Split Second (Pivot Point, #2)

Split Second by Kasie West

the second and final Pivot Point novel
published on February 11, 2014 by HarperTeen
paranormal | dystopia | romance

find the author on
Goodreads | website | Twitter

find the book on
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Life can change in a split second.

Addie hardly recognizes her life since her parents divorced. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. She can’t believe this is the future she chose. On top of that, her ability is acting up. She’s always been able to Search the future when presented with a choice. Now she can manipulate and slow down time, too . . . but not without a price.

When Addie’s dad invites her to spend her winter break with him, she jumps at the chance to escape into the Norm world of Dallas, Texas. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He’s a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. And she has an inexplicable desire to change that.

Meanwhile, her best friend, Laila, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie’s memories . . . once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don’t want to see this happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.

As Addie and Laila frantically attempt to retrieve the lost memories, Addie must piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot . . . and a future that could change everything.

REVIEW

I read this one back in February, wrote a review draft and completely forgot to post it. I’m a genius like that.

Anyway, Pivot Point was an adorable read with an ending that broke my heart, so of course I wanted to pick this one up to find out what happens next to our dear Trevor. Split Second did not disappoint!

I was pretty pissed at first when I found out that this book was going to be told from two perspectives: Addie and her best friend Laila. Who wouldn’t be disappointed? I mean, one book isn’t enough for our Trevor-Addie cuteness, right? But boy was I wrong. Laila was such a dear to read about, and she had her own swoon-worthy boy for us to fangirl over!

“Because no one frustrates me quite as much as you do.” Totally true. “Soon, the thought of your face will do it, but now, it seems I need your annoying presence as well.” 

Of course, I didn’t love Laila’s story as much as I did Addie’s. Sure, we learned that her character actually had a lot of depth, but I felt like it was harder to connect with her. The same thing can be said about her romance with a boy named Connor. She was a bit manipulative toward him at first, and their romance felt slightly forced. Of course, as it progressed, I grew into it and started loving them as a couple.

“Once Addie let someone in, she was impossible to forget. There was something about her that crawled inside a person and built a nice comfy home there, her goodness expanding until it filled every limb.” 

Indeed, Addie definitely etched her way into my heart since Pivot Point and stayed there until I finished Split Second. She was just so nice, you know? And oh my Trevor. He and Addie just popped a billion feels in my insides and it felt so tingly. I cried for them, I laughed for them and I just need them together, okay?

Characters and romance aside, we were also given details about how the Paranormal things work, problems that need to be solved and more wit, humor and plain-old entertainment.

If you read and enjoyed book one, you definitely have to check out this satisfying, cute ending to the series. It’s worth it, trust me. We all need Trevor in our lives. I’m totally being serious.

pagebreak

Skulls 3.5

3.5 skulls

pagebreak

Let’s discuss! Have you read this book? If you have, what did you think of it? If you haven’t, will you be picking it up anytime soon?
SIG - Aimee
33 thoughts on “Review: Split Second by Kasie West

  1. It’s a shame that you didn’t connect better with Laila but glad that you still liked her all the same! I really wish there was a 3rd instalment because I’m so not ready to say goodbye to these characters.

    Lovely review, Aimee! <33

    Like

  2. I soooo need to read this! Pivot Point was one of my favorite reads in 2013 and I can’t wait to see what happens next! I actually really liked Laila from book 1 already, so I don’t mind reading from her perspective too! On the other hand we’re going to miss on Trevor time, but, well.. can’t have everything!

    Like

  3. I just borrowed Pivot Point from the library, so I’m glad this one is a great read too! Too bad you couldn’t connect with one of the narrators, though. That always makes the stories drag a bit.
    Great review!
    -Marianne

    Like

  4. I have not read Pivot Point but my cousin absolutely loved it and I’m glad the final book in the series was worth the wait and gave this series a satisfying ending. I love two-book series so I’m definitely going to read this one day so I can get to know Addie and Trevor :) Great review Aimee!

    Like

  5. I have to agree, I thought that Laila’s story wasn’t quite as engaging as Addie’s (although I did really enjoy it eventually as well).
    AND HECK YES TREVOR <3

    Like

  6. I’m also really good at writing reviews and never posting them. Well I’m trying to post them little by little. I heard great things about this series I confess but I need to try it.

    Like

  7. Aww…I’m sorry you didn’t connect with the other heroine as much as you wanted to, but I’m glad you loved most everything else about it! Definitely going to give it a try! Thanks so much for sharing, and, as always, BRILLIANT review Aimee!

    Like

  8. Well, I’m kind of glad I didn’t read this one now-that just sounded terrible xD But I had it out from the library and decide not to read it and now knowing it’s just an average read doesn’t make me feel too bad! You HAVE to be able to connect to the MC to really enjoy the book so that’s kind of sad :/ I do like Trevor though :D

    Like

    1. Aw, it’s definitely still something worth reading! I did connect to the MC, but not at the start like I’d hoped. And Trevor–you need more Trevor in your life! <3

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

