1 - Discussions & Confessions

Discussions & Confessions is a feature at Deadly Darlings where we share a discussion topic as well as a bookish confession.

1 - Discussion

We all have our own reasons for starting a book blog, right? Well, what are your favorite things about book blogging?

There are some people love to give and take recommendations, people want to meet new bookworm-y friends, and some people are in it for all the bookish reasons. I want to know YOUR favorite things about book blogging. Maybe you can even share why and how you started to blog!

1 - Confession

Initially, I began book blogging since I’m a pretty opinionated person who needs her thoughts to be heard. I hate keeping my thoughts bottled up to myself. I want people to know what I think, and I want my thoughts to matter to other people as well. I’ve been a crappy blogger recently. But today, I won’t be ranting about how shitty I’ve become at commenting back (for now!). This post will be all about the things I love about book blogging.

1.) When someone reads (and loves) a book I raved about, it feels totally awesome! I may be a real critic when it comes to reading, but when I love a book I will force it so hard on everyone until they read it. And when they love it? SCORE! It feels like my job as a book blogger has been fulfilled. This is basically me when this scenario happens:

2.) I love people saying how different our opinions are. Okay, a real confession. One thing I hate most is being wrong. But there is no wrong when it comes to opinions, right? I love hearing different thoughts, different perspective on things I believe in. It might not change my mind, but it’ll give me something to think about.

3.) Blogging gives me the chance to interact with not only fellow book lovers, but also authors and other bookish people! In real life, I’m super creeped out to be the first one to make a move/try to make friends. Which is why my online friends are awesome because a.) it’s easier to talk to people when you don’t look into their eyes and b.) you can fangirl with them endlesslyyyyyy. And let’s admit that being a blogger also boosts up our confidence when interacting with authors and such.

4.) Reading all the comments on my posts are wicked! I may suck at responding, but I read them all. I probably look like some deranged monkey while smiling at all your comments. Believe me, I appreciate them SO. MUCH. I love you for just reading this post. Your comments make me feel loved.

5.) Everything else. It’s true, right? Even the stress. Everything is awesome as long as you love what you’re doing.

I should stop before this turns into a huge, boring essay! But there are so many more awesome things about blogging, right? But basically: Me + Blogging =

I love you too, Barney.

pagebreak

What are some of your blogging favorites?

SIG - Aimee

56 thoughts on “Discussions & Confessions: Why Book Blogging is Awesome

  1. I started because I needed to fangirl about the books I loved, but I never realized what a huge world the book blogging community is and all the benefits, like other bloggers, authors and ARCs!
    The Fierce Reads Anthology:

    Like

  2. Awwww :) I can totally relate to you Aimee. I agree with the different opinions thing. We have different tastes, but I do agree with your reviews even though we have different opinions about it (Like Maybe Someday lol) Loving this feature of yours Aimee :D

    Like

  3. Love this discussion!
    I started my blog because I wanted somewhere I could express my opinions on books. And then coming across a whole community of book bloggers was the added bonus that made me continue blogging. This is like the place you can go to express your opinions and you won’t be judge for them. I love that :)

    Like

  4. I started blogging because I needed a legit excuse to read… ¨Go empty the dishwasher/clean your room/fold the laundry!” ¨Can’t, I’m reading for my blog!” :) But… That doesn’t work.
    Seriously, though, I like spreading the word about n=books I love and ranting about books I didn’t. Also, I love talking with authors.

    Like

  5. I remember starting and thinking, this was hobby no else had in my class. I really like being different from everyone else. And that was got me int it,really. And the community has definitely made me keep going.

    Like

  6. I started blogging back in 2001. It’s been a really long time. But what I enjoy the most is book blogging. Like you, it feels awesome to rave about books, and I like interacting with fellow book bloggers. I get to have people to get to know that I have in common with : books!

    Like

  7. Oh all the reasons you love blogging apply to me! I initially started blogging to get my thoughts down (though I wasn’t so sure other people would read it!) but later it is definitely the opportunity to share and fangirl with other readers over books is the best part of blogging to me. I don’t have many book lovers among my friends and I agree with what you say that it is super hard for me to make the first move to befriend someone in real life! But it is pretty easy online! Great post Aimee- it’s always fun to enthuse over blogging! :)

    Like

  8. Oh. my. gosh. “it’s easier to talk to people when you don’t look into their eyes” YES. THIS YES. YOU READ MY MIND. HONESTLY YOU DO. I have so few friends IRL because it’s awkward and I stammer and stumble…but on the internet there are no judgy eyeballs staring at you and everyone is a fangirl over something so there’s so much to CONNECT with!! Anyhow. You’re not a slack blogger. ;) Come on! We can’t keep doing it all aaaall the time. XD

    Like

    1. Right!? Making friends is soooo creepy. D: It’s harder to think of responses when you’re in front of the person you’re talking to! Def. awesome since you can’t see the people you talk to when you blog, lol! <3

      Like

  9. I love this discussion topic! Your list — and gifs! — is so on point too. Lots of favorites about book blogging. All-around fun! I originally started book blogging on Tumblr as an outlet to get my “feels” out there and fangirl with other book lovers. Soon discovered more book bloggers on other platforms and decided to join the community.

    Other than fangirling with fellow book lovers, I really like when they not only recommend a book they think I would like, but also introduce me to books that are outside of my usual go-to genre. Also quite enjoy when others give opinions that rivals your own it makes you question and think. You see things in different perspectives, and can learn a lot from that!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Genissa! <3 I've tried using Tumblr before, but I don't really connect with other people there so I stopped. :(

      I see. I really try to get out of my comfort zone when it comes to books, but sometimes some books just don't work out for me, or I find that I'm not interested in a particular genre. The different perspectives thing is really helpful when I'm trying to decide what to read next!

      Like

  10. YES! It feels the best when someone actually loves your recommendation ;) And totally agreed on number two! I’ve seen so many reviews and thoughts on Four Seconds to Lose (even today, one of the people’s whose blog I read gave it 4.5 stars) about how amazing it is, but I was completely disappointed so yes. Different perspectives are awesome! FANGIRLING FTW :’) and yeah, comments are the best :) Haha. Blogging is awesome! I wouldn’t trade it for the world and even though slumps can bring one down from the blogging high, it has nothing against the good feels that blogging creates :) Great post, Aimee!!

    Like

    1. Riiight?! <3 It totally makes you feel like an awesome friend when people love a book you recommended. And I like hearing different thoughts in reviews–it gives me a better idea on whether to read or not!

      I do get into a lot of slumps which is really disappointing, but really, seeing other bloggers enjoying what they do keeps me going! :)

      Like

  11. I made my blog because of a giveaway, but I started because I saw so many others do it and I wanted to try it for myself. Haha :P And now I love it for all the same reasons as you!

    Like

  12. Yes! I agree with all of these reasons! None of my friends enjoy books as much as I do, so it’s awesome to have a whole new set of friends who have the same passion and love for books as I do! And the community is amazing! Thanks for sharing Aimeee, and, as always, brilliant review! <3

    Like

  13. Ha, even with the ‘anonymity’ behind my blog, I’m still uncomfortable expressing everything I think about a particular book. I try to make my blog kid/family friendly so I try not to curse in my posts, although I do blog about adult content.

    But yes, blogging is totally fun, and I love the fangirling aspect! I don’t have real life friends who I can gush to about books as much as I do with my blogger friends :)

    Like

    1. Lol! I think the internet is actually the only place I can really say what’s on my mind without problem. It’s great that you’re trying to keep your blog family friendly! I don’t have that much self-control, haha!

      I have some bookish friends IRL, but bloggy friends fangirl a lot more! <3

      Like

  14. Blogging is awesome <33 I can't believe that i haven't been doing it for that long and already I have fallen completely head over heels in love it. For me, comments are the best. You get to talk with like minded people and comments can truly make your day c: I feel like blogging as allowed me to take these comments and really allow me to become friends with these people, even though I haven't met them in real life.

    Like

    1. I’ve been blogging for less than a year as well, and I really love a lot of things about it! <3 I do feel like I'm good friends with a couple of people even if I've never even seen them! :D

      Like

  15. Yesyesyes, agree to all of them! Confession: My blog actually started off as a personal one for uni, where I commented on news around the world. I grew pretty bored with that, so I decided to check out blogging communities and came across the book one. And now I haven’t left since. The best of it is getting to meet these wonderful people, and it’s the main reason I joined. I wanted to be a part of the conversation. Wonderful discussion lovely x

    Like

  16. Oh I love your design! I cannot believe I haven’t see it before but well you’ve got new stalk…errr follower :D
    For the discussion I totally agree!! I love this world and all people in it. Also I never tend to be the first one to start interaction with anyone but here it’s so easy. I guess I need to transfer that into my real world. Reading different opinion is also great thing and it usually gives you another picture.
    Great post Aimee :)

    Like

    1. Thank you, Tanja! :D
      IRL, I seriously try to start conversations but I usually get really shy and end up not saying much. @_@ It’s so much easier online!

      Like

  17. I started blogging two years ago because i was getting bored of not having anyone to talk books with so i just kind of thoght “hey let’s post my thoughts on the internet and go from their”. I never would have imagined how BIG the blogosphere is and how many amazing people i’d meet in it and how i’d hear about EVEN MORE amazing books. I could also create a list on how blogging has impacted my reading life and why I love it. Great post!
    Lily @ lilysbookblog

    Like

  18. I initially started blogging because I read many books and wanted to share my opinions on them. Also, reviewing is great for one’s writing skills, as we’re always exercising the skill and thus keeping them strong. (I’m such a nerd :P) What really makes me stay though are the comments! I adore reading them and replying. It’s a wonderful feeling when you know that people read what you write and take the time to talk to you about it. Great discussion!

    Like

    1. I definitely need some writing lessons! <3 Reviewing seems like a good place to start. I especially love reading comments,even if I'm sucky and don't reply to them all at once…

      Like

  19. Yay blogging!! I think my favorite feeling is when someone whose opinion you really trust loves a good just as much as you do. I don’t know what it is but I always feel so vindicated. :) But getting comments is likely the next best feeling. I’m training myself to do more commenting, so to know someone took the time to say something, ANYTHING, on my post makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside!

    Also, those GIFs are just spot on. Great post Aimee! :D

    Like

  20. I’ve always loved checking out book reviews and seeing what others shared about books they liked/disliked. Then, Giselle @ Xpresso Reads asked me if I had my own book blog. I didn’t at the time but that got me thinking. A few months later, I started blogging and making new bookworm-y friends. I still love reading the most but blogging gives me a platform to share what I like with the world.

    Like

    1. It’s cool that you started checking blogs out even before making your own! I used to stalk and admire the other more popular blogs as well, before deciding to start a blog. :D

      Like

  21. I’ve only Bern blogging since the start of 2013 and at first, I didn’t want to do it. My other half pushed me into it, probably so I’d stop annoying him. I had no idea what I was doing, I still don’t. I review how I enjoy reading reviews, a brief retelling and then opinions. I love visiting other blogs though, I only wish I had more time to do so, you’re definitely not alone there.

    I think it’s really about the blog friends you make though, there’s so many that I’ve come to really enjoy visiting daily and basing my reads from their reviews. But I love that it’s still fun.

    Like

    1. Ah, that’s so cute! <3 My mom knows that I blog, but she doesn't really say anything about if I should continue or not. :)

      There are some blogs I obsess over and stalk daily as well! I trust a select number of reviewers and immediately add to my wishlist whatever books they love. :)

      Like

  22. My favourite things about blogging are pretty much the same as yours :D *high five*
    But I think my numero uno favourite thing would have to have been: making friends. When I went into blogging, I truly had no idea or intention that I’d make friends. In all honesty, I thought it would kind of be professional and/or formal interactions. Someone would comment on my blog and I’d reply with a nice little comment and then perhaps repay the favour. UHM NO. This was not what happened.
    There was a time when my comments were really polite and stuff but that really flew out the window after a while. And when that started to disappear, and I started to have conversations with commenters and bloggers, everything was so much better. I love sharing love in the community, and the friends I’ve made have been absolutely fantastic and really make my life a lot more fuller and happier than it was before blogging. So I’m thankful to blogging and to them, and yeah. That’s my favourite part ^.^

    Like

    1. Right? Actually, at first, I was seeing a lot of bloggers who were close friends with each other, to the point where they’ve given each other their numbers and have seen each other in person. It was cool, and I wanted that kind of bond with other bookish people as well. :D I’m glad you got out of the merely-polite-strangers stage with a bunch of new bookish friends, Chiara! :D <3

      Like

  23. Interesting topic Aimee :) I had been an on- and off- pajama blogger since college (the Internet was practically newly-invented af the time). My blogs are usually anonymous from my family, but open to very close friends and I made a few blogger friends too.
    I had always dreamed of having a blog, but I didn’t know about what and to my dismay, I never got to develop my web design skills. Sure I’m not particularly artistic, but I used to join computer programming contests in high school! You know when we were all still in MS DOS. In short, it was my
    cousin Amir’s brilliant idea. So I really just provide content every now and then and she takes care of everything else hehe. It really opened up a whole new world for me!! :D I’m also sometimes awkward in real life, but I think I have gotten awkard on the net now too. Old age, probably ;)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

