Title: Starcrossed
Author: Josephine Angelini
Series: Starcrossed, #1
Publisher:
 HarperTeen
Publish Date: May 31, 2011
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal, Romance

Starcrossed (Starcrossed, #1)Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

How do you defy destiny?

Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is—no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood . . . and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.

As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together—and trying to tear them apart.

goodreads Amazon

Review

Once upon a time, girl met boy, and they immediately go at each other’s throats. With all their strength, they each fight the other, trying to overpower each other enough to be able to deliver the final blow, to end the other’s life. After a while, they break the curse that forces them to want to kill each other. In the end, they fell in love. The end.

Well, that pretty much summed up the whole book. I really couldn’t understand what people see/saw in this. We have a cast of the most boring, lifeless characters without any personality whatsoever. The story, while unique, had a truckload of plot holes and lame, kind of annoying, twists.

I really wanted to like this book, but I just couldn’t. I was proud of myself for even finishing it! My rating? 1 bat.

1

linebreak

Title: Supernova
Author: Elizabeth Sharp
Series: standalone
Publisher:
 self-published
Publish Date: October, 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

SupernovaSupernova by Elizabeth Sharp

On Cleo’s first day at St. Aloysius Gonzaga Academy, things get pretty weird pretty fast. After being confronted by a strangely hostile boy, she meets two girls and instantly bonds with them. Before long danger threatens the entire student body, in the form of a soul eating possessor fae. When her brother is savagely beaten and left in a coma, the girls decide to use their fae powers to become superheroes and stop the possessions.

They quickly learn things are a lot more complicated than they had ever imagined. A government plot that had begun when they were infants endangers them all, and a demented former soldier bent on revenge is after them. The line between friend and foe has become so blurry, Cleo has no idea who she can trust. Will their superhero plot help them save the day, or just get them killed?

goodreads Amazon

Review

DNF at 30%

I didn’t find anything particularly bad about the book. It just wasn’t my type of read, sadly. I was really looking forward to this one, but there was just something about it that wasn’t likable… the writing style, maybe? Or maybe it was that I couldn’t connect with the characters?

The book was written from three POVs, all of which I weren’t interested in, to be honest. Each of the three had their own unique abilities. The one that I liked the most was Charlotte, who was kind of relaxed. She still didn’t manage to keep me interested enough to continue reading, though.

A lot of people have given this book 4 and 5 stars, though. I feel like the black sheep again.

DNF

Aimee

9 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Books I Didn’t Enjoy

  1. LOL I felt the exact same way about Starcrossed. It has such a high rating on GR so when I read it I was so confused. Like, am I reading the same book as all those people who raved about it? Even though it made me want to throw it against a wall I think I’ll still finish the rest of the series for the sake of review. It’ll be a…painful process, to say the least.

    Like

  2. OMFG STARCROSSED WAS HORRENDOUS. The writing was just so ridiculously terrible. The plot was crappy (I want to use a stronger word here, but I’ll censor myself haha). I am SERIOUSLY proud that you finished it. I just couldn’t do it.

    Like

  3. Bahaha for Starcrossed. You still have to congratulate yourself for managing to give it a 1 star rating. If it was me, I would have gladly given it zero stars.

    And don’t be sad about being the black sheep. We always get to be one at some point. At least you’re honest. Hahaha. BTW, I never for once DNFed a book no matter how shitty it is. Kudos to you for not taking the masochistic path. Bahahaha.

    Thanks for stopping by Thoughts and Pens.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

