Undead Monthly

Undead Monthly is the monthly roundup or summary here at the blog.

First, we’ll list down the highlights of the month, if there are any, as well as some personal life highlights. Then, we’ll have a “featured books” section, where we’ll share our favorite books of the month (one from Aimee and one from Dyan); we also have ourFeatured Heroine feature, which used to have a post on its own, but we’ve decided to add it along here! We’ll also be listing down our reviews of the month and discussion posts for you guys to check out! Lastly, we’ll have a wishlist/to read section for the following month!

Of course, feel free to leave links to your own monthly/weekly summaries and we’ll try to check them out ASAP.

1. Highlights.

• Aimee and Dyan are finally done with 8th grade — wohoo! It was awesome when their report cards were given out this Monday, signaling official the end of the school year.

We changed our blog name to Deadly Darlings! Check out why in this post. We were previously called Read by the Undead, and even before that, The Shadower’s Shelf.

• We’ve started yet another feature called Random Recommendations! It’s where we pick a random genre/topic, a random date, and a random number of awesomeness to recommend! Our first recommendations are Cinder by Marissa Meyer and Of Beast and Beauty by Stacey Jay! Check out are post here.

WE HIT 200 Bloglovin’ followers! Awesome. Thanks guys. ^_^Even if we’re still considered a pretty small blog, this was a pretty big milestone for us.

• There’s a new “Recommendations” section in our sidebar! This will feature our latest 3.5 + star reviews.

2. Featured Books.

Faking Normal

AIMEE’S RECOMMENDATION

Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens (goodreads) | 4 stars | read the review  →

This was such a lovely, heartbreaking and heartwarming story. I adored each character, their strengths, weaknesses and everything about them. Normally, this wouldn’t be something I’d love, but Courtney’s writing style made it so easy for me to connect to the characters. So much feels, guys. If you haven’t read this one and are willing to go through a tear-jerking ride, I highly recommend this one.

—-

All Our Yesterdays (All Our Yesterdays #1)

DYAN’S RECOMMENDATION

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill (goodreads) | 5 stars

My favorite book of the month is All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill. The world it was set in was awesome! The writing, surprisingly, was not confusing at all! The characters were really well-developed — all of them had their distinct traits and personalities. Best of all, the romance between Finn and Em was absolutely lovely.

 

3. Featured Heroine.

Aimee’s featured heroine of the month is Alexi from Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens.

Faking NormalAs stated in her review, Aimee definitely thought that Alexi was wonderful. Despite all of her flaws and the issues she has about herself, she managed to find the strength to finally solve her problem(s).

She was also a very caring person. She took into consideration the feelings, lives and situations of other people before those of her own. She never wanted to hurt anybody, even if that meant living in a dark cave (figuratively, of course).

I also found her character to be realistic. Check out this snippet from my review: “Normally, I have issues about girls not immediately voicing out their abuses, but Alexi’s ways of dealing and reasons for keeping to herself were just so realistic that I didn’t have a problem with her silence.”
4. Reviews.

• The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy, #1) by Marie Rutkoski // 3.5 stars

All That Glows by Ryan Graudin // 4.5 stars

Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas // 3.5 stars

This Side of Salvation by Jeri-Smith Ready // 3 stars

Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens // 4 stars

Above by Leah Bobet // 1.5 stars

• Movie Review: Divergent (novel by Veronica Roth) // 2 stars

5. Discussions.

• Aimee wants to know how you pick books to read.

• We also have that cover discussion you see everywhere.

• How do you feel about being the black sheep?

 

6. In the Future.

Click on the covers to check out these books’ Goodreads pages!

Aimee’s Wishlist (published in April)

There are so many awesome books coming out this April! Here are just some of the ones I’m eagerly awaiting:

To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1) Don't Look Back Rebel Belle

The Geography of You and Me The Summer I Wasn't Me The Break-Up Artist

Future Posts (still planned, unsure)

• Mini Reviews: The Lost Prince + The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

• Review: The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa

• LGBT April reviews. Curious about this? Check out our post!

• Random Recommendations #2

• Discussions & Confessions

pagebreak

That’s it for this month’s wrap-up, guys! Be sure to leave links to your monthly/weekly summaries for us to check out!

SIG - Duo

46 thoughts on “Monthly Recap: March

  1. Congrats on finishing 8th grade! And 200?! WOW you guys are rocking this blogosphere. :) Btw, I’m not even sure I said it, but I do adore the name Deadly Darlings. It’s just…yes. Yes. I love it a lot. XD

    Like

  2. Great wrap up guys! My 8th grade was super awkward but it gets better, I promise! Congrats on your 200 followers too :) I’m looking forward to Don’t Look Back as well. It reminds me of black swan, and that was clearly amazing.

    Like

  3. Congratulations on reaching 200 followers! I think that’s a pretty great number :D

    I also loved both Fakig Normal and All Our Yesterdays! I thought they were both pretty great, though in very different ways. I’m glad you guys enjoyed them as well :)

    Lovely recap <33

    Like

  4. Congrats on finishing eighth grade! I wish school for me would be over already… Sigh. And also congrats on reaching 200 followers! That’s awesome! And I love getting recs so your sidebar widget is pretty awesome. I really really liked All Our Yesterdays so I’m glad to see it as a rec!

    Like

  5. Whoa ,.. you two are in 8th … well, 9th grade? I thought you were older. Congrats on graduating, the real fun begins in high school. ;) You had a great month on the blog too.

    Like

    1. Haha! xD When I used to read and write in Wattpad, a lot of people assumed I was older than them which was kinda creepy. o_o Thanks, Rose! <3 :) You can always be young at heart, haha!

      Like

  6. Yay to be done with 8th grade! Haha that was definitely not an enjoyable time period for me. I always find it interesting when different people around the world end school at different times. I have to wait till June before my school year is done. I’m also a fan of the Random Recommendations feature c: I love becoming aware of new books out there and the fact it’s based on one I already know I adore? Perfect. It’s also neat how you involve the authors.

    It seems like March wasn’t that bad of a book month for both of you! Lots of higher ratings than low anyway c: I hope this trend continues in April. I’m also super excited for Rebel Belle and To all Of the Boys I’ve Loved Before. They seem full of potential, I reeeeally hope they live up to my expectations.

    Like

    1. Haha, thanks! It wasn’t an amazing year, but it was okay. =) Same here! Some of my cousins have to wait until June as well since they’re in international schools. Thank you! :D

      We shall wait for these awesome books together! I hope they’re as amazing as they sound, too! :D

      Like

  7. Congrats on finishing 8th grade! And 200 BL followers is a milestone. I’ve yet to reach that much followers. All Our Yesterdays is definitely an amazing read. Looking forward to more posts from you, guys :D

    Like

  8. Ahhh I’m so happy to see Faking Normal and All Our Yesterdays featured as your favourite reads of the month, I loved those two books so much!! And April definitely has so many amazing books to look forward to! I can’t wait for my copy of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before to arrive, I hope we both end up loving it Aimee! I hope April is another fab reading month for you both!

    Like

  9. Oh my gosh you just finished eighth grade! I feel ancient. Does your age affect your reading material, or does being book bloggers expanded your genres to the more adult range as well? :)

    Congrats on getting 200 followers!!

    Like

  10. Whohoo!!! congrats on the end of a school year ;) and even bigger congrats on 200 followers, yay! Btw, the recommendations? I can’t wait to read either of these. All Our Yesterdays hase been on my tbr forever and Faking Normal? Every single one of my friends adores this book:) and yes! I hav heard that Alexi is portrayed in a very realistic way :)TGoY&M and TAtBILB as well as The Break-Up Artist? Um, GIMMMEEEE!!!! I hope you enjoy, Aimee:) Thanks for the fun recap, girls!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

