Ruby Red (Precious Stone Trilogy, #1)

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

the first book in the Ruby Red Trilogy
published on January 6th 2009 by Henry Holt 
fantasy | time travel | romance

find the author on
Goodreads | website

find the book on
Goodreads | The Book Depository

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

REVIEW

I’m in a state of disarray when I think about this book. A part of me loves it, but another part of me absolutely loathes it!

But anyway, let’s start with the good stuff.

I love time travel books! The growth that the characters undergo is so much more evident in them. Anyway, the plot of Ruby Red was well thought out, free of plot holes, and leaves you wanting more.

The romance was okay, I guess. Even if there was a bit of instalove on Gwyneth’s part, I love the lingering glances, and the “Oh, fuck it!” kiss they shared! Is it weird that I find it endearing?

The book, although slightly boring, was well written. With the slow pace, if the writing was boring as well, I might’ve just given up and DNFed this! Good thing the beautiful writing kept me going.

There are things about Ruby Red I would like to rant about as well. Like around the first half or so, there this something that was so annoying about this book! (I can’t pinpoint what it is, though.) And speaking of the first part… Dear God, the first half or so was so boring! Things only started picking up around three quarters into the book!

The characters, aside from Gwyneth, were underdeveloped. Although, I think it was more because of the POV choicethan the actual writing…

pagebreak

Skulls 3

3 skulls

pagebreak

Let’s discuss! Have you read this book? If you have, what did you think of it? If you haven’t, will you be picking it up anytime soon?
SIG - Dyan
23 thoughts on “Review: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

  1. Slow-paced books are always hard to get into. And it’s always so hard to stick around. But you were able to finish it and give it a 3 so maybe there is some good in it. I think I’ve seen a lot of positive reviews for this. I don’t know if I’ll try it though. :P

    Like

  2. Oh. That’s too bad. I’ve heard a lot of fantastic reviews for this book, so sad that you didn’t enjoy it quite as much. Historicals are typically not my thing, and it’s probably why I haven’t read it yet. Nothing worse than sluggish plot.

    I hope you have better luck on your next read!

    Like

    1. Yeah! I so expected to love this book, seeing as it garnered a lot of 5 stars on Goodreads! So disappointed when it turned out to be just ok…

      Like

    1. Hi Jules! :)

      I do! It made writing a review ten times harder! And yeah, the first part was soooo boring, but it got better so I guess it’s a good enough read.

      Like

  3. I enjoyed the first two books (I love time travel stories too! And haven’t gotten to the last book for some reason!) but I think the pace is off because it really feels like one big book split into three! The ending of this book was really frustrating to me because it felt like it was just chopped off in the middle of the scene! But I like the time travel aspect, so maybe that saved it a lot for me. :)

    Like

    1. Lol! I’ll probably get to reading the rest of the series at some point (probably a long time from now :P)! I agree with the pacing though, if this book was appropriately paced, I would’ve loved it!

      Like

  4. This sounds pretty good, but I’m concerned about the pacing during the beginning and the underdeveloped characterization. That’s not something I’d like either! Although everything else does sound pretty solid, so I think I’ll go for it and see what happens! Thanks so much for sharing Dyan, and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3

    Like

  5. Ah, Rashika loved this one! :) I’m not sure I wanna read it though; the points you pointed are pretty valid and are surefire ways to make me pissed at a book, too. When will you read the rest of the series?

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Like

    1. I’m part of the minority that doesn’t love the book, so there’s a pretty good chance that you might like it! I’ll probably get to reading the rest at some point, although I’m not sure when. :)

      Like

  6. Don’t you hate it when you can’t decide if you love or hate a book?! GAH. It makes writing the reviews really, really hard. :| I don’t handle slow books well, at all though. They totally make me sleepy. *yawns* I think I won’t be dashing after this one.

    Like

  7. It seems like this book didn’t really stand out! I hate it when I don’t love a book but cannot pinpoint what I didn’t like about it. It’s especially hard to write the review then.

    Lovely review! <33

    Like

  8. oh it’s too bad about the slow pace, it’s always a big problem for me I confess but at the same time I’m curious because of the time travel part, I love that in books, always intriguing. Thanks for the review!

    Like

  9. Hmmm this sounds like more of an adult novel instead of YA so maybe I’ll be able to persevere. I have wanted to read this for ages as well (you are reviewing many that I want to read!) and this one piques my interest from the time travel & fairy tale inspiration. Thanks for the review hun! <3

    Like

  10. I totally agree with you- but the romance made me pick up the next two books as well :) They were definitely less slow. I love this series, but completely understand the annoying aspect since sometimes it reads as a teenie-bopper romance adventure. But the characters are hilarious and the writing is wonderful! Great review!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

