Uninvited (Uninvited, #1) by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

the first Uninvited book
published on January 28th 2014 by HarperTeen
dystopia | romance

find the author on
Goodreads | website

find the book on
Goodreads  | The Book Depository

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

REVIEW

This was, surprisingly, a good read. After reading a couple of negative reviews for this, I honestly kind of expected to hate it too…but I didn’t! Yay!

The plot was unique and well-constructed. The book is basically about a world wherein certain people possess HTS or the “kill gene”.

Usually, I’m quite passive when reading a book. While reading Uninvited, though, I would sometimes just drop the book and stop because I was so irritated with the stuff that was happening to the characters. The way Sophie Jordan wrote made everything feel kinda real. There were times when I just wanted to wring Tori, Davy, or whoever’s neck!

I was sort of irritated with Davy, at first, but throughout the book, she grew as a character. When she first learned of her “situation”, she was a real hypocrite. She was denying that she wasn’t dangerous like the others, when just the day before, she wanted all of them gone! Throughout the book, though, you can see how Davy grew from a sheltered brat, to a person who accepts her situation.

Sean was great. I love guy characters who are protective over the girls, and Sean was just that. He was always there for Davy, even when at first, she didin’t deserve it. His character was mildly under-developed, but it’s nothing to be worried about.

The minor characters were well developed. Zac was sweet at first, but turned out to be a coward who wouldn’t fight for Davy. Tori is a bitch, and can die in hell.

There was a little bit of instalove on Davy’s part, whereas Sean didn’t have any reaction at first. Their romance was a little spontaneous. One minute they were “friends”, the next they were sucking each other’s faces off! But honestly, it’s nothing to get worked up about though…

The writing was fantastic. Sophie Jordan made the whole thing feel real. It was also properly paced, and well plotted.

Despite all the nit-picking I did, this was still a really good novel and I highly recommend it.

pagebreak

Skulls 4

4 skulls

pagebreak

Let’s discuss! Have you read this book? If you have, what did you think of it? If you haven’t, will you be picking it up anytime soon?
SIG - Dyan
Advertisements

42 thoughts on “Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

  1. Yay! I really enjoyed Uninvited and was surprised how much it just swept me away.Davy was a bit irritating at first, but she had a lot of growth once she came to terms with the fact she has HTS. Oh, and the romance – I liked it, Sean was this great combo of tough silent/caring guy. Great review Dyan :)

    Like

  2. I did read some negative reviews of this, so I found it really interesting to read your perspective on it! It doesn’t sound like the perfect read for me, I don’t know about those irritating characters, but I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

  3. I love this premise and I’m glad that Davy gets character growth :) Also, yay! I hear that Sean is just.. awesomeness and I’m so happy you adored him. And I’ve read Firelight and Vanish by Sophie and loved her writing so I’m glad to hear that her writing is still strong. Great review, Dyan!

    Like

  4. I think I have this on my wishlist, the premise is really interesting but I did see a few negative reviews on this one. I’m really glad you enjoyed this even though the romance does sound a little “insta”, I would definitely read this now! I love surprisingly good reads :)

    Like

  5. I’ve seen a few negative reviews of this too so I’m glad you liked it! I’ve always wanted to check it out because the cover is really cool and I’m superficial when it comes to pretty book covers haha. I don’t know if I’ll be able to take hypocrite because I hate annoying characters but it sounds like a book that I could really enjoy. Thank you for sharing! I’ll be looking into this one. :D

    Like

    1. After the reviews I’ve read, I was surprised that I enjoyed it, too! I know that it’s wrong, but the reason I actually bought it was because the cover was pretty! :))

      Like

  6. It’s been forever since I read a Sophie Jordan book. I quit her Firelight series after Vanish, and haven’t been tempted to give her a second go, but now I’m kinda rethinking that decision after reading your review. Thanks for giving me a dilemma on this Friday morning. LOL ;)

    Like

  7. you’re right I saw a lot of different reviews about this one, but sometimes we need to try by ourselves to really know how a book is. I’m glad you had a good time with it at the end.

    Like

  8. I have seen mixed reviews for this one so I have no idea what to expect. I’m so happy you enjoyed this one and I cannot wait to read it. Great review, Dyan! :)

    Like

  9. I’m so happy you liked this one since I remember wanting to read this one when it first came out but I just kept putting it off but i now want to go run tot he book store and go pick it up again! I’ve heard that some of the stuff written in the book is quite disturbing and can make readers put the book down but i’m glad it conveyed such emotions in you! now i really can’t wait fot it!
    Lily

    Like

  10. I think it tells a lot when we have to stop reading a book and take a breather because of how it affected us. That could only mean it was able to evoke a strong reaction from us, and books that do that are far and few between. I’m still wary regarding this one, though, just because many of my friends hated it, but I’m glad to know it worked for you!

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Like

  11. So glad you liked this one Dyan! <3 I agree…it was really fascinating and well done – especially as I'm kind of a genetics geek! ;) And wasn't the romance just the best? :D Thanks so much for sharing, and, as always, brilliant review! <3

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s