Discussions & Confessions

Discussions & Confessions is a feature at Deadly Darlings where we share a discussion topic as well as a bookish confession.

Discuss

It’s LGBT April and in lieu of that, I wanted to ask you guys two things:

a.) What do you think of LGBT books? and

b.) Can you recommend to me any awesome YA LGBT?

Confess

I’ve only ever read one book that has an LGBT main character, and that’s Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan and John Green. I didn’t even enjoy it, to be honest.

What I’m trying to say is that I have very, very minimal knowledge on how the LGBT community is portrayed in young adult novels. I suck, right? Anyway, I was planning to read 3 LGBT+ themed books this month, but it’s already the 19th and I haven’t read any yet! So I decided to ask for some recs in this post.

I tried reading Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan, but the first chapter bored me soooo much. Does it get any better? I also have an eARC of Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore which, according to the Goodreads genres listed, also contains LGBT.

I’ve read a couple of books that featured LGBT side characters, so I guess I sort of have an idea. Mostly, they play the role of the main character’s best friend or friend, and they’re usually the friendly, funny characters who are emotionally strong and very passionate. I have a gay uncle who is very, very emotionally strong and is hilarious, so I think there are a lot of books that justify the awesome side of the LGBT community.

So, I’m not sure if I’ll be able to read the three books I wanted to this month (and this makes me really guilty), but I do think I should get to know more of our LGBT+ main characters and how they deal with their everyday lives, problems and how they fix them. I’m also curious about the various ways one can come out. Also, how sometimes these people are bullied, but remain emotionally stable enough to continue on with their lives and still be happy. They’re awesome, right? Thumbs up to the LGBT community!

pagebreak

Throw those LGBT recs at me, guys! Make sure they’re YA, though. And how do you think the LGBT community is portrayed in YA novels?

 SIG - Aimee

48 thoughts on “Discussions & Confessions: LGBT Books

  1. I thought the first chapter of Two Boys Kissing was a bit slow as well. It was just really confusing. I was just like, “what’s going on?” But then it really does get better! I haven’t read many LGBT+ books either so I can’t really recommend you anything haha. Adaptation was fairly good but it wasn’t the best. I’ve heard a lot about The Summer I Wasn’t Me and Freakboy so maybe check those out? :D

    Like

  2. Eeeeep! :D Okay wait. Get ready, I have a few recommendations for you! :D I loved these books!
    Fan Art by Sarah Tregay
    The Summer I Wasn’t Me by Jessica Verdi
    Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg
    Ask the Passengers by A.S. King
    And this one doesn’t come out till september, but it’s really good: No One Needs to Know by Amanda Grace.

    Yay! There aren’t enough LGBT books.

    Like

  3. I haven’t read any lgbt books yet and I feel kind of guilty. Some that I’m planning to read are Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe, the summer I wasn’t me and proxy. I’ve heard good things about all of them.

    Like

  4. I do love it when books have GLBT romances but I don’t come across a lot of them. One that comes to mind immediately is Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan which I loved.

    Like

    1. *sigh* Maybe I can try it again next time. :) I didn’t know More Than This was LGBT! I’ve tried reading one of his other books and didn’t like it, so I’ll be hesitant but I’ll still check it out. ;)

      Like

    1. Hahaha! Don’t worry, I have a really close friend who reads AND writes boy x boy fanfictions for her favorite Kpop bands. ;) Thanks, Abby! I’ll check it out. :)

      Like

  5. I actually haven’t read too many LGBT books. And the ones I have read, it’s more like they were surprise LGBT books rather than me going “oh look there’s an LGBT book. Let’s read it”. e.g. Proxy by Alex London- I had no idea this was LGBT until I read it. It’s quite good though- I’d definitely recommend it :D
    Aristotle and Dante is quite amazing too- I read that one for LGBT month because I saw Cayce from Fighting Dreamer continually recommending it haha

    Like

  6. I think it’s great to have more books with LGBT in it, but I don’t want it to be.. you know, very much focused on the fact it’s LGBT. It’s something very normal to me, so I don’t like it when the author makes a fuss about it and constantly points it out to me. A book that really did that to me was More than this by Patrick Ness. The overall story was one huge mindfuck, but I liked the subtle romance in it :)

    Like

  7. I’ve never really explored the genre, but I have read Will Grayson Will Grayson but I enjoyed it. I would mind checking out the genre. I’ve been curious about it. Wait! I read Lover At Last and it was great. But I love that series by JR Ward and that was the only book in it that was like that and it was highly anticipated. Great discussion!

    Like

  8. I don’t read many LGBT books either… But honestly, if I did, I wouldn’t notice it either. Like Mel said, it’s all very normal for me too and reading of an LGBT character in a book is not something that would stand out to me, above any other thing. In general though, with YA, I think there’s a lot of focus on boys who are gay and not so much on girls who are gay and that’s something that I’d very much like to see more of! The only one I know of is The Miseducation of Cameron Post which I have not read but have heard great things about! :)

    Like

  9. Yeah…I’m the same! Most contemporary books I read that have LGBT characters in them usually end up being quite stereotyped, which is a shame. Although, I read Speechless by Hannah Harrington a little while back, and I absolutely LOVED it! Thanks for sharing Aimee, and, as always, GREAT post! <3

    Like

  10. I just started Two Boys Kissing and while it’s not (yet?) love, I’m quite enjoying it :) And let’s see… I second Adaptation, Freakboy (<333), The Summer I Wasn’t Me, Fan Art (aww, such a cute story), Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (one of my all time favorite reads). And like others have said it above, I don't love these (or any other book with LGBT characters) books because they are LGBT, but because the story is good and the characters are engaging/well developed. LGBT or not, a good book is a good book :)

    I'm pretty sure Dark Metropolis is LGBT, but it doesn't sound like my cup of tea, tbh.

    Btw, don't forget to link-up your post:
    http://nijiclovers.blogspot.com/2014/04/lgbt-month-week-3-link-up-giveaways-and.html

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for all these awesome recs, Cayce. I HAVE to check out Aristotle and Dante. <3

      Dang, I missed the sign ups. I'm a horrible blogger. Can I link up on week 4 instead?

      Like

  11. I’m another one who is voting More Than This by Patrick Ness. The character is gay, but there’s no romance really. If you want a shmushy romance, Falling From The Sky by Nikki Godwin is an awesome one to start with. The relationship doesn’t go beyond kissing, but it’s a really heartwarming YA romance. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve heard that Aristotle and Dante is ahhhh-mazing! I’m hoping to read that one this week. Good luck and can’t wait to see which LGBT YA you go with.

    Like

    1. I definitely like smushy romances, lol. I’ll definitely check that one out! I really nead to read Aristotle and Dante–everyone’s been recommending it! <3

      Like

  12. I saw that a lot has already mentioned “More Than This By Patrick Ness”, and it was a great book. I haven’t read a lot of books with this theme, but also consider Alec and Magnus of The Mortal Instruments. I’m sorry that I’m not much help in this genré, but I am open to reading more :)

    Like

  13. I haven’t read many LGBT books, but in all honesty I probably wouldn’t remember if I did. In a REALLY GOOD WAY. Because to me, I wouldn’t be all: Oh wow a LGBT protagonist, I’m going to remember that they weren’t heterosexual. It’s just not a big deal to me, so I don’t know if I would specifically remember it, you know?
    But wow reading through these comments has given me heaps of recs and I cannot wait to read them :D I so think that LGBT books are under-represented in the YA community, but hopefully that will change with time!

    Like

  14. You know I guess I dont really pay attention to that as an aspect when I pick up books. I read Every Day by David. Levithan and loved it and would like to read Two Boys Kissing. 8 have read a few adult urban fantasies with lgbt as main character but like I said, that doesnt matter to me so Ive never made it a point to search out one way or the other. Good luck on your hunt to find some. I saw another commenter say Dark Metropolis which is cool since I plan to read that one too.

    Like

    1. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Every Day (and David Levithan in general), but I’m a bit wary since I didn’t like the parts he wrote from Will Grayson, Will Grayson. I’m a bit wary of Dark Metropolis, but I have to read it soon to find out!

      Like

  15. I loved Two Boys Kissing, but I also like books that have secondary characters that are gay friends etc.One I recently read and enjoyed was Losing Logan. I don’t particularly seek them out, but love enjoy them.

    Like

  16. See, though I am a major LGBTQ supporter I haven’t read that much YA with it. Yeah, like you said, the side characters (which you usually get a lot) which I find are the ones that are more stereotypical, that the gay characters there exactly for that. I read A Kiss in the Dark by Cat Clarke, I wouldn’t say it’s heavily LGBTQ based, because it’s complicated, and more to do with loving a person than gender, but it’s a perfect example of the beginning of open mindedness on your own sexuality. It’s not an easy one, and it’s raw and gritty but it’s also honest and real. So I’d definitely recommend that one. :) There’s also Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis that seems to have a whole range of dynamic awesomeness (I haven’t actually read it yet, but if you scroll down to the review from the author, you’ll see the awesomeness.)

    Like

    1. I see what you mean. I’m from a family of people who don’t support gay rights, so I’m a bit indifferent to these books as well sometimes. But I do think we need to show support to the community, even if it isn’t through reading books about them. :)

      Like

  17. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward
    for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

