Discussions & Confessions

Discussions & Confessions is a feature at Deadly Darlings where we share a discussion topic as well as a bookish confession.

Discuss

What types of covers grab you the most? // What sort of things do you love to see in book covers?

I want to know what your criteria for judging a book cover is. Like, can you say it’s a gorgeous cover just based on the photo/editing/blending of images alone? Or do you judge them based on the cover fonts? Maybe both? Some people even judge entire book jackets, I think.

Or, what sort of covers do you like most? The ones with girls and dresses (don’t be shy–I love those as well), faces, or maybe just typography?

Confess

I am freaking obsessed with stalking graphic designers, whether it be for covers or web design. Today, I would like to share some of my favorite cover styles!

Less is More

The first one is the “less is more” category, or simple covers. These are usually just plain or simple backgrounds with some cute typography thrown in. And of course, the colors have to match the rest of the cover and fit the theme of the novels properly. Some examples are Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas, This Side of Salvation by Jeri Smith-Ready and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

There are also some covers with just wonderful concepts! For example, Matched by Ally Condie has a girl coming out of a gorgeous orb. It fits the story, in a way, and is really eye-catching. Sublime by Christina Lauren has a GORGEOUS cover with a man reaching out to a ghost, and as you can see, his arm is turning rather ghostly as well. The Archived by Victoria Schwab has an eerie feel to the cover, with the dark colors, a pretty key and the fog forming a girl’s face.

Let’s admit it: we all love those pastel and girly covers. They just look so light and happy that you want to pick them up for a few laughs and smiles, right? I especially love the pastel ones–I have a thing for light/fading colors. A few examples are The Ring and the Crown by Melissa de la Cruz, The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder (it’s soooo purrty) and The Art of Lainey by Paula Strokes.

pagebreak

sigAIMEE

What are some of your favorite covers? Or how do you judge covers? Maybe you’d like to share some stuff you’ve made–that would be great!

57 thoughts on “Discussions & Confessions: The One Where I Discuss Covers!

  1. I LOVE ALL THESE COVERS TOO! OOH SO PRETTY! I get so excited about covers that I have to talk in caps hehe. I also love simple and plain covers but I also love ones that are extravagant. Not messy, just awesome. Weirdly enough, I don’t mind when there are pretty girls on the cover. :P To be honest, I’m pretty easy with covers. I can’t really describe it but I don’t like covers that are like ‘clearly self-published’ or the covers they have for AVON Romance. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. I KNOW, RIGHT? :D Don’t worry, caps is good haha! Extravagant ones are really pretty as well, as long as they don’t look so crowded. I love pretty girls on covers as well, lol. I know what you’re trying to say–some covers look like they’ve been made on MS Paint and they really bother me. :( Thanks for stopping by, Laura!

      Like

  2. I LOVE THESE. I think I’m a sucker for all things minimalistic. I love John Green’s covers (like the simple ones, like TFIOS). But I LOVE pretty dresses! I know covers can get a bit of a beating for having headless girls in dresses….buuuut, I like them. The Selection has some of the beautifulest covers. Also, Splintered and Unhinged. Usually I’m not a fan of full faces on covers, but in that case? I adore them.

    Like

    1. TFOIS has a pretty cover, but I’ve been seeing it around so much that I’m getting a bit sick of it, ha! Girls in dresses + fab photography + elegant text = addictive! I totally get all the love for them, but it just bothers me when they’re not in dresses in the books! The Selection has a gorgeoussss cover. I don’t like the Splintered covers so much, but the editing’s really good!

      Like

    1. YA contemporary covers are getting better and better! I can’t wait to see what the 2015 covers will look like, lol! And Splintered had some fab editing, but the red title’s getting on my nerves, haha.

      Like

  3. I am a cover-whore. I admit it. I judge books by their covers. I’ve picked up books that I ended up hating based on their covers and have taken a long time to read books that ended up becoming my favorites because their covers weren’t so eye catching.

    One of my favorite covers is the original aussie paperback version of On the Jellicoe Road (I am willing to exchange my soul for a copy of the book with the original aussie paperback version because goddamn, it’s RARE). I also LOVED the original hardback cover for Unspoken. I love the mass-market-paperback cover for my copy of The Golden Compass and I could go on and on forever (I kind of thought of these off the top of my head :P)

    GREAT POST, Aimee!! :)

    Like

    1. Hooray for cover whores! It may lead to some bad reading experiences, but at least we get some pretty additions to our shelf! ;)

      Oh, I have the hardback for Unspoken–and yep, I picked it up because I loved the back part of the jacket, haha! Thanks, Rashika! :)

      Like

  4. My favorite type of covers are usually the dark and mysterious type :P

    One of my faves would be This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel, I really love the key hole and darkness feel. Another I really like, are the Falling Kingdom covers. The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff. You get the idea. :)

    Like

    1. Yes! They are just so eerie and creepy and I love them! <3

      I haven't seen that version of the book yet but I checked it out and it was creative! Lovely. The Falling Kingdom covers look amazing next to each other! :)

      Like

  5. I love all kinds of covers. :) I just look at it in a whole and if it fits the story. One of my favorite covers are the covers from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, the Selection trilogy by Kiera Cass, the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. =)

    Like

  6. I’ve picked up a book because of its cover a lot of times! :D I agree that The Museum of Intangible Things is just so cute and pretty! :3 My favorite kinds of book covers are the ones that have typography in it and those witch gorgeous colors *___* The Grisha trilogy is a good example and Wither by Lauren DeStefano has eautiful purple hue too!

    Like

    1. It’s one of my favorite covers this year! <3 I really like the Grisha books' covers as well! And yes, of course, I totally love the Chemical Garden Trilogy covers as well! <33

      Like

  7. I love these covers! I know the saying is not to judge a book by a cover, but when I go to the library (every week :P) I head straight to the new YA section and glance through all the books. I usually look more closely at one because of is cover… Oops. I love simple covers with the title really big in a cool font with a symbol from the book swirling behind it, ie. Hunger Games, or Divergent. On the other hand, I really like covers with girls in dresses on the cover. I guess I just like coves if they’re intriguing.
    Great post!

    Like

    1. Judge all you want, I can’t judge you ’cause I do that too, haha! Not a fan of the covers you stated, but I really like big, noticeable titles as well! And girls with dresses! <3 Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  8. I love The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder cover the most. It has this IG feel to it with the lomo texture and card effect. And because I love minimalism and typography, combination of these two is a sure winner to me.

    Like

  9. I love these covers too! I really love all kinds of covers, as long as they’re done well. For example, I love cutesy covers, covers with a focus on typography, really light/pastel covers, really dark covers, et cetera et cetera. I absolutely LOVE covers and I’m not ashamed to admit that I do often judge books by their covers. But come on, some are just so. Dang. Pretty. It’s like they’re yelling at me, “I want to be on your shelf! Imagine how gorgeous it would look!”

    Like

  10. Ooh, all of those covers are so gorgeous! A lot of times I can’t even put to words why I like covers, but I definitely like simple designs, interesting typography, and pretty color palettes. And YESS, an interesting concept can definitely make me fall in love with a cover. Matched is the perfect example of that. It’s so simple but the image does a good job of representing the story abstractly and in a way that’s eye-catching. Great post Aimee!

    Like

  11. For me, it’s a combination of things that makes a cover shine. I can’t really explain it, it’s like a gaint mashup of all the things you mentioned. These covers are all so pretty! I love Fangirl’s cartoony design and the concept covers are definitely very cool. I always enjoy seeing them because they’re so original and imaginative and often represent the book much better than the usual stockphoto + cool font cover.

    Like

  12. I really like covers with artwork on it, so that’s why a lot of MG books belong to my list of favorites covers :) There is just something about drawings that grabs my attention. I also like unique/goofy/different covers, because they look interesting between covers that seems to look the same. Like Sublime! It’s different from other paranormal books and I’d pick it up in the store :)

    Like

    1. I love books with artwork as well, especially if the art doesn’t include humans, ha! Goofy covers are adorable as well–oh dear Sublime is just gorgeous, isn’t it? I’d definitely pick it up as well!

      Like

  13. Honestly I love all of these covers! I still don’t understand why there’s so much hate over girls and dresses – who doesn’t want to run through a forest in a stunning ball gown?? Though my favorite has to be Fangirl – I love the pastel-ish colors, plus the mint and red mix so well together. But The Archived is a close second – it really emphasizes the creepy ghosty aspect of the story. And The Unbound is just as well done!

    Like

    1. I know, right? Covers with girls in dresses are gorgeous! <3 I really love the background color for Fangirl–super pretty. And The Archived just wowed me when I first saw it. :)

      Like

  14. I’ve been pretty sporadic with which covers attract me the most. It all depends on my mood at any given day, to be honest. I’ve had days when I can’t get enough of white covers, and days when I would search far and wide for vintage Penguin covers. It really depends.

    Great post and thanks for visiting my blog. :)

    Like

  15. I totally agree with the less is more, I love the minimal covers with great typography. (I adore Fangirl b/c the art work is Gingerhaze haha). Sublime totally blows me away! I’m usually a sucker for pretty dresses, though I was starting to get a bit sick of them since they seems irrelevant to the story usually, but I definitely been loving the ones where the character actually wears the dress in books (ie. These Broke Stars & The Winner’s Curse).

    Great post, love your choices!

    Like

    1. I didn’t know Gingerhaze, but I checked her out–pretty works! <3 I know, right? Sublime is just gorgeous! I love the pretty dresses as well, but they are getting a bit redundant and are usually not related to the story. Yay for These Broken Stars & The Winner's Curse!

      Like

  16. I totally agree with you! The less is more concept is pretty spot on because if a cover is just full of too many things im put off! Also I’m such a book cover judger, terrible isn’t it? *hides in shame* but unless told otherwise I won’t go near a book with a cover that I don’t find intriguing. And I hate carrying books around with awkward cringe worthy covers on them or have people buy them for me as gifts too. I need good book covers haha! Love this post :)

    Like

    1. Don’t hide, lol! Judging books by their covers is totally normal. I mean, look at me! xD I almost always carry a book around with me, and of course I want they to be pretty, haha! But not all covers can be gorgeous, sadly. It’s all in the content! ^_^

      Like

  17. Covers really do influence me to pick up a certain book over another(: I love ones that have cool typography, that’s professional and pretty agh. I love Fangirl’s cover so much omg, I love art on a cover. I do also admit to liking some of the girls in dresses covers. Sure, they’re definitely overdone. I however adore fashion and sometimes I can even recognize the dress on the cover which is pretty sick. Haha, sometimes I swear that I can stare at covers for hours upon hours [;

    Like

    1. I really want to learn typography, lol! Girls in dresses are usually gorgeous covers. They’re redundant and sometimes irrelevant, but still, pretty! Lol, I don’t know a lot about fashion. xD

      Like

  18. I absolutely love the girly covers, if I see a cover that I can’t stop swooning over, then it doesn’t matter if it’s about a midget wearing a bikini and riding a unicorn, I’ll buy it. Awesome article.

    Like

  19. I love the covers you chose! Simplistic is definitely my favourite but I do love girly and fancy every now and again.

    Great post! <33

    Like

  20. For me, I’d say that it’s gorgeous when it’s not too busy. I do love the covers that you chose. I like artsy kinds, because I’m also a web designer, so I’m so in love with awesome artsy covers. And I LOVE typography so awesome fonts lure me to love books <3

    Like

  21. I like all the covers above for much of the same reasons. I dont really have any sort of specific criteria when it comes to covers. I mean I like pretty font and I hate bad art or photoshopping but besides that I just like what I like no real rhyme or reason to it.

    Like

  22. I love your cover discussion, I think Fangirl is pretty much the most perfect cover ever. One of my other favourites is These Broken Stars as well, it is so beautiful! And yes, I do like the ones of the girls in pretty dresses, even though they end up being generic most of the time. The ones of the Everneath series are beautiful too :)

    Like

    1. Fangirl is pretty beautiful! These Broken Stars is really gorgeous and I can’t wait for the cover of This Shattered World! Wohoo to pretty dresses! <3 I really need to get the Everneath books on my shelf, lol.

      Like

  23. For me, when it’s one of those mixture covers or with people on it’s all down to the editing and blending. I guess it’s kind of the same when you’re talking about your taste in books, it’s all down to that book alone, because not every book is the same, right? Same with covers. I also kind of judge them on if they go right with the book. Basically, I like all different covers, and there’s not many that I hate (except when there’s animal covers.) But damn, the cover for Sublime is gorgeous, and it reminds me of the Spellcaster and Steadfast covers by Claudia Gray and I adore those covers. :)

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    Like

    1. Same here! I like cleanly-cut and cleanly edited cover images. And the text should be pretty and readable of course. Plus it’s really GREAT when the cover has significance to the story! Ah, animals. I’m not an animal person, either haha! Sublime is super gorgeous. I like the Spellcaster covers as well, but not as much as Sublime. ^_^

      Like

  24. For me, the cover has to come together as whole very well for me to love it. It doesn’t have to be perfect, there have been plenty of times where I adore a cover but one thing annoys me, but as a whole I have to go: oooooo, pretty!
    Font is really important to me. It doesn’t necessarily make or break a cover, but it’s definitely one of the big definers. I love looking at pretty fonts. Handwritten, calligraphy, cutesy. JUST PRETTY.
    I don’t really like human covers. Models are too often far different from what is described in the book and this annoys me to no end. I quite like it when the heads of the models are cut off (HAHA). Because then it gives you a nice outfit, but doesn’t try to implant an image of a character in your brain. If the image of the model is small enough though, then it’s okay. My awful eyesight is an asset in those situations. :D
    Colours are also important to me. Like in Fangirl. That teal/green colour is SO PRETTY.
    OH, and overlays. Like sky, or clouds. They always draw me in.
    DRESSES. Give me all the dresses! I am in love with covers with dresses on them. But they have to be pretty. And quite spectacular. There’s no point in having a bring dress on a cover, right?

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

