Discussions & Confessions

Discussions & Confessions is a feature at Deadly Darlings where we share a discussion topic as well as a bookish confession.

Discuss

Okay, so, after seeing back-to-back surveys on all sorts of different blogging topics on different blogs, I’ve been wondering about some of the more “effective” blogging styles.

I want you to tell me what sort of blogs you’ll visit daily or regularly, or the things you like to see in a blog. Are they the blogs that post every day, with 80% reviews? Or the ones that post a couple of times a week, with more discussions than reviews? Here are a few things to help you, a few things I’d like to know:

Do they post daily, every other day, or less, etc?

Do they post more reviews than discussion posts, or more promotions, or memes, or more personal life posts?

Are their reviews quick and straight to the point, or detailed and very helpful?

Do the bloggers speak more professionally, or lightheartedly and funny?

The basic question: What do YOU think are the most effective blogging styles? Is there any style I missed that you’d like to add/share?

Confess

Personally, I don’t really care whether someone posts daily, every other day or whenever, as long as they have quality content. As long as the posts are honest and with personality, I’d love to visit a blog regularly, or at least whenever I can.

I also don’t mind if there are more discussions or reviews, but I don’t care for promotions and wouldn’t bother to visit your blog if it’s made out of 80% promotions, 20% reviews and other things. For memes–it depends. There are some memes that I’m interested in looking at, but some I won’t even bother with.

For reviews, I prefer them to be detailed. Some reviewers (like Faye, Khanh and many others) who really put every detail into their reviews, so that we would know what we would watch out for in the books. But there should also be a quicky ‘overall’ section of the review for people who kind of want to make sure they won’t get spoiled.

And well, I love both professional and funny bloggers. It depends on the post, I guess. If they’re writing about a serious book or a serious topic, they best keep it professional. Or if they’re reviewing a humorous book, they could bring out some laughs. I think I personally fit in with the serious bloggers, since I’ve grown accustomed to speaking English formally.

pagebreak

Blogging styles–which do you love, and which do you not?

 SIG - Aimee

61 thoughts on “What Are the Most Effective Blogging Styles?

  1. I think Id rather like a blog that posts frequently (eek, I need to buy a laptop ASAP) and I like it when there are both features as well as reviews but more emphasis on reviews should be there by a thin margin. Like you said, funny or formal depends on the type of post you’re doing, and well…I happen to be very influenced by the look of things, so I do love a really pretty blog. What can I say, I’m a minimalist. Great post, Aimme :)

    Like

    1. I do like blogs that post frequently, as long as the quality stays good throughout all their posts. :) Don’t worry–I like pretty blogs, too! xD But of course content still has to be good, or else I’ll just stare at the blog and never comment. :P

      Like

  2. I don’t have a preference. I really believe everyone should blog the way they want, but one of the things I look for is personality. I want to have the feeling I’m talking to that blogger, so I want their voice to shine :) I just look at the quality and if we have things in common :) I don’t care for blog tours/cover reveals/etc. but I don’t have favorite format of reviewing/discussion posts. If everyone would do the same, it would be boring, so I like all the differences.

    Like

    1. Everyone should definitely blog however they want to! :) I also really love people who show pieces of themselves in their post–like I know them just through reading their blog! :D

      Like

  3. Well I don’t know what style is most “effective,” I guess that depends on the audience you want… but I definitely have my own preferences:

    For frequency, I’d say I prefer 3-6 posts per week, though I’m following blogs that post more and less than that, so clearly that doesn’t matter so much for me. But I definitely prefer an emphasis on discussion over reviews, and few if any promotional posts. I like memes and features if they promote discussion and interaction; I want some insight into why people choose the books/characters/quotes/whatever that they do, otherwise it feels like they’re just posting for the sake of posting. As for reviews, I prefer ones that are concise, more about overall impressions than details.

    But I think blogs are like books… there’s a blog for every reader, and there’s a reader for every blog.

    Like

    1. I do like seeing a lot of discussions in blogs as well. And Amen to wanting some explanations on meme and feature posts. Sometimes people just post a random book and blurb for their Waiting On Wednesdays and don’t even mention why they want to read it. -_- I usually read detailed reviews only if I’ve already read the book so that I could compare thoughts.

      I could use that quote. Lovely and true!

      Like

  4. Hah, thank you for the shout-out. Aimee. I totes appreciate it! As for me, everyone should blog however they want and whenever they want and whatever they want – doesn’t mean I have to like it, but I’m not going to dictate what’s more socially accepted. For my own preferences though, I like those blogs that aren’t full of promotions like excerpts, blitzes, and cover reveals. These are things that I can google anyway, and more often than not, several other bloggers have the same content, too. Like Mel, I also personally prefer those who have their own unique voices, whose personalities shine through their posts. Those whose review I can read and then think, “Ah, this blogger definitely wrote this.” They stand out for me.

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Like

    1. *huggles* Everyone should definitely blog the way they want to, but I do think there are some “styles” that make people prefer to visit more often. :) I tend to unfollow blogs if they’re mostly promotional posts since there’s nothing unique about them. Unique personalities and voices are definitely a must!

      Like

  5. Personally, I like it more when I see a lot of discussions posts and reviews. I’m not a hater of book blasts or cover reveals, etc, ‘cuz I do that on my own blog sometimes, but I love getting to see if I am the same or opposites in terms of books with the bloggers. When it comes to reviews, I don’t really care if its professional or simple. I just want it to be passionate, I want to feel the review and the feelings in it. I even love reading hate/negative reviews on GR or blogs because I could feel their anger and irritation. It makes the experience more real and relatable. As for discussion posts, I love these because it gives me an idea what kind of a bookish person they are. And I love reading personal posts, because it gives me an insight on who they are a person and not as a blogger. It makes them feel more like real persons instead of people you see only through screen.

    Like

    1. I definitely like comparing thoughts with other bloggers as well. And of course, passion is why we’re here, no? :) I love reading rants on goodreads the most, actually! I find them hilarious and informative. :) PERSONAL POSTS, yes. Not a lot, but I’d like to get to know the bloggers every once in a while.

      Like

  6. I usually follow blogs if I feel interested in the person behind it – and that usually comes from reading the same kinds of books or having the same interests. And especially if they are open to engaging with their readers. But when it comes to commenting on posts I will most always comment on reviews, discussions and other random things. I usually don’t visit promo posts or memes (unless the meme question is interesting to me.) So I agree with what seems to be the consensus that blogging is more effective if you put more of your personality into your blog. :)

    Like

    1. Definitely. I do tend to follow blogs if they’re YA-only, but I also follow NA/adult/MG blogs if the bloggers seem like interesting and passionate people! I comment moroe on reviews and discussions, as well as meme posts if I think the meme post has some sort of interesting opinions or things. =)

      Like

  7. I’m with Jules. I like blogs that have lots of book reviews and discussion posts. A meme here or there is fine, but I am personally really annoyed whenever a blog is bombarded with memes. I like reviews that are long and detailed, but I also like when they have a brief summary at the end in case I’m in a hurry. Personality-wise, I love both “professional” and “funny” bloggers. It just depends on your personality. I want your blog to be like you…if that makes any sense.

    Thanks so much for sharing Aimee, and, as always, BRILLIANT post! <3

    Like

    1. I like memes, unless there’s really no input from the blogger, like, say, a Waiting on Wednesday post without an explanation of why a blogger is waiting for the book.. those piss me off. Same here for the reviews, I guess. :) Thanks for your input, dear! <3

      Like

  8. I like to visit blogs that has substance. I rarely visit any that has a persistent posts of book blasts/book blitzes, and memes. I guess I look for some originality as well. I’m a hit and miss with reviewing styles; sometimes, I can read a whole 1000-word essay, and sometimes, I’d skip it. It all depends on how interested I am in the book they’re reviewing.

    Great post!

    Like

    1. Ah, I see. Sometimes I tend to read more reviews from reviewers I know who are honest and don’t give everything 4-5 stars. I relate more to nitpicky readers, so I would read THEIR 1000-word essays, haha. =)

      Like

  9. I think, for me, I just really don’t bother commenting on popular blogs because I get tired to even give my opinion after scrolling down a dozen thoughts. I just get really discouraged, so I think an effective blogging style would have to be able to get me to say something no matter what. A blog that does lots of promotions is an unfollow for me, like immediately. I might give them a chance for a few more times but once I get tired of their spam, I just unfollow that. As a blogger who reads other blogs, it means nothing to me. It might be helpful to those who aren’t bloggers, but it’s just definitely spam when it comes to my feed.

    And I guess the most important thing would have to be that they have good content, or at least something interesting that would make me click on their post in my Bloglovin’. I have absolutely nothing better to contribute now.

    Like

    1. *nods head* I do still comment on popular blogs as long as I know that they reply and are willing to interact with everyone. :) I feel the same way about promotions. Maybe once a week is fine, but every freaking post? No thanks. You can promote books through reviews, anyway.

      You contributed a lot, Shannelle. :P

      Like

  10. As long as the writing and schedule feels honest and natural for that blogger, I’ll read whatever they put out. If you’re stressed about posting every day, then that comes through in a post! I’d rather read someone who’s relaxed and puts out two or three GOOD posts a week rather than churn out seven choppy, rushed, personality-less posts. If someone’s anxious, it makes me anxious, and blogging is just a hobby for most of us, so none of us should be anxious! Unless it’s the good anxious, when you’re excited. That’s totally fine and I love sharing those emotions!

    Like

    1. Right! Sometimes I see bloggers who try to post everyday despite their busy schedules, and I don’t understand why they would push themselves so hard and lessen the quality of their posts. It’s just kind of sad, since they could do better if they post when they actually have the time! =)

      Like

  11. Great topic Aimee! I don’t have much of a preference but I do agree that I don’t like it when a blog has more promotions than reviews and features. As for reviews, my writing styles can be different per book, sometimes I would do enumeration reviews, sometimes a detailed narratives and a fee times I would do mini reviews…so because my style changes per book, I don’t really mind reading different review styles. I do agree on an overall section though. Sometimes, I skim a review because I don’t want spoilers but I do read the overall section.

    Like

    1. Same here, Amir! I change review styles per book, although they’re usually in long paragraphs. =)

      I try to make sure all of my reviews have overall sections and bold text for skimmers! :P

      Like

  12. I like it all over the place. Who wants to eat the same meal everyday – not me says I.
    So I like it funny, sometimes I like it detailed. I love discussion and topical blog posts and I love seeing author guest posts from authors that I love. I also like content that is original and specific to the blogger. For instance I love Nite Lite’s Manicure Monday – I adore how she does her nails each week for a new cover.

    So I’m all over the place. I do like daily updates only because that way if they didn’t post something today I am interesting in reading / commenting on hopefully they will tomorrow.

    It does not need to be all reviews because honestly who can keep up with reading that much and writing the reviews to churn them out that fast. I can read really fast sometimes even a book or a lil more a day but writing a review takes HOURS of my time and so then that obviously would eat into my reading and blogging and visiting time.

    SO yeah – more of everything except promotions lol.

    Like

    1. Ooh, yes, I love reading author interviews and guest posts as well! Manicure Monday sounds fun and adorable!

      I feel the same way with commenting. I don’t like to leave comments on posts I’m not interesting, so I wait for a blogger to post something that’ll catch my attention. =)

      I don’t get how some people read 300+ books a year–it’s always only been 100 for me. People must have either easy jobs or are aliens.

      Like

    1. I love checking out people’s hauls (even if I don’t get as many books) and WoWs (even if they make my TBR explode) and I LOVE LOOKING AT LISTS TOO! *high five*

      Like

  13. I like bloggers who are funny and enthusiastic with their reviews and discussions. Just like when I read a book, I like reading reviews that will make me think or convince me to get that book or not. AND I don’t really fancy those who use a lot of jargon because a review’s aim is to explain why you like or love a book not impress people with your range of thesaurus vocabulary. As for promotions and memes, I like memes better than promotions. I can always see them on my bloglovin feed or twitter feed so why bother visiting their promo post right? But if it has a review, I will read them. :)

    Like

    1. Same here. Helpful reviews are the ones I love best. HAHAHA, people who want to try to sound smart when reviewing are weird. How will people even understand your reviews?! I also only read promo posts when there are reviews. :)

      Like

  14. For me personally: I absolutely adore funny blogs and fun and friendly bloggers. It’s almost more about the BLOGGER for me. When I chat with them on twitter and fangirl about books on Goodreads…I don’t mind if the post 100% reviews on their blog (even if reviews aren’t my favourite). Because I like them as a friend already.
    But I love short reviews. But with reasons as to why the book was awesome or not. Reviews were the book is just summarised and no actual personal THOUGHTS are given? Bleh. I skip. I also love discussions and other posts more than reviews. ;)
    Awesomely interesting topic!! You guys have the BEST discussions too!

    Like

    1. That’s exactly why I love YOUR blog, Cait! <33 I love making Twitter and GR friends–people these days are so friendly and open to talking about all the books! =)

      I see plenty of reviews that just seem to be book summaries! -_- It's kind of sad–how are they even reviews? I love discussion posts–especially hilarious but TRUE ones. =)

      Like

  15. I don’t care exactly how often a blogger posts, just that they post consistently. If that’s every single day, great! If that’s one review a week, great! I get sad when I see someone isn’t posting anymore (but I do understand that life gets in the way).

    I prefer to see more substance (reviews, discussion posts, etc) on blogs than fluff (memes, cover reveals, book blasts, etc). It’s good to have a mix but definitely lean more towards substance.

    I go back and forth with how detailed reviews should be. I know mine aren’t terribly detailed most of the time. I like to see a review to touch on different things if possible (characters, readability, plot, etc) but most of the time I don’t want to read a 7+ paragraph review.

    Reviews should be personal. I love when they sound like the reviewer is my friend and he/she is just telling me what they liked/didn’t like about a book.

    Great discussion!

    Like

    1. Same here! Sometimes I know that I am unable to post for a whole week, so I understand when some bloggers even take month-long hiatuses.

      I don’t mind 7+ paragraph reviews, as long as the blogger sounds passionate and everything in the review is relevant. :)

      Interesting. I do like professional-sounding reviewers, but I can see why a lot of us lean more towards friendly and fun bloggers. =)

      Like

  16. I don’t think that there’s a specific blogging style that I look out for. Right now, I’m just letting them all come in my bloglovin account. I open up the ones I think are interesting and mark everything else as read. I don’t really mind if blogs post daily or weekly. As long as they don’t post way too much. I think 2 a day should be the limit. I personally like a little variety. I like reading reviews and discussion posts. I’m not much into memes though, especially if they don’t make it their own. I’m not much into really long posts though because I tend to skip most of it, especially when I’m on the laptop because I don’t really like sitting in front of it for a long time and there are TONS of blogs out there. And lastly, I go for both professional and lighthearted. I will admit that I love blog posts that make me laugh, but I also enjoy others especially when they are beautifully written. I probably don’t qualify for my own standards though. XD

    Like

    1. Haha! Don’t worry, I feel that way about my own blog as well. I try to sound funny but I usually end up sounding really tacky. :P Thanks for sharing, Francine!

      Like

  17. For me, I love bloggers with good quality content as well. Things that you know have really come from them with lots of effort and emotion. For reviews, I actually prefer shorter reviews because long ones kind of bore me. Not many bloggers do this but I wouldn’t mind a separate review and discussion so that people that have read the book can discuss with spoilers. Personality wise, I do prefer funny but if I can connect with the professionals, I love them too!

    Like

    1. I used to have a separate ‘discussion’ section for my reviews but I gave up on those since I think nobody bothered to read them. While I do like short reviews, I would read long ones if I tryst the reviewer. :) Yay funny people AND professionals!

      Like

  18. Great discussion Aimee (:

    Alike you, I enjoy quality content. You can really tell the difference between a person who put their everything into demonstrating how they felt about a certain book and the person who just gives you a very broad and unemotional review. I like both serious and funny bloggers, I’d like to think I fit into both of those categories [; I prefer long reviews, as I tend to write long ones too. Seriously, anything under 1000 word for me is considered mini. Lol ooops. I just think long reviews tend to be a lot more detailed and informative.

    I do love discussion posts too, I love reading people’s opinions on certain topics and enjoy sharing my own. It’s especially fun when our viewpoints differ.

    As for meme’s and such, they’re personally not my favorite. Still, I won’t discount a blogger if they do them. I just enjoy them more when you can see the blogger shine through.

    Like

    1. Yes, sometimes blog posts do lack emotion and they tend to be boring to read. :( I really love long reviews as well, since they’re more informative, but apparently a lot of bloggers like shorter ones more. O-O

      Like

  19. Great discussion Aimee, I totally agree with you that we don’t care how often they post or what they do and how they review, but as long as their content is quality that is what matters. I also love getting to know the personality of each blog and what each bloggers do because that’s what makes us different doesn’t it? I’m the same, I don’t really enjoy promotional posts and often find myself skipping over that blog’s posts. I prefer long, detailed reviews as well that gives us specifics about a book, that way we can properly determine if it will be for us.

    Like

    1. I kinda don’t get why people don’t like long reviews! xD I mean, EVERYTHING’s there, and it makes it easier to decide if I want to read a book or not.

      Like

  20. I really don’t mind how frequently someone posts – it all depends on what they’re posting. If it’s mostly things like blog tours, memes and cover reveals, then I’m not really interested. But if it’s discussions, original features and reviews that they’ve worked on themselves, then I’m happy :)

    My favourite sorts of blogs are the ones with personality. The blogger obviously works hard on maintaining the blog and injects their personality into the posts. I also like it when I can learn about the blogger, their other interests apart from books.

    When it comes to reviews, I really don’t mind. It’s hard to say, because someone might’ve had lots of thoughts on one book, and not so many on another. I also like to read humorous and witty posts, but obviously that depends on what the post is about! Discussions are my favourites :)

    Like

    1. Same here! As long as there’s some input from the blogger–things they thought of themselves–then a post would have personality and it would be great in my book! :)

      Ah, yes. On regular reviews, I tend to like longer ones, but if it’s a mini-review with bullet points, I’m totally fine with those too! Discussion posts are lovely. :)

      Like

  21. There are a few things that I like in a blog, and they do affect my decision to follow.
    I don’t mind how often a person posts (unless it’s like months apart and I pretty much forget their blog exists, haha). I may not read or comment on the blog if they post every day but I’ll do my best if I have thoughts at the end of reading the post.
    I am not so keen on blogs that are all reviews or promotions. My favourite posts are original ones – discussions, features etc etc – ones that really get me thinking and ones that incite me to leave a thoughtful comment in response. I like to be able to share thoughts easily!
    As for professional/humorous or whatever, I simply like it when a blogger’s personality shows through, and I think that’s the most important thing :D
    I really don’t mind so much about reviews. Short or descriptive, as long as their thoughts are coming across, its good enough for me! ^.^

    Like

    1. Haha! I do see a few blogs that post like every other week, but it’s fine with me as long as the content is good and consistent.

      I think this is the first comment I’ve read of someone who doesn’t want ONLY reviews! :D But yes, I’ll have to agree with you! Discussions and features are easier to partake in through comments.

      Thanks so much for your thoughts, Chiara!

      Like

  22. I definitely don’t think there is a 100% effective blogging style for everyone but really rather what works for the individual blogger. Like you, I look out for the blogger’s personality and their features and posts. Right now, I’m not really looking for blogs with a lot of reviews because I’m not reading as much of them and a lot more into their features. The blogger doesn’t necessarily need to have a sense of humour but something about them that makes their blog stand out :)

    Like

    1. Ah, there re definitely those moods when you’re not into reviews! And that’s definitely true–as long as there’s something about a blogger, they don’t really have to be funny. :)

      Like

  23. While it’s not a “requirement” for me to like a blog, I do enjoy blogs that post relatively frequently, say, a couple times a week. Only because, if I like the content, I want to read more of it! That said, frequency doesn’t matter if I’m following the blog’s feed. When the blogger posts, it shows up in my reader and I go check it out! It doesn’t matter if their last post was last month or yesterday.

    I also don’t have an overall preference for how many discussion posts vs reviews there are, though I do think the majority of us are following book blogs because we’re interested in book reviews. I just don’t follow blogs that have an excessive amount of promotions: cover reveals, memes, book blasts. etc.

    Like

    1. I’ve actually found that a lot of us follow for discussions as well! And most of us think the same way of cover reveals and other promotions. Thanks for sharing, Briana!

      Like

  24. I follow over 200 book review blogs (and I just started following yours through bloglovin :) ), and a few things that stand out to me when I’m going through the blogs I follow (what I like)-
    blogs that are updated at least 3-4 times a week
    blogs that have at least two reviews a week (I do two a week on my own blog)
    blogs that offer blogging tips/tutorials-this is really helpful for me, since I’m still a new blogger
    blogs that don’t do long/in depth reviews. I skim reviews and prefer a few highlights, telling my why I should or should not read a book. I don’t want a rehash of the plot.
    blogs that have a unique ‘voice’, usually the blogger has a sassy blogging style (like Herding Cats & Burning Soup), or is an ‘intelligent’ blogger (The Caffeinated Book Reviewer).
    blogs that have a niche-my own niche is that I only review library books (I’m an avid reader who doesn’t own any books :D)

    Like

    1. Thank you, Finley! :D

      Aw, it’s sad that you don’t like long reviews since I personally really love them! But I really do get annoyed when people summarize the book in their reviews. There’s a synopsis for a reason, right?

      GASP! You don’t own any books!? We don’t have any awesome libraries here with a wide selection of YA, so I mostly purchase all my books or borrow them from friends!

      Like

  25. I prefer a blog with a mix of reviews, discussions, and memes. On mine I have a pattern right now, but will probably be cutting out a meme or two, or just not participating regularly because I have committed to reviews to post , and I don’t like to post more than 2 things a day.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

