Featured Heroines

Featured Heroines is a new monthly feature run here at Read by the Undead.

We all know of Swoon Thursdays and Book Boyfriends posts. Featured Heroines is where we can showcase our favorite heroines (show some love to the feminine community!) and why they deserve to be in the Heroine Hall of Fame (okay I don’t know if there’s such a thing, but you get the point). This’ll be a monthly meme. Feel free to make your own Featured Heroine Posts–but please leave a link so I can check it out! :D

For February, my featured heroine has to be Cécile from Danielle L. Jensen’s Stolen Songbird! You can find my review of the novel here.

Featured Heroines--The Heroine

Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy, #1)In my review, I stated that our dear Cécile was fierce, accepting and compassionate. To care for the citizens of Trollus, she accepted her fate and trying to keep people out of trouble. She was prepared for things in all aspects–okay, maybe she wasn’t emotionally prepared for some certain events, but neither was I.

Accepting her fate didn’t mean that she was weak. This made her stronger, even. She tried to fight for her freedom, but not at anyone’s expense. She wanted to keep everyone safe, especially the less fortunate inhabitants of Trollus.

“They aren’t ugly.” I bit my lip, trying to find the right words. “More like beautiful things that have had the misfortune of being broken.”

She found beauty even in the oddest creatures–the Trolls. Kind and caring was what she was. She got along with the Trolls and hung out with them without (much) trouble. She enjoyed their company despite their differences.

Featured Heroines--Interview

** I would like to thank author Danielle L. Jensen for the opportunity to interview out featured heroine Cécile!

Q: Aside from becoming a singer, do you have anything else you wish to pursue in the future (if you get out of Trollus, that is)?
A: I’ve spent my entire life within a day’s ride of where I was raised, and I’d really like to travel to the continent and visit all the places I’ve read about.

Q: Do you feel like wanting to get a divorce, just because you were forced into the wedding. (Of course, you can re-marry this guy just to make it seem like a real wedding, lol.)
A: It’s true that Tristan and I were both forced into marrying each other and it took quite a bit of time for us to move past that, but now I couldn’t imagine leaving him by choice. Not even for half the gold of Trollus ;-)

Q: Unlike most people, you admit whenever you make mistakes and even attempt to fix them. How or why do you?
A: Gran raised us not to let pride get in the way of doing the right thing – including admitting when you’re wrong. Everyone makes mistakes, and no one will like you more for pretending you’re perfect.

Q: Do you believe in equality between humans and Trolls?
A: I certainly do. The challenge, in Trollus and in the rest of the world, is that people who are powerful often feel they are better than everyone else, and they act accordingly. Many of the trolls believe that because they have powerful magic that they are superior to humans, but I think just as many believe that a person’s worth is determined by much more than magic. Those trolls are the ones who will make the change Tristan and I are fighting for possible.

Q: If you were stuck in a town of, say, man-eating monsters instead of Trolls, what would be your escape plan/s?
A: I’d learn as much about them as I could, then I would try to take advantage of their weaknesses. Also, I’m a crack shot with a bow.

Q: How do you feel about some people calling you an “awesome heroine”?
A: You know I blush easily! In all seriousness, I hope I don’t fail everyone. I have so many challenges ahead of me that are in some ways much worse than those I’ve encountered so far. There are times when I wonder how I’m going to make it through to the end, but rest assured, I won’t give up!

Featured Heroines--Promotion

Pre-order a copy of Stolen Songbird and get some signed swag from Danielle L. Jensen! Check out her Facebook page for more information.

 

+ more!

pagebreaksigAIMEE

Have you guys read Stolen Songbird? If not, are you going to pick up a copy once it hits the shelves or pre-order it? I hope you enjoy the novel as much as I did!

17 thoughts on “Charming Darling: Cécile (Featured Heroine)

  1. That’s such a cool interview! Although, it doesn’t make a heap of sense to me yet, because I haven’t read the book! (I want to though….I was a bit dubious, but it’s pitched as like Seraphina, right? I LOVED Seraphina!) I should have snatched up the chance to review this. Dang. Kicking myself now. ;)

    Like

    1. I haven’t read Seraphina yet. D: I really should, but all the hype’s intimidating me! This was actually one of those books that I didn’t expect to like but ended up loving. I hope it’s the same for you, Cait!:D

      Like

    1. Thank you! Cecile is wonderful. <3 Ah, this wasn't part of a tour. :) But I'm pretty sure I came across a post about Tristan somewhere… You might want to check Danielle's Facebook page. :)

      Like

  2. Great interview Aimee! I would have to say, Stolen Songbird is becoming one my most anticipated books so far! I’m very happy that this book does not contain instalove and with a great heroine, it makes being in her head a joy to be in.

    Like

  3. YES!

    I adored this interview, super cool that you got Danielle to do it with. It was especially unique it was done as if Cécile was real.

    I really do love this book, every time I read something about it my heart flutters <33

    Cécile definitely deserves being an featured heroine. In fact, she should be /THE/ featured herione [;

    Like

    1. Danielle was super nice about it and I would love to do more stuff with her in the future!

      I have been obsessed with it, lol! A lot of my recent posts have this book. x.x Thanks, Larissa! :D

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

