Vampire Academy

based on the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead;
directed by Mark Waters;
screenplay by Daniel Waters;
starring Zoey Deutch (Rose Hathaway), Lucy Fry (Vasilisa Dragomir) and Danila Kozlovsky (Dimitri Belikov)

movie website | the book | IMDb

MOVIE SYNOPSIS: Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, half human/vampire, guardians of the Moroi, peaceful, mortal vampires living discretely within our world. Her legacy is to protect the Moroi from bloodthirsty, immortal Vampires, the Strigoi. This is her story.

THE BOOK (movies)

Dyan and I are both huge fans of the Vampire Academy series. Richelle Mead is on both of our auto-buy/auto-read lists and we just love how she can write all humorous, sexy and serious scenes really well, while still keeping her characters in character.

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)Both of us gave four stars to the first book in the series, but neither of us wrote a review considering the book’s already pretty out there. But here is one of our favorite scenes in the book that was also good in the movie:

“A ghostly smile flickered across his face. “If you weren’t so psychotic, you’d be fun to hang around.”
“Funny, I feel that way about you too.” He didn’t say anything else, but the smile grew, and he walked away.”

Rose and Christian used to be Dyan’s favorite pairing, but then of course she realized that Rose and Dimitri were meant to be! Still, she and I really liked this scene even in the movie. Rose and Christian were just hilarious together!

THE MOVIE (movies)

Okay, so the other day Dyan and I went out to watch Vampire Academy, which, as we’ve already mentioned, is the first book in one of our favorite series. So of course we had do watch the movie, no matter how much it looked cheap and as if it were some sort of spoof. Here’s my mini review (with a bit of Dyan’s opinions here and there) on the movie (which might contain spoilers):

Dimitri and Rose training with stakes

The movie was hilarious! (In good and bad ways.) So glad we watched it. Although a lot of things really sucked about it, I still appreciate that they tried to keep the story as close to the book as possible.

The main problem I had with the movie was the pacing. Since they did try to cram everything from the book into this movie, everything felt too fast. Of course, that led to some bad acting at times and really confusing scenes (if you haven’t read the book). I was a bit confused sometimes myself, even if I have read (and reread a bit) the book.

Rose, Natalie and Lissa at service

The acting was alright. Rose had good chemistry with her friends (Lissa, Mason *fangirls* and Natalie), but with Dimitri? Just no. They were really stiff and odd around each other. Dyan often cringed when they had scenes together (while I was practically laughing my ass off with how uncomfortable Dyan seemed with the age gap between them–Danila’s 28 and Zoey’s 18, I think). Of course, I may have felt some tingles here and there, but for the most part they were just really awkward together.

Other actors were really good, such as Dominic Sherwood (Christian Ozera), Sarah Hyland (Natalie Dashkov) and Claire Foy (Ms. Karp), whose scenes I really enjoyed watching. It’s usually the insane/weird characters that I end up liking in movies, since I know that the actors worked hard on their roles to achieve the insane-vibe.

my dear Christian Ozera

It’s sad to end this review on a bad note (or two), but I’ll have to mention how much I hated the action scenes with Zoey Deutch (Rose). She was a funny character, at least, but I don’t think she’s cut out for the action scenes. Remember that scene where she punches Mia Rinaldi? Yeah, it looked totally fake. And whenever she was training with Dimitri? *cringe* Another odd thing was the ending, where they show a cave full of strigoi. That doesn’t happen until book three, right? Dyan and I were so confused by that.

Overall, I think you should watch the movie if you’ve read the books and want a little laugh. Or a lot. It depends on if you’ll find the funky-ness of the movie funny or irritating.
Zombie2

pagebreak

THE TRAILER (movies)

pagebreak

sigAIMEE

Let’s discuss! Have you watched the movie? If you have, what did you think of it? If you haven’t, do you plan to and what are your expectations?
32 thoughts on “Movie Review: Vampire Academy

  1. I have not watched this yet! I can’t believe its in showing under my nose! I hadn’t known XD. All of your reasons are valid. And those are also my reasons as to why I don’t want to watch it anymore. The book was the best, its sad to see the movie not do so good. :(

    Like

    1. Lol, Jules! The movie was actually good at cramming all of the details from the book, but I think it could’ve been executed better. It’s good if you’re looking for a laugh. :)

      Like

    1. Lol! A lot of people on the Vampire Academy fanpage on Facebook really enjoyed it though, so you might like it better than I did. :) Yeah, it was sad to see all that chemistry disappear.

      Like

  2. Haha, I’ve heard a lot of not so great stuff about this movie. Think this movie will be perfect when I need a laugh. It’s still pretty sad that this movie doesn’t reach its full potential.

    Like

  3. I’m just not sure if I’ll see this or not. I just read the book for the first time last year and enjoyed it but with the awkward areas in the movie and it feeling rushed…not sure. Might wait until video. Thank you for sharing your review!

    Like

  4. Love this series but when I first saw the trailer I became a little wary with the movie. It looked like a satire or at least they wanted to try and make it funny. Why make it funny? And .. when there is no chemistry between Rose and Dimitry the whole movie seems pointless..
    I guess I still watch it for myself – but I won’t expect so much!

    Like

  5. Hahah I love your review! How you said you appreciated it even on the surface it’s not actually a very good movie. I’ve heard that Dimitri and Rose kind of look awkward and weird with each other, not looking forward to that. Zoey doesn’t seem cut out for action scenes either. But still I look forward to seeing it nonetheless (with low expectations)

    Like

  6. I haven’t seen the movie yet (doesn’t come out til March in Australia) but I don’t really like the casting of Danila as Dimitri. He’s so….OLD. I mean, okay, he’s not that old, but still…compared to Zoey…
    And yeah, the strigoi in caves thing- pretty sure that’s in book three. At the end of book one it’s the evil guy (trying to avoid spoilers here haha) kidnapping Lissa right? I probably need to reread these books lol.

    Like

  7. This isn’t out yet in Australia, and despite the trailer making it seem very American-teen Mean girls-like, I’m still pretty keen. I agree that the chemistry between Danila and Zoey is just off. She’s young and she LOOKS young, whereas he’s old and he looks ancient- wrong on so many levels :( I’m glad that you got a good laugh out of it though! I’ll try not to cringe too hard in the action scenes…

    Like

    1. Zoey looks 16 (she’s 18, I think) and Danila kind of looks like he’s in his early thirties, but I think he’s 28? While they weren’t good together, I liked them as individual actors. :P

      Like

  8. I’ve heard pretty bad reviews of Vampire Academy, which made me so sad. I think I still might see it eventually. I just already had my doubts by looking at the trailers. None of the characters look the way the way that I imagine them, which is a duh, but I’m not really sure how I feel about the guy who’s cast as Dmitri. I’m really trying to give him a chance. I think if I watch the movie with low expectations, then it’ll seem better.

    Like

    1. It was still an okay movie. I think the only movie cast I liked was for Catching Fire. (Everyone seemed perfect for the roles!) Aw, well, I hope you enjoy it, Aly!

      Like

  9. I haven’t had a chance to read the book yet. I was so excited to read it and then watch the movie with my sister, but so many people didn’t like the movie. I’m still excited to read the book, but I think I’ll wait for the movie to come out on DVD before I watch it. Thanks for the movie review =)

    Like

  10. Yeah, Rose and Dimitri were awkward and I find that funny because if you watch behind the scenes the ACTORS have a lot of chemistry, it’s so weird haha. My friend and I were confused about the end too :/

    Like

  11. I haven’t read these books yet, so I think I’ll give the movie a pass since I don’t want it to ruin me for the stories! It’s really too bad the movie was so disappointing though! I thought it looked pretty good from the trailer – I actually thought it would do better at the box office. Great review!

    Like

  12. Hmm, I’ve heard that this one is really disappointing *sigh* Shame that the acting wasn’t that good, I had a bad feeling about this in the first place but I’m glad it was funny :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

