These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

the first book in the Starbound trilogy
published on December 10, 2013 by Disney Hyperion
fantasy | science fiction | romance

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

newDEC2013 Review

I once pondered about the lack of space opera in my life. I’ve only read one series about a romance set in space and have never watched any series or movie in this genre. Luckily for me, These Broken Stars came out and I had a new baby on my wishlist. I picked it up the day it came out in our country!

I warn you though: If you’re looking for a novel with formula characters, go look elsewhere. In These Broken Stars, you’ll find we have a realistic heroine and a not-so-realistic but swoon-worthy male lead.

Our heroine, Lilac, was quite sassy (in a good way) and stubborn (also in a good way). I loved her in the beginning and in the end of the book. She was okay in the middle, but sometimes I felt like she didn’t deserve to live. I mean, out of the thousands of people in the ship, why did this brat have to be the one to survive? She redeemed herself, though, miraculously.

Tarver was an absolute sweetheart. Even if he was kind of a rock (stiff and unemotional) at first, his caring and kind side showed whenever there was someone in need. He was also very determined, strong and will do anything to keep himself and Lilac alive. Like I said earlier, though, I thought he was a little too perfect of a character. This isn’t unusual in a YA novel, but I thought that he could’ve used a few flaws here and there.

My favorite part of the book was how it started off. The first few chapters gave of a victorian-ish feel to it that I absolutely adored. It was enthralling and drew me into the book. If the book started off a different way, I don’t know if I still would’ve been interested to read it.

The twists in the novel were very, very unbelievable. Though I was biting my nails in anticipation of what’ll happen next, when they did happen, my jaw dropped each time in both annoyance and shock. I did think the twists were unique and well thought of, but they felt odd and as if they belonged in some other book that wasn’t set in space. A paranormal book, maybe.

I really liked the plot and the writing style in general, though. The romance, too. The writing was very elegant and classy, giving way to the eerie yet lovely feeling while reading the book. It also enhanced the plot, making it really seem as if we were on that planet with the characters. Tarver and Lilac were really cute as a couple, but I honestly liked their relationship better when they weren’t together yet–I missed the banters and snarky remarks directed at each other.

Let me end this review with a quote I loved from the book:

“And there it is, against all hope, like the sun peeking out from behind the clouds. The smallest hint of a smile.”

Zombie4

Aimee

Let’s discuss! Have you read this book as well? Or are you planning to? Share some of your thoughts!
13 thoughts on “Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

    1. I did think they were very unique, but I wished they’d been more related to the rest of the story. I would totally love to read more space opera in YA. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  1. I absolutely adored this book! I was a bit surprised with the paranormal bits of it, but I think they worked out well with the rest of the book, and science fiction often has odd stuff like that pop up here and there.
    Great review!
    Also, I absolutely love your blog! Great work!

    Like

  2. That quote is ridiculously sweet. I cannot wait to read it in context.
    I know what you mean about unbelievable characters in YA – especially boys. They are always the perfect blend of badass + caring softie. I really do not think there are any boys like that in the real world. Oh look how jaded I am, haha! But you know what I mean.
    Hmm. I am very interested in learning about these twists that don’t fit into the book! It always irks me when that occurs, so we shall have to see. When I finally get around to reading this book!

    Like

    1. Same here! My friends keep pestering me about why I don’t believe in love, the perfect guy and all that jazz. Tons of other people thought that the “twists” were incorporated well into the story, so it might just be my being weird as I am. :P

      Like

      1. True that lol!
        I hate it when that happens. I would usually just read an ebook if I can’t find a physical copy of a book I want, but sometimes I just want that cover on my shelf! xD

        Like

What's the juice? Spill!

