Title: Champion
Author: Marie Lu
Series: Legend, #3
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Publish Date: November 5, 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance, Science Fiction

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has.

goodreads Amazon

Review

Amazeballs (adj.): Better than both amazing and balls. Something of epic proportions. -curlyallison, Urban Dictionary

Well then. That’s a pretty good way to describe this book! I mean, this is what you really call an ending. A lot of our questions from the previous books were answered, and answered well. Although the ending was not quite what I was expecting, it was great, and I couldn’t be more satisfied with how it ended.

“Sometimes, the sun sets earlier. Days don’t last forever, you know. But I’ll fight as hard as I can. I can promise you that.”

If John Green makes you cry rivers with his books, Champion will make you cry out an entire ocean. Hell, I even had to make a new shelf for this one. My shelf flooding-my-room-with-tears wasn’t enough! It had to be tearing-up-an-ocean.

The writing was superb. Unlike some other series/trilogies out there, Marie Lu’s writing didn’t lose its quality and remained enticing, enthralling and enchanting. Originally, I had planned to read the first half of the book as an ebook so that I could buy a physical copy and read the last half there. Obviously, I couldn’t stop reading and finished the book in a day! It was thatengrossing.

The characters have developed so well! While in Prodigy, I still felt little irritation towards both Day and June, I completely loved them in Champion. They did what they had to do, for the ones they love and care about. We also have Tess, who I just despised in the previous books, who seriously grew on me toward the end. Other characters were also very entertaining to read about. (Especially Pascao. I love that guy.)

“He loves you, really he does. He’d love you even if it destroyed him. He matches you.”

Aside from being good individual characters, Day and June were just so lovable as a couple. I felt for them; I wanted them to be happy; I wanted to kill everyone who was in the way of their relationship.

Just because the romance was amazing, doesn’t mean that I didn’t notice the other aspects in this book. The political issues and such were informative, yet they were far from boring to read about. There was some action every now and then, whether it be on the ground or in the sky. There were also scenes where they showed their love and respect for their families, which some authors forget about because they focus so much on the romance–but Marie Lu definitely made family a big part of her trilogy.

Overall, the Legend trilogy (Champion in particular) is one that you definitely shouldn’t pass up! I definitely considered this book to be in the top 3 of my favorite reads this year.

Other reviews in the series:
Legend (book #1)
Prodigy (book #2)

5
signature

8 thoughts on “Review: Champion by Marie Lu

  1. I NEED THIS BOOK NOW. So, now that I have that out of my system, I can tell you that your review made me want to rush out of my house and go to Barnes and Noble right now to by Champion (I’m not even sure if they’re open this time of night). I have so many books stacked up on Netgalley right now, that I’m afraid that I won’t be able to read Champion until after Christmas. *sobbing*

    Like

    1. Same here! I didn’t even realize how many I’ve requested until they were approved.. I hope you enjoy whatever you’re reading! :)

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

