Defiance (Defiance, #1)

Defiance by C.J. Redwine

book one in the Defiance Trilogy
published on August 28, 2012 by Balzer + Bray
dystopia | romance | fantasy

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city’s brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls sew dresses, host dinner parties, and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father’s apprentice, Logan–the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same boy who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. But treason against the Commander carries a heavy price, and what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.

At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city’s top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor’s impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

newDEC2013 Review

This was actually a recommendation from my co-blogger and real life friend, Dyan, although I would’ve read it without the peer pressure. It was also for a buddy read with my friend Meg, which is why I was sad to say that I marked this as a DNF read at chapter 44 (of 71, I think).

Why Defiance just wasn’t for me:

  • Rachel’s character was highly inconsistent. For starters, she was introduced to us as a strong, independent girl who wouldn’t fall in love with Logan again. Once he was appointed as her Protector, though, she was once again head-over-heels for the guy, and she had problems with herself regarding this.
  • Logan was in no way swoon-worthy. He was a heartless asshole who thought that he could do anything whenever he wanted to. Too bad for you, Logan, that some people don’t care for bastards like you.
  • The romance was stiff and lame and just plain disturbing. A few chapters before, Rachel and Logan hate each other and/or are avoiding each other. And then suddenly they want to get together and mention how gorgeous the other is… no. There is no chemistry at all.
  • While the summary was very interesting, the story itself was quite alright but executed badly. There was too much melodrama in the book and I just wasn’t all that interested anymore. The writing style didn’t cut it out for me either.

While the story might’ve gotten better after I dropped the book on the floor, I will probably never give this one another try, but I might still read Redwine’s other novels in the future.

SIMILAR TITLES:
Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins [review]
Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini [review]

ZombieDNF

sigAIMEE

Let’s discuss!
Have you read this book? If you have, what did you think of it? If you haven’t, will you be picking it up soon?
10 thoughts on “Mini Review: Defiance by C.J. Redwine

  1. Aww that’s disappointing that you didn’t enjoy this book! I actually didn’t mind it- I gave it 4 stars, which is kind of “I liked it, but it could definitely use some improvement”. I do have to agree about the inconsistency in Rachel’s character and the meh romance, but I still enjoyed the book overall. It seems I have a fairly high tolerance for these sorts of things haha.

    Like

    1. I wish I was like you then, haha! I’m easily irked by these kinds of things. Hopefully next time I can go all of the books I read without rolling my eyes even once. Glad you liked it better than I did, Nara. :)

      Like

  2. Ouch, I’m sorry you disliked it so much you DNF’ed it! I haven’t read this one myself, but I’ve read some reviews of it that aren’t very… positive. I think I’ll avoid this one with what I’ve heard! The romance and Logan just sound horrid, to be honest. Nope, I don’t think this is for me. Lovely review!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Celine, and welcome to YA Midnight Reads. :D (Yes, I stalk Melanie’s blog, lol!)

      It depends on the reader’s tastes, but since I haven’t read any of your reviews yet (and I will once you post!), I can’t really say if you’ll like this one or not. :)

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

