Discussions & Confessions

Discussions & Confessions is a feature at Deadly Darlings where we share a discussion topic as well as a bookish confession.

Discuss

I have two topics I want to discuss today. The first is, what sort of social media do you use to interact with fellow readers? and the second one is, what do you say is “proper etiquette” when blogging/posting/etc?

Not all bloggers have Twitter accounts, Facebook pages for their blogs, Instagram or Pinterest accounts where they can post all the books–so where do you follow them? Goodreads seems to be the best place to do so, but then you won’t get a lot of bookish news, or hauls, or other things.

So I have a little survey and would love it if you guys could answer:

  1. Where do you mostly follow (or friend) your fellow readers and why?
  2. When you follow a blogger on Twitter, do you expect more personal tweets, post/review links or basically other bookish things (bookish news, adaptations, hauls, etc.)?
  3. Now that you’ve said what you expected from these Tweets, what is it that you want to see from them?
  4. For bloggers: How many social networks are you active in, and which ones?

Confess

Let’s get this over with: I suck at social networking.

Like I said before, I think the best place to connect with fellow readers is through Goodreads. But the problem is, when I scroll through my Goodreads feed and find that most of them are ratings without reviews, I skip over them. I like people who express themselves through their reviews, or even just those short commentaries after reading. Those are the things I think are worth commenting on.

Back to the part where I suck at social networking. See, I don’t leave a lot of comments because if I did see an interesting review, chances are it’s of a book I’ve never heard of or know nothing about! Then I get too lazy to comment. Another thing is that I don’t participate well in Goodreads groups. Most of the time I get really bothered when people invite me to groups. I want to join them on my free will, you know? And then if I do, I comment once or twice and never think about that group again!

How about Twitter? It’s the only other platform I use to connect to fellow bloggers and readers. It’s great when there’s something to talk about, but sometimes I get stuck and I’m just such a boring person to talk to.

I don’t even have a Facebook page or Instagram account for book-related things! Color me boring. Any tips on how I can get better at, well, socializing on social networks?

pagebreak

What about you? Are you a friendly person who uses all the social media platforms, or are you a boring book blogger like me, LOL?

SIG - Aimee

43 thoughts on “Discussions & Confessions: Social Networking

  1. Where do you mostly follow (or friend) your fellow readers and why?
    – Mostly twitter but if they have a blog, I use WordPress Reader.

    When you follow a blogger on Twitter, do you expect more personal tweets, post/review links or basically other bookish things (bookish news, adaptations, hauls, etc.)?
    – anything as long as not too much sponsored advertisement or giveaways.

    For bloggers: How many social networks are you active in, and which ones?
    – I use twitter, gplus, facebook and goodreads. I’m active with all those four accounts. :) I’m a social media addict. I recently activated my Instagram account.

    I joined three groups in Goodreads but I’m not that active. “I’m just such a boring person to talk to.” – I guess we’re on the same boat. I feel awkward to talk too. If I tweet someone and they replied, I don’t know how to continue the conversation anymore. Thus, the end of the conversation.

    Like

    1. I’ve been following a lot of blogs through WordPress Reader as well, lately. =) I’m hesitant about making a Facebook page and Instagram account, though. Maybe in the far future.

      Exactly! Keeping up with conversations is just so difficult for me. :/ Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  2. Where do you mostly follow (or friend) your fellow readers and why?
    Mostly through their actual blog and Twitter. Those are my two favourites!

    When you follow a blogger on Twitter, do you expect more personal tweets, post/review links or basically other bookish things (bookish news, adaptations, hauls, etc.)?
    I think it’s good to have a mixture. If people just post links to their posts 24/7, it gets boring. I want to see them interacting with other people!

    For bloggers: How many social networks are you active in, and which ones?
    I use Goodreads, Twitter and Facebook. I’ve heard great things about Pinterest but haven’t yet got an account – I feel like I would use it all the time! I love social media :) Twitter is definitely my favourite platform for all things books.

    Like

    1. “If people just post links to their posts 24/7, it gets boring.” Definitely. I like seeing variety in tweets as well. Twitter seems to be my favorite so far as well!

      Like

  3. Twitter, goodreads, tumblr and bloglovin are my saving glory when it comes to following (stalking) other readers HAHA. But I also have a confession, due to being multi-fandom I have 4 twitter accounts and I am actually confuse where to tweet anymore. ;u; haha

    I like it when readers and authors get to chit chat every now and then, those kind of tweets make me happy (and envious sometimes but thats not trivial anyway). And also, a mixture of personal and bookish tweets :)

    TBH, when I created a twitter acct just for bloggers + authors, it’s so hard to be prim and proper. (ahhh i cannot express it properly) cause I swear the kpop & celebrity fandoms are always in real chaos and full of incoherent (and some funny pervert) tweets. Oooh i just admitted that :o

    But either way, my everyday life has always “social media” on it. I cannot escape. For real!

    PS: I am with you in the “I don’t participate in goodreads group.” I really suck at those. We should create a group for us: Goodreads group bummer. jk jk.

    Great discussion, Aimee!

    Like

    1. Haha! I don’t really have a lot of fandoms aside from the bookish community, so I wouldn’t know how confusing it is! XD Anyway, you don’t have to be prim and proper. Tons of fangirls and fanboys go all insane in social media. =)

      That group would rock. ;)

      Like

  4. I mostly follow fellow readers on Twitter and when I do, it’s because I want to know more about them so you could say I expect more personal tweets- or at least ‘everyday life’ tweets. But I know most people also want to keep their personal life separate so that’s okay. Of course, I also wanna see tweets about what they’re currently reading, how they feel about it, etc. I’m currently active on Twitter, Tumblr, Goodreads and Instagram and of course the blogosphere in general. :)

    I wouldn’t say you suck in social networking, Aimee! You’re always commenting around and I think it’s wonderful you reach out to others that way. I’m part of several GR groups, but like you, I rarely participate. I do know how you feel about being a boring person to talk to- I always have a hard time keeping interesting conversations on Twitter haha! Great discussion!

    Like

    1. I do like seeing what bloggers are up to as well! But sometimes I can’t understand the tweets because I don’t watch a particular show, or I’m not familiar with a band, etc. and it’s kind of sad. :( Haha!

      Aw, thank you! When people reply to my replies on Twitter I’m suddenly speechless, haha! It’s so hard to keep people’s attention. I want people to remember me through our interactions but it’s really hard. :/

      Like

  5. You? Suck at socializing? You? Boring to talk to? What is the gibberish!? You are a lovely person to talk to:)

    Where do you mostly follow (or friend) your fellow readers and why?
    Mainly through their blog and twitter. >.<

    When you follow a blogger on Twitter, do you expect more personal tweets, post/review links or basically other bookish things (bookish news, adaptations, hauls, etc.)?
    Everything, I like to know EVERYTHING. Yes, I'm a stalker. But I feel like I get to know them better via twitter, I guess I want to know more than just their bookish side as well!
    Now that you’ve said what you expected from these Tweets, what is it that you want to see from them?
    I guess just to be social lol. It would be rude if they ignored every tweet where I mentioned them. Probably not advertising their blog every ten mins. I know a few bloggers who used to do that–have this tweetbot that tweeted something every 10 mins. Awfully annoying.
    For bloggers: How many social networks are you active in, and which ones?
    Active in Goodreads, Twitter, Instagram and g-chat

    Like

    1. Aw, thank you Melanie! <3

      Definitely! I love seeing people interact with each other on Twitter, especially if they're discussing a topic I can relate to and intrude in, lol! I don't follow the ones with a billion giveaway entries and blog promotion. It's just kinda sad.

      Thanks for sharing, lovely!

      Like

  6. Whaaat…you don’t suck to talk to! NEVER. (I love your blog, also, just sayin’.) I feel like social media is hard too. I’ve ditched FB because it’s just annoying, but for twitter? I really like connecting to my bloggish friends! My twitter feed is a riot of uselessness at the moment, though, I need to clean up some random people I follow. *sigh* Buuut, aside from blogs, I like talking to people on twitter the best. I’m with you on Goodreads. I mostly chicken out about commenting. I feel shy in groups for some reason! x) What I DO love is when bloggers don’t just leave links to their posts on twitter. Like when they’re just funny and talk about stuff. It’s awesome. :))

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Cait! <3

      Facebook is a difficult platform to get some attention in, as far as I've seen. I don't really want to bother myself with making an FB page for the blog, but that could still change. I do follow a lot of odd people I don't know, so I should do some spring cleaning as well! I do like seeing a post link every now and then, but of course humor is a must, haha! :)

      Like

  7. I will try to answer all of your questions. I am on all social media twitter, facebook , pinterest, instagram, tumbr, Goodreads etc. I try not to spam any of them. On Facebook and Twitter I do share new post of the day a few times since most people don’t see it unless they are on. When I follow someone on any of those sites I do not expect more personal messages at least directed at me unless we have developed a friendship or I am a regular commentor. I interact the most in this order: Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Instagram. As far as what I would like to see- there blog shares only with occasional personal things (person behind the blog)
    I do better with commenting and replying to comments. I like to connect with my readers. I am slowly getting better at random comments about books, feels etc.

    Like

    1. I try to tweet a few times a day too, so other people can see them when they log on. :) I see a lot of personal posts as well, but mostly of things they think other people will be interested in. Maybe I should try out Facebook? :) I hope all this commenting works out for you, Kim!

      Like

  8. The only social media I use often would be Twitter. I have a Facebook and I update it but it is purely an afterthought. I feel that twitter is my best connection to other bloggers/readers and I feel that I am part of the community there which I love. I have pondered using Instagram I just haven’t yet. I update Goodreads and I try to keep it updated…but so many places to update. Sigh. great post!!

    Like

    1. I do try being active on some other social media (like G+) but often forget about it and just let it be. Twitter seems to be the most convenient for me as well! I’m thinking about Instagram as well, but I don’t buy books as often as others do so I don’t think I’ll have a lot to post. .__.

      Like

  9. 1. In Goodreads and on Twitter. In Goodreads, it’s easier to check out their books, while in Twitter, easier to send them a quick message.

    2. I expect a response if I ever send them a personal tweet. I also check out bookish news and reviews.

    3. Personal tweets, reviews, etc.

    4. Facebook and Tumblr to share book reviews, bookish things. Twitter and Goodreads.

    Like

  10. I’m really bad at social networking– especially Twitter. Really, I just use Pinterest and Goodreads (without the groups) to find books and sometimes comment on reviews. And then, of course, there’s my blog and other people’s blogs. As for Twitter, I have an account, and I REALLY want to start using it, but I don’t know how, exactly. Does that make sense? It’s mostly just shyness and not being able to come up with anything to say, though, so I don’t have good excuses. It’s my goal for this Summer to get my act together, so here’s hoping.

    Like

    1. Exactly! I find it hard to start conversations, especially to keep them going! Sometimes I feel like people will stare at my tweets/responses and think, “What the hell is this girl saying?” I really do want to learn to socialize better as well, so good luck to us!

      Like

  11. Awww Aimee, you’re not boring to talk to! You’re actually one of my first blogging friends I met and I love talking to you and reading/commenting on your blog. :)

    Where do you mostly follow (or friend) your fellow readers and why? Goodreads. I do follow some on twitter too, but I honestly hardly use twitter
    When you follow a blogger on Twitter, do you expect more personal tweets, post/review links or basically other bookish things (bookish news, adaptations, hauls, etc.)? Like I said above, I honestly don’t use twitter that much. Mainly because I never know what to tweet. However when I see what other people tweet, I like reading personal fun ones (:
    Now that you’ve said what you expected from these Tweets, what is it that you want to see from them? Basically the same thing
    For bloggers: How many social networks are you active in, and which ones? Only goodreads really /:

    Honestly I’m not good at social networking when it involves blogging. I don’t like twitter. Like at all. I find the interface annoying and I never really know what to say.

    On tumblr though I go crazy and I’m always on it. However it has no connection to blogging in the least and I’m pretty sure nobody from the blogging world knows me on there/I know them. I also use Facebook but it’s mostly for personal relationships with people who I go to school with.

    Interesting discussion post Aimee! (:

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you Larissa! *hugs*

      I do like seeing personal tweets as long as they aren’t boring, haha! And I’m most active in Goodreads as well. I think. =)

      And you’re telling me I’m not a boring person?! XD Honestly, I think you’ll make plenty of friends if you use Twitter more often. Sometimes replying to people scares me and I think they’ll think I’m boring. :/ I don’t have much to say about the interface, lol! It’s kinda like Facebook.

      As for Tumblr, I use it to stalk and not to post, haha! Same here for Facebook. =)

      Like

  12. Where do you mostly follow (or friend) your fellow readers and why?
    >>> Goodreads, Twitter, and Bloglovin. They’re just far easier to manage and monitor! Goodreads I can see their updates and discuss with them instantly; Twitter, well, I’m there all the time haha, and; Bloglovin’ because I have lists for blogs I frequently go to.

    When you follow a blogger on Twitter, do you expect more personal tweets, post/review links or basically other bookish things (bookish news, adaptations, hauls, etc.)?
    >>> Definitely expect more personal tweets. I want to get to know that blogger, that’s why I followed them. If I want to see their reviews, I can simply just go to their sites.

    Now that you’ve said what you expected from these Tweets, what is it that you want to see from them?
    >>> Some, yes. I’ve loved more bloggers even more because I was able to interact with them in a much more deeper level.

    For bloggers: How many social networks are you active in, and which ones?
    >>> Active in Booklikes, Leafmarks, Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Bloglovin!

    Like

    1. I know you’re on Twitter all the time, Faye! XD I see, I see. I do like personal tweets a lot, but I like to see post tweets every now and then so I can check something out if I missed them. :) I should try to be more active in Leafmarks as well!

      Like

  13. Awww Aimee I’m sure you’re not a boring person! I’m actually pretty active on social media because I’m naturally a very social and chatty person. I post a lot about books, my life, gaming and anything else I find interesting. I actually interact with my fellow bookish people the most on Twitter, it’s easy just to reply and be a part of the conversation. Goodreads I’m less active in, I post my reviews on there and visit about 3 groups or so and contribute there. I’m really bad at interacting on people’s feeds there.

    I think your presence on social media comes down to whether you find enjoyment out of it or not. Yes it’s a way to get your blog out there and meet new people, but it’s not absolutely necessary. Out of the posts on Twitter which I prefer, I actually prefer the personal ones or the ones about books in general. Because if I follow you then I’d find your posts through bloglovin.

    Hope that helps Aimee, great discussion post btw!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jeann! I do see you active on social media. :) Twitter is a great place to strike up conversations. I find it difficult to comment on Goodreads as well, although I’m not quite sure why.

      I guess so! If you’re not a really social person, no amount of social media will really make you have fun and interact. I love personal and bookish tweets too!

      Like

  14. Hi Aimee! I’m following you on Twitter and I I don’t know if I’ve ever tried talking to you there hihi because just like you I am a bit boring too :p Anyways I’ll try answering your survey:
    1. Twitter! I think it’s the easiest way to interact with readers and other bloggers, local and international.
    2. Actually I expect them to be just them.
    3. Just like what readers want from their reviews, honesty. :) I also like that book bloggers are really approachable and wouldn’t mind replying to you back. That alone inspires me to do the same too.
    4. Goodreads and Twitter. So 2, I just started blogging so maybe in a few months(hopefully) I’ll manage to have a few likes on Facebook. :D

    I am active in Twitter but sometimes I feel a bit shy talking to other bloggers. And I am also a part of some Goodreads group but I rarely participate. It feels awkward to suddenly join a conversation when it feels like everyone knows everybody already and you don’t, you know what i mean? Lol :)

    Great post!

    Like

    1. You’re definitely not boring, Ella! I love talking to you on Twitter. :)

      I definitely like approachable, fun people as well! Twitter’s the best platform to find these sorts of people, I’d say. :) I hope you reach your Facebook goal! =)

      Like

  15. – Where do you mostly follow (or friend) your fellow readers and why?
    Goodreads or facebook! :) They’re the only social networks I actively use.
    – When you follow a blogger on Twitter, do you expect more personal tweets, post/review links or basically other bookish things (bookish news, adaptations, hauls, etc.)?
    I don’t really use twitter that much. :P And I don’t pay much attention to all tweets. I’m mostly on Facebook, so.
    – Now that you’ve said what you expected from these Tweets, what is it that you want to see from them?
    See previous answer. :P
    – For bloggers: How many social networks are you active in, and which ones? 2, I think. Goodreads and Facebook.

    Like

  16. I really like social media – actually I think I spend too much time on it looking at other people’s updates, but I am pretty bad at commenting and being involved I think. For bloggers I mostly like to follow their reviews and posts through Bloglovin, and for Twitter I think I’m more interested in personal tweets (though I usually put out only post links sadly). Goodreads I hardly use for social media – I just use it to keep track of my book library. I find Goodreads overwhelming – if we could filter the kind of updates we wanted to see than I think that would encourage me to go on there more. For other social networks – Twitter is my main one, but I also like Instagram and Pinterest.

    This is such an interesting topic Aimee! I hope you’ll give us the result of your survey in your next discussion post! :)

    Like

    1. Same here! Stalking is basically what I’m good at. For Goodreads, I filter my feed to book-related things only so I don’t need to be bothered with what other people are commenting on, liking, etc. :)

      Like

  17. I completely understand your situation. On our blog we have an official facebook, google plus and twitter. My coblogger manages the twitter page and she does a great job at it while I mange the other two and I have to say I’m quite horrible at them. I hardly ever have anything to say and I have an even tougher time commenting because IMO those two aren’t as blogger friendly. I prefer twitter for social networking because it’s easy to skim and find interesting stuff to reply to. But when it comes down to it, I like to comment on posts, thats it :)

    Like

    1. Same here! I have a google + page but hardly ever open it. I honestly think it isn’t that useful. Twitter is still my favorite when it comes to talking to people. And commenting, of course!:)

      Like

  18. I suck at social networking too, Aimee! I have both a Twitter and a Facebook page, but I don’t think I ever even look at my FB page because my blog posts automatically synch there. I am pretty active on Twitter though.

    It’s actually through Twitter that I feel like I can get to know bloggers on a more personal level. I’ve made so many friends. And anytime I’m going through a bad day, these bloggers are always there to cheer me up. :)

    Great post!

    Like

    1. Ah, I see! I would be totally lazy to check an FB page if I had one, too. :/ Twitter is a great place to get to know more bloggers. I’ve met a couple of awesome people on there as well. :))

      Like

  19. Ah, you’re definitely not alone, Aimee. I have a hard time switching between all those social medias too, moreover because I also have to take care of my personal accounts one and then the intended-for-reading-blogging-and-fangirling ones. Phew.
    I mostly follow fellow bloggers or readers through their blogs, goodreads and twitter (I find myself wanting to know more about personal life/bookish thingy tweets than blog updates.), and I also use tumblr. Book tumblr-ing is quite fun! ;)
    Don’t worry about not interacting enough through social medias, I think as long as the blog’s contents are interesting and reader-friendly (as in, not hard to comment on, the blogger also likes to reply to comments…), a blog only can also be an excellent ground to interact with other people! :)

    Like

    1. Ah, I do have a personal Facebook and Twitter (which I don’t use often), but I’m more angled to check out social media platforms for blogging. =) I love stalking people on Tumblr, but I myself hardly ever post, ha! Thanks for the tips, Tirta. ;)

      Like

  20. 1. Where do you mostly follow (or friend) your fellow readers and why?

    Twitter! It’s easy to jump in on a conversation, information can be shared quickly with hundreds/thousands of others, you have to be semi-witty to cram in what you want to say in under 140 characters and I can check it easily on my phone.

    2. When you follow a blogger on Twitter, do you expect more personal tweets, post/review links or basically other bookish things (bookish news, adaptations, hauls, etc.)?

    Meh, I don’t really expect anything when I follow someone on Twitter. I’d assume I’d get a mix of anything and everything!

    3. Now that you’ve said what you expected from these Tweets, what is it that you want to see from them?

    The only thing I don’t like to see is someone who only uses Twitter to promote their blog – I like seeing Twitter users who interact with others, who retweet others or who use Twitter to share little updates (both personal and bookish). So I like to see Twitter being used as more than just a platform with which to promote the blogger’s blog, I guess! Haha

    4. For bloggers: How many social networks are you active in, and which ones?

    I’ve set up a few social networks – Pinterest, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads – but I’m really only active on Twitter and Goodreads. I’ve debated closing my Pinterest/Facebook account, since I really don’t use them.

    Like

    1. I hate having to tweet two different tweets just ’cause my message won’t fit in 140 characters, lol! Same thing goes with their PMs–also annoying 140 characters. :/

      The same thing here, basically! I especially love it when they aren’t bothered by people they haven’t interacted with yet before. I get scared to reply to someone for the first time since I think they’ll find it odd, haha!

      I don’t really understand what bloggers do on Pinterest. Post their hauls? Book covers? It’s kind of just meh. :/

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

