Titles: Cinder and Scarlet
Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: Lunar Chronicles, #1-2
Publisher:
 Feiwel and Friends
Publish Dates: January 3, 2012 (Cinder); February 5. 2013 (Scarlet)
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Retellings

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)Cinder (Book One)

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

 

goodreads Amazon

Scarlet (Book Two)Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2)

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

goodreads Amazon

{Mini Reviews}

Cinder and Scarlet were both really good books! I highly enjoyed Marissa Meyer’s writing style and talent for storytelling. I gave them both four stars, simply because I enjoyed them both so much (and couldn’t put them down), but they each had their own very minor flaws.

Cinder was very engaging. I really loved Cinder and her story. The pacing was slow, but the story was interesting enough that you wouldn’t mind it. Each character had their own personalities and they were all interesting to read about. I grew attached to them, and I needed the second book as soon as I finished this one.

The world-building was fantastic. There were so many elements (science fiction and fantasy) that held my interest and wouldn’t let it go. Normally, I wouldn’t bother with facts in books, but I loved learning about the Commonwealth, the Lunars and the cyborgs. Plus, the romance was paced well and I loved it. I think it’s the pacing that wouldn’t let me give this book 5 stars, but I still really enjoyed it.

Scarlet had a bit of a faster pace than Cinder, to the point that the romance felt like insta-love to me, hence the 4 stars rather than 5. Scarlet was a good character. She and Wolf were interesting characters and I look forward to reading more about them.

There was a lot of kick-ass action, and it was great that we still had some chapters with Cinder, Kai, as well as a new character, Thorne. Thorne was actually the most fun character in the series so far. He was quirky, easy-going and my kind of guy. Both stories of Cinder and Scarlet in this book interested me, and I kept reading until one in the morning (when I should be watching reruns of America’s Next Top Model) and I seriously cannot wait for the other books in the series!

{The Gist}

I loved the plot, the world-building and the characters. The Lunar Chronicles series is definitely one you should not pass up!
4 stars

signature

16 thoughts on “Review: Cinder + Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

    1. I couldn’t at first, either. I started book one in February, read one chapter then quit. After giving in to peer pressure, I tried again and actually liked it the second time around. :)

      Like

    1. I can’t wait either! Cinder and Scarlet look great together, I’m so excited to see the covers for Cress and Winter. :)

      Like

  1. Lovely review! I need to check out these books right now. Though probably I cannot find them in my town ._. I don’t really like slow paced books but the idea of cyborg and fairy tale retellings really interest me :)

    Like

    1. A lot of books can’t be found here, too, which is why I have a lot of eBooks, lol. I didn’t really mind the pacing because the book was really interesting. :)

      Like

    1. You definitely should! I was actually hesitant to read Cinder and put it on hold for months! Once I actually got into it, though, I couldn’t stop reading. Tell me how it goes for you!:)

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

