiful” writing, but most of the time they are not for me. I easily get bored with them.

2. Describe your perfect reading spot.

The freezer. I kid, I kid. The couch, basically.

3. Tell us 3 book confessions.

  1. I am easily swayed by the hype & pretty covers to purchase/read a book. And I am not ashamed.
  2. My mom thinks it’s weird that I read romance novels. No idea why. Maybe it’s because I hate romantic movies…
  3. I don’t like to read contemporary/realistic fiction novels without romance. I find them kind of boring, if we’re being honest here.

4. How many books are on your bedside table?

If the space beside our television counts as a beside table, then five.

5. What is your favorite snack whilst you are reading?

Mostly marshmallows, or anything tiny and chewy. I don’t like getting grease on a book’s pages so I avoid eating chips while reading.

6. Name 3 books you would recommend to everyone.

HOW COULD I POSSIBLY JUST CHOOSE THREE BOOKS? Fine, I’ll cheat and name three series.

  1. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
  2. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan (Currently trying to get my brother to read these)
  3. The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu (I’ve already pushed this onto 3 people! Horray!)

7. Show your favorite bookshelf on your bookcase

Embedded image permalink

Look at my pretty hardcovers! (Most of my other shelves are paperbacks, so this is my favorite. And it’s the most organized.)

8. Write how much books mean to you in just three words.

I love them.

9. What is your biggest reading secret?

I read half of Fifty Shades of Gray. But my Filipino bloggy friends already know this. Mwahaha!

pagebreak

The Chocolate Book Tag

Comparing books to different types of chocolate. Yum. I was tagged by Miguel @ The Quirky Reader. Thanks Miguel! Book-choosing tags are difficult, so I usually just pick something from my recent reads!

1. Dark Chocolate – A book that covers a dark topic. (abuse, domestic violence, rape, loneliness, bullying, death etc)

I pick Addicted to You by Krista Ritchie and Becca Ritchie. This one covers two very dark topics: sex addiction and alcohol addiction. Although the first one doesn’t seem very realistic, I still think that these are both problems at have to be dealt with properly.

Ask Again Later2. White Chocolate – Your favourite light hearted/humorous read.

I don’t have a favorite, really, but for now I’ll go with Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas. The heroine is cute. The hero is cute. All their friends are cute! The cover alone already screams light hearted and humorous, right?

3. Milk Chocolate – A book that has a lot of hype that you’re dying to read.

I’ll have to say Talon by Julie Kagawa. Technically there aren’t any raving reviews yet (I think ARCs aren’t being mailed around yet), but the blogosphere is buzzing with excitement for this one!

4. Chocolate with a Caramel Centre – Name a book that made you feel all gooey in the middle while you were reading it.

Pivot Point/Split Second by Kasie West definitely made me very gooey on the inside. Because, uh, Trevor. Duh.

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin, #1)5.Wafer Free Kit Kat – Name a book that surprised you lately.

I just finished Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers and I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. I tried reading it a few years back and DNFed it after a few chapters, so I was definitely surprised when I ended up loving it the second time around!

6. Snickers – A book that you are going nuts about.

STOLEN SONGBIRD BY DANIELLE L. JENSEN! If you follow the blog regularly, you’ll know that this book is on all (I think) of my Top Ten Tuesdays posts recently, because I love it that much. No really, read it.

7. Hot Chocolate with Cream and Marshmallows – What book would you turn to for a comfort read?

I guess Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally would be my comfort read. I reread it all the time when I’m in need of some feels.

8. Box of Chocolates – What series have you read that you feel has a wide variety and a little something for everyone?

The Archived by Victoria Schwab has a good variety of things to enjoy: a beautiful world of fantasy, humorous everyday scenes, an adorable romance (kind of) and the perfect amount of mystery and suspense.

pagebreak

And I Tag….

Everyone! I think a lot of people have already done these tags, especially the first one, so I don’t really have the energy to check who has and hasn’t done the tags. So if you want to do either tag, go ahead. You can say I tagged you! (Seriously, I’m tagging you.)

SIG - Aimee

44 thoughts on “The Book Blogger Test + The Chocolate Book Tag

  1. I love your shelf! I don’t know if it’s intentionally rainbow but it looks so cool! And I’ve been looking for a comfort read in honour of summertime so I’m definitely going to check out Catching Jordan!

    Like

  2. I don’t think I’ve done these tags, so I might go ahead and do it :D Manipulative love-interests, NO! Hate those. I love Grave Mercy <3 (and Stolen Songbird of course, we already know we both love it!)

    Like

  3. Lol to Jules, special mention!

    I also hate heroines that thinks they’re ugly but not (currently thinking of America!). I will accept if she’s just being humble but really, they’re not. They’re just fishing for compliments.

    I can like bad boys as long as they’re interesting. I like The Darkling (Grisha Trilogy) and he’s really an evil guy, not just a bad boy image. I’m not sure why I prefer him more than the male lead.

    “I am easily swayed by the hype & pretty covers to purchase/read a book. And I am not ashamed.” – you’re not alone! I think most of the books I used to buy (before I found out that there’s goodreads) are because the cover snatched my attention. I’m not ashamed of it either but sometimes, I regret buying them.

    Eeek! I love your hardcover station. I’m planning to buy all my books starting this month with hard cover only. It is expensive but a good investment.

    Fifty shades – I’m guilty! I didn’t finish it though, can’t tolerate the story anymore. I can read sex in a book but not to that extent.

    I also want to read Talon! I noticed you have The Immortal Series too, have you read the third book yet?

    The Archived – I have ordered it four weeks ago and until now, it have not arrived yet! This makes me feel excited again.

    Like

    1. She came into mind while writing that pet peeve, haha!

      I don’t like The Darkling, either, lol! xD I’m more of a Mal girl. But that could change since I’ve only read book 1!

      YES. I easily regret buying a book if I end up disliking it, ESPECIALLY if I end up DNFing it. ;(

      Thanks! Have fun on your totally awesome hardcover spree!

      Exactly. It was just too much. And, well, just really bad.

      Yep, I’ve already read the entire trilogy, but I don’t own books 2-3 since I read them as eARCs. :)

      I hate books that take forever to arrive! D:

      Like

  4. You don’t like Warner??? Aimee I think we need to evaluate our friendship. This might be our breaking point O_O

    But I totally join in on the book pushing for Legend. And your brother really needs to read Riordan’s books! I think he’ll really enjoy them :D

    Like

    1. I love chocolates, period. ;P Thanks! I used to be banned from buying hardcovers, but my mom has seen the light, haha! xD Ask Again Later’s so FLUFFY.

      Like

  5. Haha i love this tag! I recently got tagged in it but have YET to actually set down and do it! LOVE how creative it is but HOLD UP….You aren’t sold on Warner? *angry stares* we need to talk ;)
    Lily

    Like

  6. Haha Aimee you are so naughty for reading Fifty Shades lol! Too bad that novel was just really written badly, I read half of it too before stopping cos it was terrible. I’ll be doing the Book Blogger’s Test on Friday hehe :) It’s a lot of fun!

    Like

  7. Aimeeeee!!! Hiiii! :D
    I don’t know why, but I always like the bad boys (most of the time ;D). I’d be with you with the freezer thing. I’d want to squeeze myself there, just to escape the heat. My mom is a hopeless romantic like me, but I think she’s has a different taste for boys. BTW, saw other comments. See! A lot of TeamWarner people here! YAAAAAAAY!

    #TeamWarner #TeamKenji hahaha :P Love your answers Aimee :D

    Like

    1. LOL. You were just born that way. ;) We can buy those huge freezers and stuff ourselves inside, haha! My mom LOVES romance films. x) We’re the opposite–I usually go for action and fantasy. :) HA! Yes, and it’s quite sad. ;P I prefer Kenji! <3

      Like

  8. I saw the word “chocolate” and BOOM I WAS HERE IN A FLASH. Such a fun tag!! Some people have really good tag ideas. ;) I loved your answers for the book blogger test, too. OMG look at that beautiful shelf of hardcovers. *drools* It is SO SO beautiful….LOVE.

    Like

  9. I LOVE CHOCOLATES OMG CHOCOLATES = LIFE and this post just makes me want to rush to our fridge and get a bar of—- *oops we dont have chocolate on the fridge right now* T_T Anyway, this is a really nice book tag!! And yes for your top three recommendations especially number two and three!! *winks winks* Oh a lot of people love Warner, but I understand your peeve about characters like him :D

    Like

    1. YESSSS. Feed me chocolates and I’ll be happy with life! xD Ha! We have toooons of chocolate! *dangles M&Ms in front of you* Thanks, Abby! <3 WARNER SUCKS, WOHOO! xD

      Like

    1. Haha! Mostly I’m fine with stereotypes, but sometimes they get too much. :( How can you not be a fan of hardbacks?! D: Anyway, thank you! :D

      Like

  10. Hahahah! I love the non-tag TAG. :) I feel kind of weird tagging people, too when I get tagged. I don’t want to bother them, really.

    And THIS. so fucking much.

    “Morpheus and Warner…go die.”

    Like

  11. I’m looking at YOU, Jules! Haha! <- THIS MADE ME SNICKER! Oh, Jules…that twisted head of hers!
    I love your hardbacks. LOVE them!!! My dad had installed new kitchen cabinets, so I just gained a bookshelf (my food stuff shelf), so YAY! SPACE! We both chose Talon for hyped book! (I haven't posted it though.)

    Like

  12. Uh-oh. Morpheus and Warner are at the top of my book boyfriends list. XD I love your hardcovers shelf. I already told you that, but I’m only seeing the full picture now. Haha. So pretty~ And I should definitely read Stolen Songbird soon. My coy has been sitting in my kindle for way too long. :P

    Like

  13. I love surveys. I love reading them and I love partaking in them. I really just want to do all of the surveys in the world.

    Alright, we’ve established I’m a bit obsessed with everything survey. Let’s talk about your answers (:

    Ugh, heroines that are oblivious to their beauty are the worst. Or they just think they’re ugly when they aren’t >.< Like just stop. It makes it seems like either the character is fishing for some compliments/reassurance or like as humans we're not supposed to be confident in the way we look.
    Honestly, I haven't read a book in a long time where the characters are actually confident about the way they look. Lol I could probably write a essay on that question regarding what things annoy me in YA. I get annoyed a lot, obviously.

    Your bookshelf is so neat omg. At least for your hardbacks :P My is quite frankly a mess. It's a good thing I have a kobo, I'm quite positive my bookshelves would be in a even worse state of disrepair if I didn't.

    Talon! Agljrlijtl43jtl43. My excitement for that story is off the charts. If I got an ARC for it I'm pretty sure I'd cry tears of happiness.

    Great answers Aimee <33 I thoroughly enjoyed reading them all

    Like

    1. (Did I mention I loved reading all your long comments, Larissa?)

      No worries. I love surveys and lists, too!

      Right!? But I guess it’s realistic since people do that in real life…

      Thanks! :D I get you, I get you. I would like to thank my phone for being alive. =)

      YES ME TOO! I WANTS IT! *grabby hands*

      Like

  14. Aimee! I had no idea you this was your blog but most importantly is that now I do! ;) 50 Shades of Grey…oh my Aimee! I will admit it, I read them and enjoyed them but I wasn’t IN LOVE with the trilogy. It was more of a fluff read to pass the time while in between books and it was way too long and that was completely unnecessary! Anyway, you are hilarious! Loved reading all your commentary and thoughts on everything bookish. PS: I love Warner :)

    Like

  15. Definitely boo to manipulative love interests! I just don’t get it. Also, yes! There needs to be romance in contemporary/realistic fiction or else what’s the point! I love your hardcover shelf. The Lunar Chronicles is just so pretty right! And Fangirl, such a pretty green, haha.

    I’m glad you really liked Stolen Songbird! That one was a surprise winner for me, blew me away, haha. Grave Mercy was lovely. but I loved Dark Triumph (so I hope you love it too!)!

    Like

    1. Hahaha! Someone understands me! :P <3

      YES, I've been pushing everyone to read Stolen Songbird and I'm so glad you liked it! :D I've been hearing amazing things about Dark Triumph. ^_^

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

