Title: Let the Sky Fall
Author:
Shannon Messenger
Series:
Let the Sky Fall, #1
Publisher:
 Simon Pulse
Publish Date:
 March 5, 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Mythology

Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim—the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them—but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.

goodreads Amazon

general thoughts

I have a lot of mixed feelings about this book. I had no general reaction while reading. I didn’t hate it, but I wasn’t that interested while reading.

The story is told from two perspectives: Vane’s and Audra’s. They were both okay characters. There were times when Vane would come out as a funny (in a perverted way) character, but sometimes he got on my nerves. At first, I thought Audra was a pretty badass heroine (my favorite kind!) but somewhere in the middle she started getting kind of mush-y and lost most of my respect for her.

It was a fast paced (too fast?) plot. I didn’t like how Vane trusted Audra too easily and very quickly. I wasn’t a fan of the pacing in terms of the romance. Again, we have a case of insta-love. It takes them a couple of hundred pages before they say they love each other, but technically, it’s only been a few days. I would’ve appreciated the story more if there was no romance (*cringe!*). I’ve been saying that for my past reads (Reboot, Shadow and Bone) and I have no idea what’s happening to me.

The story was so focused on Vane and Audra that we learn nothing about the secondary characters. I thought Vane’s best friend, Isaac, was pretty funny and hopefully there’ll be more of him and the other characters in the future books.

I loved learning about the sylphs and their powers. You can learn so much about the wind and mythology, but there are also some life lessons thrown around here and there. There was so much to learn and hopefully there’s more in the next book.

discussion

This is the part where I spoil the book! Only read on if you’ve already read it! This part is also really incoherent because it’ll basically be me ranting and raving.

We begin with Vane and his virgin lips. It’s fairly typical to have female main characters who’ve never been kissed, and it’s even weirder that Vane’s a guy. He has a valid reason, I guess, but still.

Breakthroughs were not explained much, but we get the basic picture. I wished Audra would’ve explained more of it. And Vane’s first breakthrough? I can’t even imagine someone being in my… consciousness?

We learn that Westerlies are the most beautiful of their kind. I’m not happy with this. I’ve had enough of the dominant species thing.

I want to know more about Solana. I mean, they mentioned her and now I’m interested to know more. Hopefully she’ll appear in the next books.

COVER ART

This cover is gorgeous. I love the orange shade, and the way the title’s positioned. The way the models are holding each other make them look like they’re very awkward around each other and it’s bothering me a bit.

The author’s name has no shadow (I think) while the title does, so it’s a bit unbalanced.2 and a half stars

What are your thoughts on the book? If you haven’t read the book, what are your thoughts on the cover? Are you excited to read it?

signature

6 thoughts on “Review: Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

  1. I totally agree with you (not about this book because I haven’t read it) but about the fact that I wish authors wouldn’t throw half-hearted romance into a book. If the romance isn’t well written and compelling, then I’d rather there not be one!

    Thanks so much for stopping by! Jen @ YA Romantics

    Like

  2. I see you didn’t like this one much. I was really excited for this book… the cover and the summary were really cool. I remember starting it and reading a few pages but… nothing. I can’t be bothered to remember anything even if someone is holding a gun to my head. And if the case of the insta-love is that severe, I’m gonna skip this one altogether.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

