The Collector (Dante Walker, #1)

The Collector by Victoria Scott

the first book in the Dante Walker trilogy
published on April 2, 2013 by Entangled Teen
paranormal | fantasy | romance

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

He makes good girls…bad.

Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple: weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal-opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within ten days.

Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect, he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector…and uncover emotions deeply buried.

newDEC2013 Review

“People change when shit happens.”

Indeed they do, whether it be for the good or the bad. If The Collector taught me anything, it’s that we have to try our best to be good and righteous people before our time in the world’s used up. Although it’s not appropriate for kids, the book has life lessons thrown here and there, but you’ll have to read between the lines!

Now, onto our hero (or villain, I can’t tell), Dante Walker. I get why a lot of people loved Dante’s character–he was funny and had charisma–but I just thought that he was a horrible person (that’s pretty much the point of the book though), even when he tried not to be. He was also a very bipolar character. He’s acting all badass in one chapter, and all lovey-dovey and I’ll save her! in the next.

And then there’s our heroine, the good girl, Charlie. Now, I knew from the beginning that she would be annoying. I mean that the first time I was introduced to her character, I already cringed at everything she did. I pushed on though, waiting to see if her character would have any sort of development. She sadly did not.

I also really did not appreciate the romance, at all. The premise sounded cute: the bad boy would fall for the good girl and would change just to be with her. But boy was I wrong! Everything that even hinted that they would become a couple pissed me off. They did not have any sort of chemistry (for me), and I would’ve liked it more if they were brother and sister rather than boyfriend and girlfriend (in the end).

The sideline characters together with the everyday-life sort of plot was good. Max (a Collector) and Valery (a Liberator) were my favorites! Their romance was much, much better than the relationship between the main characters. They were hilarious and still really cared for each other. There’s also Charlie’s best friends, Blue and Annabelle, were funny characters and I loved how they supported Charlie through all of her decisions, whether they’re stupid or intelligent.

The main storyline was the thing I liked about the novel. I completely fell in love with the idea of Collectors and Liberators roaming around to check out a few good and bad souls. I enjoyed reading about how they came to be, what they do, why they do things and everything related to those. This might be why I’m even considering reading the sequel.

Overall though, I think that certain types of readers will really enjoy this one, but personally it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Who should read it? I would recommend this to people who are into lighter paranormal romances. Fans of The Mortal Instruments series might like this.

Zombie2

sigAIMEE

Let’s discuss!
Have you read this book? If you have, what did you think of it? If you haven’t, will you be reading it anytime soon?
8 thoughts on “Review: The Collector by Victoria Scott

  1. Yes I do want to read this book. It’s been on my TBR list for a while but I’ve never really been trying to look for it because it’s not that high on my priorities. Sucks that this book overall didn’t really do it for you. I absolutely hate it when the girl get’s annoying…just makes it hard to read. Great review! New follower

    Like

    1. I wasn’t originally going to read this, considering the synopsis was a turnoff in itself. But a lot of my favorite reviewers really enjoyed this, and I’m kind of wondering why I didn’t. Thanks for following Francoise! :D

      Like

  2. lol – well, I seem to have like this one a little more than you did. But, totally agree … Max was definitely my favorite character. Even though I like this book, I haven’t felt the urge to pick up the 2nd book yet.

    Like

    1. Good for you then, lol! Max was hilarious. I saw the Liberator at our local bookstore and was going to buy it, but then I went around the whole store and found a lot more that were higher on my to read list. :)

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

