Featured Heroines
Featured Heroines is a new feature run here at Read by the Undead.

We all know of Swoon Thursdays and Book Boyfriends posts. Featured Heroines is where we can showcase our favorite heroines (show some love to the feminine community!) and why they deserve to be in the Heroine Hall of Fame (okay I don’t know if there’s such a thing, but you get the point). This’ll be a monthly meme. Feel free to make your own Featured Heroine Posts–but please leave a link so I can check it out! :D

This month, my girl is Mackenzie Bishop from Victoria Schwab’s The Archvied and The Unbound. You can find my review of book one here, and my ARC review of book two on this post at The Social Potato.

*Most of the good things I’ll be saying about Mac is based on the first book. She was… different (due to many circumstances) in the sequel.

The Archived (The Archived, #1)Mackenzie spends her time hunting for Histories–ghosts with bodies that keep the memories and experiences of the person when they were alive. She sends them back where they belong–to the Archive, where all Histories sleep soundly and are kept as sort of books in a library which can be used whenever needed. When these Histories fight back, Mac’s usually prepared to do whatever it takes to put them back to sleep, even if it means putting up a physical fight.

Aside from being a totally kick-ass character when it came to action, Mac was also a character who we can easily relate to. The emotions that she felt were raw, real and were things that some people really felt in real life. She tried to stay emotionally and mentally strong while keeping up with her physical strength.

“Free caffeine and sugar, a recipe for making friends.”

The Unbound (The Archived, #2)

Mackenzie’s also a pretty witty character. I enjoyed her back-and-forth remarks with her friends, especially the gorgeous Wesley Ayers–but since this is a That’s My Girl post, I won’t be talking about him. This made her seem like a fun friend and sister to have. Too bad I’m stuck here with my little brother.

“Everything is valuable, in its own way. Everything is full of history.”

She also stood by what she believed in and who she cared for. Particularly, she respected and still believed in everything that her dead grandfather had taught her.

Overall, Mac’s character stood out for me this January. Maybe it was because the other novels I read this month were either a miss or just fine novels, but I do believe that I had good reasons to pick her. She was physically, emotionally and mentally strong, plus her wit and beliefs were pretty much bonus points.

sigAIMEE

Runner Up: Nyx Triskelion from Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Who’s your girl this month? Feel free to make your own That’s My Girl post, or just comment your choices below! 

One more thing. If you would be so kind as to answer this form below, to help me improve this feature, please do so. It’ll only take a while. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “That’s My Girl!: Mackenzie Bishop

  1. I love this meme! I know we all love your book boyfriends, but I think the girls in the book world need some love, too! :D
    As you know, I haven’t read these novels and I think I will just have to cave and buy them if I want to read them because they aren’t at my library! D:
    I think Mac sounds like a kickass heroine that I would love to read about; even if she isn’t quite as amazing in the sequel.
    I, personally, always love it when we can relate to a character. Sometimes they are in such fantastical situations and unbelievable worlds that it’s hard to identify with them and their situation. I am happy to know that these books still make Mac relatable.
    I look forward to reading about more of your girls! ^.^

    Like

    1. Thanks Chiara! :D

      Let me know when you love read this one so we can gush about discuss it! And yes. Even if the world and the story are unbelievable, the character must be somewhat relatable or realistic.

      Like

  2. This is such a great idea – I mean I love my book boyfriends, but I love the ladies who put them on their knees just as much! Great pick too – I haven’t read these books, but she sounds like someone I’d like to know!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

