Undead Monthly

Undead Monthly is the monthly roundup or summary here at the blog. Instead of the usual (and kinda boring, admit it) way we do our monthly summaries (which was listing down books read and that we want to read), we will using a new method.

First, we’ll list down the highlights of the month, if there are any. Then, we’ll pick a book/s that we really loved that month and recommend it. We’ll also be listing down our reviews of the month for you guys to check out! Lastly, we’ll have a wishlist/to read section for the following month!

Of course, feel free to leave links to your own monthly/weekly summaries and we’ll try to check them out ASAP.

Undead Monthly-Highlights

Aimee started running “Waiting On” Wednesday memes again! In the month of February, she’s featured The Winner’s Curse (review coming soon!), Stitching Snow, Say What You Will and The Girl from the Well.

We posted our first movie review! We reviewed the Vampire Academy movie here.

• Dyan and Aimee finally did a joint review–you can find their joint review of Fates by Lanie Bross here.

• This isn’t really a blog highlight, but Aimee wanted to share a little book haul from the month (which you can all find on her Twitter page):

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink Embedded image permalink Embedded image permalink

• And here are some random review headers of the month:

Banner_After the End Banner_Split Second by Kasie West Banner_Maybe One Day

Undead Monthly-Featurer

Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy, #1)

Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen

the first book in The Malediction Trilogy
published on April 1, 2014 by Strange Chemistry
fantasy |romance

find the author on
Twitter | Goodreads | website

find the book on
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

For those who have loved Seraphina and Graceling comes another truly fabulous fantasy…

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

WHY AIMEE RECOMMENDS IT
“I really, really enjoyed this novel. High fantasy is one of my favorite genres, so it was easy to get into this world and I really loved how everything went. The Trolls were amazing, the heroine was badass and the hero was sweet. Overall, it was a fantastic read and damn that cliffhanger ’cause I need the next book now! You can find my review of Stolen Songbird here.”

Undead Monthly-Reviews

The format of this list is: title and author (with review links) / rating / reviewer.

A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller / 3 zombies / Aimee

Fates (Fates, #1) by Lanie Bross (ARC) / DNF / Aimee & Dyan

The Shadow Society by Marie Rutkoski / 3.5 zombies / Aimee

Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy, #1) by Danielle L. Jensen (ARC) / 4.5 zombies / Aimee

Vampire Academy (movie) / 2 zombies / Aimee

Eve & Adam (Eve & Adam, #1) by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate / 2.5 zombies / Dyan

Cress (Cinder, #3) by Marissa Meyer / 4 zombies / Aimee

After the End (After the End, #1) by Amy Plum (ARC) / 2 zombies / Aimee

Undead Monthly-In the Future

Click on the covers to check out these books’ Goodreads pages!

Review Copies as of Now (that must be read before April)

Heartbeat Talented (Talented Saga, #1)

Aimee’s Wishlist (published in March)

Death Sworn (Death Sworn, #1) Half Bad (Half Life, #1) Nil Ask Again Later

Future Posts (that are planned)

• Stay tuned for our favorite heroine of February + an interview with this heroine!

• Review: The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy, #1) by Marie Rutkoski

• Review: Split Second (Pivot Point, #2) by Kasie West

• DNF Roundup: The Secret Diamond Sisters + Sing Sweet Nightningale

• Discussions & Confessions: All About Books

pagebreak

That’s it for this month’s wrap-up, guys! Be sure to leave links to your monthly/weekly summaries for us to check out!

40 thoughts on “Undead Monthly: February

  1. Your blog is the perfect blend of creepy and adorable and I’m so happy I found it! Just followed you guys on Bloglovin’
    I’m off to read your VA movie review. I love those books so much and after reading some reviews I’m scared to see the movie…
    Jen @ YA Romantics

    Like

  2. I’m very excited about Stolen Songbird! I’m even more excited after reading your review. Thank goodness I got approved for the ARC :) *happy Dance*

    Like

  3. What a pretty haul, I love how you’ve dressed up the books! I’ve wanted to read Vitro for ages ever since Xpresso Reads reviewed it. I’ve just finished Faking Normal and it’s kind of average for me. Enjoy all of your reads, I’ve heard fantastic things about Stolen Songbird!

    Like

    1. Thanks. :D I’m reading Vitro right now and it’s mostly interesting. I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about Faking Normal so I hope I enjoy it! :)

      Like

  4. SUCH a gorgeous haul! I need to read Faking Normal sometime soon. >__<

    I so need to get my hands on Stolen Songbird sometime considering how much you loved it! I'll be reading your VA movie review once I watch it this month sometime once it's released in Australia (why do we always get things so late frammit).

    Like

  5. Haha, I’ve heard nothing but bad things about Fates. I’m glad I let that one pass! It sounds pre-tty horrible. Your wishlist is awesome, though – ASK AGAIN LATER. It’s adorable. There is banter. There is adorable banter. It is AWESOME.
    Ahem.

    And I love your haul! Faking Normal looks quite pretty in person!

    Like

  6. Awesome book haul, Aimee! want a finished copy of Faking Normal! And I want to watch Vampire Academy too- mostly because I’m curious. I wasn’t sure that Stolen Songbird would be my kind of book at first but now, you kinda make me wanna read it! And hey, I’m excited you want to read Ask Again Later (loved that one!) and also that you’re reviewing Split Second! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on both of them! :)

    Like

    1. I hope you enjoy the Vampire Academy movie. ;3 And Stolen Songbird! If you like high fantasy you should definitely check it out. Everyone’s been talking about how adorable Ask Again Later is so I just have to check it out!

      Like

  7. I’m sorry to see that Vampire Academy (the movie) wasn’t a hit with you. I love that series and I was hoping the movie would be good, too. I’ll probably wait until the movie comes out on DVD to watch it then. Lovely wrap up here! :)

    Like

  8. I haven’t watched the movie because I actually have never read the series and it just feels wrong to watch the movie before reading the book. Unless if I have no intention of reading it, I try to avoid that!

    Stolen Songbird has been getting great positive reviews lately and I do like this different twist on trolls! I think I’ll add this on my TBR :)

    Like

  9. Honestly can’t believe it’s already March. Ahhhhh, times truly flies. I can’t wait to read your review for the Winners Curse, there’s so much hype surrounding it so my excitement and nervousness for it is at an all time high. Vitro has such a pretty beachy cover. Sadly I haven’t heard the best things about it though /: KFJRKJEWRJEKRH STOLEN SONGBIRD <33 I still have all of the feels for that book. Haha, clearly we're both in need of the sequel asap.

    Can't wait to see what this blog has in store for March(: I'm so glad I've discovered it and you <33

    Like

    1. The Winner’s Curse… loved that ending! *cliffie alert!!* Vitro’s alright so far. Interesting stuff here and there… STOLEN SONGBIRD FEELS, LARISSA. I actually just asked the author to do an interview with the heroine and just posted it! <3 <3

      Thanks so much, Larissa! <3 :)

      Like

  10. Aww, it looks like y’all had a good February! And a good March to come! I seriously love those review headers. That’s something I want to try to do, but get lazy every time I think about working on them. :) Sad to see only 2 zombies for After the End, since it sounds so cool. I’ll have to go read the review to see why! But I hope you love Death Sworn and Ask Again Later–I really enjoyed both!–and I will definitely be checking out your Winner’s Curse review! :) Happy March y’all!

    Like

  11. Woah…March already! I love those hardbacks! I reviewed Ask Again Later today–cutest thing ever–you need to get it soon!

    Awesome post, lady! <33

    Like

  12. YAY! You got Faking Normal!! :D
    I really hope you love it as much as Faye and I did! :D
    And seriously only one other person I know didn’t love The Stolen Songbird.. :P EVERYONE LOVES IT.
    I IZ A BLACKSHEEP :p
    baaaaaa

    HAPPY READING AIMEE :)

    Like

  13. I loved Faking Normal and Maybe One Day, so I’m glad to see them feature on your February wrap up. I also just finished Ask Again Later, and it was such a cute book! I hope March is full with amazing reads for you! :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

