Title: How My Summer Went Up in Flames
Author:
Jennifer Salvato Doktorski
Series:
stand-alone
Publisher:
 Simon Pulse
Publish Date:
 May 7, 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Road Trip, Roamance

Rosie’s always been impulsive. She didn’t intend to set her cheating ex-boyfriend’s car on fire. And she never thought her attempts to make amends could be considered stalking. So when she’s served with a temporary restraining order on the first day of summer vacation, she’s heartbroken—and furious.

To put distance between Rosie and her ex, Rosie’s parents send her on a cross-country road trip with responsible, reliable neighbor Matty and his two friends. Forget freedom of the road, Rosie wants to hitchhike home and win back her ex. But her determination starts to dwindle with each passing mile. Because Rosie’s spark of anger? It may have just ignited a romance with someone new…

goodreads Amazon

general thoughts

If you’re looking for a book about a girl getting her ex-boyfriend back, or a girl finding a new boyfriend, this isn’t the book for you. Well, there is some of that, but this book has so much more!

After Rosie set her boyfriend’s stuff (and car) on fire, she’s forced to join three boys on a road trip. These boys each have their own personalities, and it was great that Rosie spent time with each of them, instead of just obsessing over the supposedly hot one.

Rosie’s character definitely screams teenager! She’s attracted to all the hot guys she sees, but I wished she didn’t flirt with them all. She’s also very sensitive and witty and overall a very easy character to get along with. She definitely grew over the course of the story. By the end of the story, I was sad to finally part with her character.

We have our three boys–Matty, Spencer and Logan. They’re all really witty and funny, but of course everyone wants to pick a favorite! Mine would be Matty, the sweet, caring best friend. Second would be Spencer, the witty nerd that spits out random facts every once in a while. And Logan does not belong on my list of book boyfriends. The bipolar-jerk-who-becomes-sweet-in-the-end is always the character that ends up destroying my brain cells.

I’m a sucker for road trip stories, and the places they went to sounded really awesome. It made me wish that I lived in America.

I loved how open the ending was. This means that I can continue daydreaming about Rosie and Matty’s future kids and Logan’s never in the picture. You get to really think about how Rosie’s decisions are smart ones. It’s great that she doesn’t close her doors to anyone, but she wants to kind of build a solid relationship with the guys before doing anything stupid.

4 stars

What are your thoughts on the book? If you haven’t read the book, are you excited to read it?

signature

8 thoughts on “Review: How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

  1. I’ve been really excited about this one as road trip books are right up my ally! Also the tidbit about setting her boyfriends car on fire is bad but hilarious. Great review, I’m looking forward to reading this one :)

    -Mari @ The Sirenic Codex

    Like

  2. “After Rosie set her boyfriend’s stuff (and car) on fire, she’s forced to join three boys on a road trip. ” SOLD! Not to mention, somehow I am thinking about Harems right now…like my favorite manga Ouran. XD I really, really want to read this! I was waiting for it to get released, now my pile is *this* big so I can’t get it. DX

    BTW where do you live? (sorry for the random question!)
    P.S. I’m now a new follower your blog! I love the format of your review and your writing! :D

    Like

    1. I have not yet read any manga (does Maximum Ride count? lol) but I used to love watching anime!.. back when we had cable in the living room. You should definitely check this book out! :)

      I live in the Philippines. ;)
      Thanks so much for stopping by and following :D

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

