Scarlet (Scarlet #1)
image from Goodreads

Title: Scarlet
Author: A.C. Gaughen
Series: Scarlet, #1
Publisher: Walker Childrens
Publish Date: February 14, 2012
Genres: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Romance, Retellings

Many readers know the tale of Robin Hood, but they will be swept away by this new version full of action, secrets, and romance.

Posing as one of Robin Hood’s thieves to avoid the wrath of the evil Thief Taker Lord Gisbourne, Scarlet has kept her identity secret from all of Nottinghamshire. Only the Hood and his band know the truth: the agile thief posing as a whip of a boy is actually a fearless young woman with a secret past. Helping the people of Nottingham outwit the corrupt Sheriff of Nottingham could cost Scarlet her life as Gisbourne closes in.

It’s only her fierce loyalty to Robin—whose quick smiles and sharp temper have the rare power to unsettle her—that keeps Scarlet going and makes this fight worth dying for.

goodreads Amazon

Review

“I know what it’s like when you can’t get no one to listen to you. When what you say don’t matter. I half think every girl knows what it’s like to be silenced.”

Will Scarlet’s actually a girl.

To escape her past, Scarlet joined Robin and his band and became a thief who stole from the wealthy to help the poor. Of course, no one but the band knows about her secret.

It took a while to get into Miss Gaughen’s writing style, since the story was written in kind of an old English manner, but the story was fairly enjoyable once you get past that. The world building was decent; the general plot was entertaining and the scenes all left me wanting more! This is one of those books that I couldn’t stop reading no matter how annoying some of the characters got.

I liked Scarlet and the other characters as individuals. I thought Scarlet had a lot of personality, wit and strength. There were times, though, where she flirted and led the guys on, which irritated me to no end. That aside, I love how she cares for everyone and is very kind to those in need. Robin was sweet, caring and so adorable! He also played the role of the leader very well. John Little was, although annoying, very charismatic and playful. Much was just an okay character for me. I think there was something lacking in him, but I couldn’t pinpoint what it is.

Like I said–I liked the characters as individuals. This meant that I didn’t really appreciate the romance. It was, sadly, a love triangle. At first, Scarlet kind of got together with John Little, who was the player of this story. As the end drew near, she and Robin confessed their love for each other. I thought the romance was odd and unrealistic. Before the whole thing with John Little, I rooted completely for Scarlet and Robin. After that, I just got pissed off.

The irritating romance aside, the non-romantic plot was interesting and quite enthralling. My eyes were glued to the pages (rather, my cell phone screen) and I read until morning came. There was a fair amount of action, politics and other things that were balanced well throughout the story.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book despite the problems I had with it. I’ll now wait impatiently for the sequel!

3

View this review on Goodreads.

signature

5 thoughts on “Review: Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

  1. I finished Scarlet yesterday + LOVED IT! I agree with everything you said/wrote (I never know which to say/write) except the romance. I did hate the John-Scarlet couple bc John was stupid and so sure of himself…he was just really annoying. I did like the Robin-Scarlet tho. It was a bit sudden, and I saw it coming big time, but it was still sweet.
    Good review and I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!

    (BTW, I found you on Teen Bloggers through GR.)

    Like

    1. I do like Scarlet and Robin as a couple, but I felt that they could’ve shown a little more affection for each other before they confessed and before the life/death situations. Robin’s a real sweetheart, though! Glad you enjoyed this one. :)

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

