Seraphina (Seraphina, #1)

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

the first Seraphina book
published on August 10th 2012 by Random House Books for Young Readers
fantasy | romance

find the author on
Goodreads | website

find the book on
Goodreads | The Book Depository

Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty’s anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.

Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen’s Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.

REVIEW

As there are already plenty of reviews for this one, this one will just be a quickie review in bullets.

– The beginning was slow, but mostly full of interesting information that still kept my attention on the book… Well, I did have a few snack breaks.

–  Starting from the half mark I couldn’t put this one down. It was suspenseful, witty and just had that exquisite drop of romance that didn’t hide the rest of the story. The love interest was an interesting character, and I understood the heroine’s attraction to him.

– The heroine herself was seriously very badass. She knew when to keep going, but she also knew when she had to keep quiet. A very determined girl, Seraphina wound her way into my heart.

– Friendship and family was also very well explored in this. Seraphina had a loving uncle, and there was a mystery behind the family who loved her but had to let her go.

– Holy crap the dragon lore! Everything was just so intriguing, and I never felt that any information was dumped at me. I wanted to suck it all in.

The writing was beautiful–very classy, but understandable. There’s a glossary in the back of the book where odd words are listed, so I highly suggest not reading this one as an ebook.

I need the second book. Rachel Hartman sure knows how to write.

pagebreak

Skulls 4

4 skulls

pagebreak

Let’s discuss! Have you read this book? If you have, what did you think of it? If you haven’t, will you be picking it up anytime soon?
SIG - Aimee
33 thoughts on “Mini Review: Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

  1. I agree with you. The beginning was so tad slow. I had to put it on hold for months before I decided to continue. Anyway, I’m so glad that I was able to finish it. It was great but the next book won’t be out until 2015, I think.

    Like

    1. I usually end up doing that in a lot of novels, but for this one I just kept pushing myself to get through the beginning and eventually it got interesting! Yup. It feels like a lifetime away.

      Like

  2. I heard the second one doesnt come out until 2015! I loved this one and adored all of the characters :) so glad you enjoyed it too, I agree the front part was a bit slower. I listened to the audio and it was aamzing.

    Like

    1. Haha! I still haven’t read or watched Game of Thrones, despite owning the first book and all the DVDs. :( Anyway, I hope this satisfies your need of dragons!

      Like

  3. Thanks for the great review, Aimee! This book has been on my “need it very SOON” list, but not my “need it NOW/ASAP/GIVE IT TO ME OR I’LL DROP DEAD” list for quite a while, and your review has now bumped it up to almost on that second list. :)

    Like

  4. I haven’t read this one. Something about the cover that instantly makes me think that it’s MG. Now that you’ve mentioned romance, I might just give it a try. Also, dragons? Sign me up!

    Like

  5. You’re right I saw a lot of reviews about this one so why haven’t I read this yet? good question! I’m glad that despite the slow start you manages to enjoyed it! Great review!

    Like

  6. I’m pretty much agreeing 100% here! I loved this book, but I think (if I remember correctly) I actually gave it a 3. Oops. It kind of has a 4 in my head….gah, that doesn’t make sense, but *I* know what I mean. lol Okaaaay. Yes, it was super interesting, but also a bit slow. And all those names. CONFUSING. It took me a while to figure out the relationships of the royal family. Like who was who and who’s names belong to who.

    Like

    1. 3 stars are pretty good too, Cait! :P Yeah, I had to constantly check the glossary and the cast at the back of the book to figure out who was who!

      Like

  7. Despite the slightly slow start, I’m really glad you liked this one Aimee! Sometimes you just have to adjust to a book’s style, and once you do everything starts getting interesting. I’m really glad to hear it’s so family and friendship-based though! That’s always awesome! :D Thanks for sharing and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

