Waiting on Wesnesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine
  • “Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m waiting on…
Stitching Snow

Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis

a standalone
to be published on October 14, 2014 by Hyperion
fantasy | retellings

Goodreads

Princess Snow is missing.

Essie has grown used to being cold. Temperatures on the planet Thanda are always sub-zero, and she fills her days with coding and repairs for the seven loyal drones that run the local mines.

When a mysterious young man named Dane crash-lands near her home, Essie agrees to help the pilot repair his ship. But soon she realizes that Dane’s arrival was far from accidental, and she’s pulled into the heart of a war she’s risked everything to avoid. With the galaxy’s future—and her own—in jeopardy, Essie must choose who to trust in a fiery fight for survival.

pagebreak

whyimwaiting

1. I adore retellings. Although I’m not a huge fan of Snow White, I think that this one will give it a good twist and will pique my interest. It’s kind of like Snow White in a futuristic world–of course I’m in!

2. The cover is gorgeous. I love how the apple is made out of mechanical-looking things, as well as how the author’s name was placed. I would’ve liked it better, though, if a different text effect was used on the cover and if the apple wasn’t purple, but maybe the color has a significance to the story. In that case, I have no problem with it!

What are you waiting on this week?

sigAIMEE

21 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesday: Stitching Snow

  1. I haven’t read too many Snow White retellings now that I think of it… I guess that tales not as popular as some of the others (like Beauty and the Beast. THAT story has a lot of retellings). Still, I want to read this because SCI FI RETELLING.

    I do like that cover and I hope the IRL version is shiny and has those bits raised or something (I do not know the technical terms). It would be even better if all the colour was BRIGHT RED because reasons…

    Like

    1. I haven’t come across any (I think) Snow White retelling yet, so this is pretty exciting. Embossed, I think? Ah I want that too! They would be fun to touch and poke. Totally agree–red would’ve been much better.

      Like

  2. This book looks fantastic! I also love retellings, I find ones done about princesses can be done quite well. The sci-fi angle is quite unique, I can’t wait to see out it turns out. I also love the cover, it’s so simplistic yet complicated :) Thanks for putting this book on my radar.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

