Title: Second Chance Summer
Author:
Morgan Matson
Series:
standalone
Publisher:
 Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
Publish Date:
May 8, 2012
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.


general thoughts

Guess what I’ve been doing for the past thirty minutes?

Swimming in my own tears.

And now I’m writing this review, drinking a glass of milk, realizing how many things this book taught me.

In this book, Taylor’s father is suffering from pancreatic cancer, and they want to spend his last summer up in their beach house, where Taylor left her best friend (Lucy) and boyfriend (Henry) when she was twelve.

What’s great is that the book isn’t all about Taylor. We have bits and pieces of everyone’s lives, whether or not they’re main characters. Each character’s story taught me a lesson, and I’m really glad Morgan Matson wrote this book (because, honestly, I’ll read anything by her).

Every character developed so much throughout the course of the book, and after reading it, I was just really sad close the book and put it back on my shelf, and will not read about the characters again. (Speaking of missing characters, Amy and Roger from Morgan’s debut novel made a mini appearance!)

Every relationship in this story progressed and grew. I love how Taylor was able to tell her father that she loved him before he passed away. I love how she grew closer to her siblings over the course of the story.

The love interest here is Henry. *dreamy sigh* Henry and Taylor are childhood sweethearts. I really love how Henry’s so accepting of Taylor and how he just cares for everybody.

All of the couples in this novel (there are quite a lot) are all very cute and I just can’t stop fangirling over all of the boys them!

My only dislike of the book was how Taylor thought lowly of herself, and how she hurt people, thinking it’s for the best, without considering how they would take it.

The book was well-written and there was just so much emotion in every page. I was bawling my eyes out by the end of the book.

4 stars

signature

3 thoughts on “Review: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

  1. This book sounds so good! I haven’t read Matson’s other book, but I’ve got them both on my TBR list. Knowing this one is so emotionally impactful makes me want to read it even more! Great review. :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

