HEADERbookishsurvey

You can check the original post from Jasmine @ Flip That Page here!

So how does it work? Basically, it’s a survey of sorts, where for the first half, I list down the major gods of Olympus, and you answer with the title of a book or the name of a character that relates to the gods’ representation.

Zeus (Jupiter)
God of the Sky and Thunder / King of the Gods

Favorite Book (Series): Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan is my favorite series hands down. His Heroes of Olympus novels are really good too, but it doesn’t really compare to PJO. I’m really into high fantasy, plus all of the humor and wit in these novels caused me to really enjoy them. My favorite book from the series is Battle of the Labyrinth, ’cause it just is.

Poseidon (Neptune)
God of the Seas and Earthquakes

Book that Drowned You in Feels: Champion by Marie Lu (you can read my review here) just killed me. I cried inside and out. The angst was everywhere and it was just so beautiful… Major bonus points for that tear-jerker ending…

Hades (Pluto)
God of the Underworld

Favorite Book with a Dark / Ominous Plot: I loved all of Kendare Blake’s books which all fit in this category. Her Anna books as well as Antigoddess were very dark, graphic, and oh, so lovely. I cannot wait for more creepy books by this author!

Hera (Juno)
Goddess of Marriage and Family

Cutest Fictional Couple: There are much too many for me to pick a favorite, but I’ll go with a couple from a lighter novel. Addie and Trevor from Kasie West’s Pivot Point (my review can be found here) were super cute! I loved every second they spent together–how could I not, when Trevor was the sweetest thing ever? I can’t wait for Split Second. They say Trevor’s even more swoon-worthy there. *wink*

Athena(Minerva)
Goddess of Wisdom, Handicraft and Strategic Warfare

Series with the Best World-building: I’d have to pick either The Archived (my review of book one is here while my review of book two is over at The Social Potato) by Victoria Schwab or the Lunar Chronicles books (my mini reviews here) by Marissa Meyer. Both series had really interesting and unique worlds that would’ve been hard to create, but both authors managed to do so rather beautifully and elegantly.

Aphrodite (Venus)
Goddess of Love and Beauty

Most Beautiful Cover on a 2014 Release: So far, Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge (my review here) has this gorgeously and creatively done cover. The font used was lovely as well. I mean, just look at it:

Cruel Beauty

Ares (Mars)
God of War and Bloodshed

Most Violent Book You’ve Ever Read: My answer for the “Hades” category fit well in this one, too. Kendare Blake’s a very talented horror author.

Hephaestus (Vulcan)
God of Blacksmiths and Fire

Scorching Hot Swoon-worthy Character: It’ll, hands down, be Bones from Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series. This is an adult series and the only adult series that I’ve really, really enjoyed (which I hope changes soon). Bones was definitely hot. And I mean really, really hot. He also had a sense of wit and humor and the books were amazing because he was there.

Artemis (Diana)
Goddess of the Hunt and Virginity

Favorite Kick-Ass Heroine: Allison Sekemoto from Julie Kagawa’s Blood of Eden trilogy (my review of book two is here) is friggin’ kick-ass. She fought big, bad vampires and managed to keep herself and her friends alive and fed, away from the bloodsucking monsters. And she’s Asian, so bonus points!

Phoebus Apollo (Apollo)
God of Light and Healing

Sequel Book that Redeemed Its Series: I usually don’t read sequels if I disliked the first book, but I do have an answer to this one. Gayle Forman’s If I Stay was kind of boring, but its sequel, Where She Went, was absolutely gorgeous and swoon-worthy.

Hermes (Mercury)
Messenger God of Thieves and Commerce

Book with the Best Message: Although I didn’t enjoy the novel itself (and DNFed it, for that matter), Life of Pi by Yann Martel taught me a lot. For example, as long as you are determined and your beliefs are strong, other people’s opinions won’t matter and won’t ever change you.

Hestia (Vesta)
Goddess of the Hearth and Home

Book with the Most Relatable Story: Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen was sort of relatable, since it was about the lives of two young teens. It was also adorable and I could easily slip into the characters’ minds.

Demeter (Ceres)
Goddess of Fertility and Agriculture

Favorite Bookish Setting: The Wonderland in A.G. Howard’s Splintered (my review here) is beautifully and vividly described. I would love a chance to see all of the weird (and possibly disgusting) creatures and spend a day as Alice (okay, maybe not Alice, but you get the point)!

Dionysus (Bacchus)
God of Wine and Celebration

2014 / 2015 Release You Are Most Anticipating: THERE ARE SO MANY AMAZING BOOKS COMING OUT. One of the ones I am most anticipating, of course, is the Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. I am freakishly scared to see this series end, and I do not want to be separated from Percy, but I can’t wait to see how Riordan will end things–obviously, it’ll be with a bang, though.

sigAIMEE

Do you have answers to these categories or agree with my choices? Let’s discuss in the comments section below! 

8 thoughts on “Bookish Survey | Greek Mythology Style

  1. Omg the cover of Cruel Beauty *hyperventilates* it’s absolutely beautiful! I also really like the cover of Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi. Pretty :D

    Looks like I definitely need to read Where She Went. I have seen a lot of reviews saying it’s a good book, but for some reason just haven’t got around to it lol. I thought If I Stay was just an okay book, so hopefully Where She Went redeems the series for me too!

    AHHHHH! So excited for Blood of Olympus. I mean, both excited and kind of dreading it because it’s the last book D: Still, I guess we have his Norse mythology series to look forward to :D

    Like

    1. I know, right! I love the eye designs, color schemes and the fonts of Tahereh’s books, but I’m not sure about the blending of the eyes with the rest of the cover.

      If I Stay was a bit lame. If you want a more memorable Adam and Mia stitched into your memory, you should probably give Where She Went a try. :D

      YES x10000. I cannot wait for anything Rick will write in the future. :D Thanks for sharing, Nara!

      Like

  2. I need to catch up on the Heroes of Olympus series, I haven’t even picked up any of them yet and they are sitting on my bookshelf! Need to read them before I fall too behind on the series. OMG I’m so glad you’ve read The Night Huntress series, how awesome is it? Sad that Up From the Grave is the last one! I’m personally a Vlad girl but you know, Bones isn’t too bad ;)

    Lovely feature!

    Like

    1. The first Heroes of Olympus book was boring, but I assure you the series gets better! :D I loooove the Night Huntress series. I know–I don’t want Cat & Bones’ story to end. :c I also read the Night Prince books, but I guess I loved Night Huntress more because Cat was a much more likable character than… Leila, was it? Or something close to that. Hmm… I think I like Bones more, but both are pretty swoon-worthy. :D

      Like

  3. Hey Aimee! I love the Heroes of Olympus, Percy Jackson & The Olympian series and Greek mythology so this was a great post for myself [; Rick Riordan books will always have a place in my heart, when it all ends I’m also sure to be a wreck. I definitely agree with you about Allison Sekemoto being totally badass, I love her insane fighting skills and how she protects her friends. She’s amazing (: I do think Addie and Trevor are an totally adorable couple but I’d say Anna and Etienne from “Anna and the French Kiss” would be my pick for the Hera category.

    Great post (:

    Like

    1. I don’t know what’ll happen to me with the lack of Percy in my life after Blood of Olympus D:

      Aww! Anna and Etienne are super adorable as well–can’t believe I forgot them. I guess they slipped off my mind since it’s been years since I read that one. :)

      Thanks for sharing, Larissa!:D

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

