Title: The Book of Broken Hearts
Author:
Sarah Ockler
Series:
N/A
Publisher:
 Simon Pulse
Publish Date:
 May 21, 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Jude has learned a lot from her older sisters, but the most important thing is this: The Vargas brothers are notorious heartbreakers. She’s seen the tears and disasters that dating a Vargas boy can cause, and she swore an oath—with candles and a contract and everything—to never have anything to do with one.

Now Jude is the only sister still living at home, and she’s spending the summer helping her ailing father restore his vintage motorcycle—which means hiring a mechanic to help out. Is it Jude’s fault he happens to be cute? And surprisingly sweet? And a Vargas?

Jude tells herself it’s strictly bike business with Emilio. Her sisters will never find out, and Jude can spot those flirty little Vargas tricks a mile away—no way would she fall for them. But Jude’s defenses are crumbling, and if history is destined to repeat itself, she’s speeding toward some serious heartbreak…unless her sisters were wrong?

Jude may have taken an oath, but she’s beginning to think that when it comes to love, some promises might be worth breaking.

goodreads Amazon

general thoughts

At first, I was prepared to give this book 4.5 stars, but when I actually thought about it (and compared it to Perfect Chemistry, which I loved), I realized that this book deserved 5 stars from me.

Even Barney approves!

I usually don’t give 5-star ratings to contemporary novels, because they’re missing the spark in fantasy and science fiction books, but really, I’m just a simple girl. Give me two lovable main characters, a little angst/teary scenes in the book, a satisfying ending, and I’m a happy camper!

Jude’s father is suffering from Alzheimer’s. Wanting to spend more time with him, Jude spends her entire summer trying to revive her father’s motorcycle. They hire Emilio Vargas–a boy from the family she and her sisters have sworn not to get involved with.

I could honestly say that this was a very typical love story, but the relationship between Jude and Emilio worked out so well. It definitely helped that Emilio was a bad boy in the flirty way, rather than the jerk-y way.

I did not have a problem with any of the characters (score!). Each character connected with the other, and everything just sort of clicked for me. I was not once frustrated, and that was great. (Okay, now I’m considering downgrading my Perfect Chemistry 5-star rating.) The sisters (Lourdes, Araceli and Mariposa) each had their own personalities, which was great. Siblings are usually very different from each other.

Jude was a great main character. I loved that she considered her family’s thoughts and feelings before doing something. She weighed her options, chose family over friends, something most teens won’t even consider.

I loved the pacing and Ockler’s writing style. Everything flowed together really well, and I’m just very happy that this was my first Sarah Ockler book, and it didn’t disappoint.

5 stars

This book was my first 5-star rating for the blog! I hope there are more 5-star books to come my way!

Did you guys read this book? What did you think? If you haven’t read it yet, do you want to?
signature

5 thoughts on “Review: The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler

  1. I didn’t know she’d released a new book! I’m going to add this one to my GR.

    I’ve been meaning to read Twenty Boy Summer, but I’ve never gotten around to it! I think I’ll read it next since I don’t have this one lol

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

