Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

a YA contemporary standalone novel
published on February 26, 2013 by St. Martin’s Griffin
romance | contemporary

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Eleanor is the new girl in town, and with her chaotic family life, her mismatched clothes and unruly red hair, she couldn’t stick out more if she tried.

Park is the boy at the back of the bus. Black T-shirts, headphones, head in a book – he thinks he’s made himself invisible. But not to Eleanor… never to Eleanor.

Slowly, steadily, through late-night conversations and an ever-growing stack of mix tapes, Eleanor and Park fall for each other. They fall in love the way you do the first time, when you’re young, and you feel as if you have nothing and everything to lose.

newDEC2013 Review

The idea/general plot of the book was great and very interesting. Heroines in young adult novels are almost always stereotypically good-looking, but the Eleanor is, well, not. Despite this being a good point about Eleanor’s character, she got a bit annoying as the book went on. Her “recounting” started coming out as whiny, for me. She would go on, and on, and on about the things happening to her, but she did not make any moves to change them or make them better!

In the beginning of the story, though, she was likable, especially when she went through the difficult experiences she’s had to go through, showing that she was tough.

Park is a much better main character compared to Eleanor. I like Park. He was the kind of boy who was sweet enough to help his mother do things without being embarrassed. He was a realistic character: not very swoon-worthy, but kind and caring.

I hated the romance. I flat-out hated it. It was too fast-paced! You could hardly feel the development between the two characters! Park went from “Jesus fuck, sit down” to “I need you” in a span of weeks. Eleanor went from “stupid Asian kid” to “I want to have his babies and give him both my kidneys” and “I want to eat his face” in no time. It was disgusting, really. I was disturbed, to a point.

I really liked Rainbow Rowell’s writing style, though, because no matter how bad the story is, you wouldn’t get bored reading the book. She has a serious way with words and I admire that about her.

Even though I hated most of the novel with a burning passion, I just loved the ending. It was sort of an open ending, but it was an ending that will keep you guessing for, well, forever.

Zombie2

Aimee’s thoughts on Eleanor & Park: I thought the novel was generally entertaining. I did feel a lot of feels, definitely–mostly sadness. I could not fathom how Dyan liked that ending. I cried for ages. Also, have you guys seen this article (I doubt you haven’t)? I really admire Rainbow for how she dealt with the problem. She’s a nice lady, really.

sigDYAN

Let’s discuss! Have you read this book as well? Or are you planning to? Share some of your thoughts!
8 thoughts on “Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I am currently reading this and I have to say I am loving it. I have to disagree about the pacing though. I believe the fast pacing really shows you how alone and isolated both Park and Eleanor were before they met each other. Eleanor was thrown out of her house and left without contact for a year by her own mother, leading to isolation, anger and a lack of self worth. Park just isn’t who his dad wants him to be, and he doesn’t quite fit in with the other kids because of his attitude and his heritage,also leading to isolation. I think both are taking solace in each other and it’s fast paced because they have never had true acceptance like they have with each other. It’s like they were starving and someone took them to a buffet, they eat everything in sight. I think it’s more of a friendship kind of love, thy can’t get enough of having someone there for them. Obviously they still have romantic feelings towards each other, but I think the friendship love is what causes the romantic love. They need each other to get them out of isolation and loneliness and this is where the love comes from. It’s kind of cliche, but still amazing. I don’t know if this is making sense, but I don’t know how else to explain. I love that both are outcasts and not exactly attractive and yet they still find someone to be happy with. I think it’s beautifully written and I’m looking forward to the ending.

    Like

  2. I definitely agree with your review! I could not feel the development and when there was a point where I was supposed to feel the sparks fly, I just couldn’t. I just could not see the fireworks shooting above them. I actually didn’t like the ending, I was really hoping for a better ending…it just didn’t work for me, though I loved the realness that Rowell brought to YA. ^^

    Like

  3. Wow ok first negative review on this book but hey, everyone has different taste. This book has been on my TBR list for a while and I really want to read it. It’s a shame the romance didn’t do it for you as it is the centre of the novel.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

