review

Title: The Eternity Cure
Author:
Julie Kagawa
Series:
Blood of Eden, #2
Publisher:
Harlequin Teen
Publish Date:
April 30, 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Dystopia, Paranormal Romance

Allison Sekemoto has vowed to rescue her creator, Kanin, who is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic vampire Sarren. The call of blood leads her back to the beginning—New Covington and the Fringe, and a vampire prince who wants her dead yet may become her wary ally.

Even as Allie faces shocking revelations and heartbreak like she’s never known, a new strain of the Red Lung virus that decimated humanity is rising to threaten human and vampire alike.


 photo generalthoughts_zps43654e44.png

First of all, this is one of those books where I actually like the new cover. It’s really simple yet very eye-catching and elegant.

my reaction towards the overall book

This book had plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing, although some were kind of predictable, you’d still want to read on to make sure you’ve guessed everything right!

Our characters, Allie and Zeke, have developed so much in this book. Zeke was being his usual selfless self, while Allie became even more of a badass.

If you’ve read the first and want to know what happens to our characters, you better read this one. Now.

 photo detailedreview_zpsc8e80656.png

So this part of the review is sort of like a discussion where I rant/rave about specific parts of the novel, so only read on if you’ve finished this novel.

I basically liked the whole book, so if you’ve read and loved it, rave with me!

We start off with Allie looking for Kanin, her Sire. She sort of senses him through their blood tie and goes to save him from Sarren. But she comes across Jackal, instead. Jackal, her blood brother. I love him. He’s hilarious, witty and very entertaining. I love all of the scenes with him in them. I would list down all of his funny lines (I bookmarked them on my eBook), but I’ll look like an obsessed fangirl. Which I totally am am not.

“Now are we going to head into the city, or were you planning to hold hands with these cannibals and have a sing-along?”

They need to pass through the underground tunnels to get to Kanin, and they seek out the leader of the guys living underground (which is everyone who hasn’t turned into a bleeder). And they reunite with Zeke, Allie’s love interest. Ah, Zeke is so dreamy. I didn’t like him that much in the first book, but I really love him now. Like, really. I would list down his swoon-worthy quotes, too, but they’re wayyyy too long.

“It wasn’t home without you.”

I might just die swooning.

Kanin gets poisoned and Zeke gets sick, which totally sucks. Really, Julie Kagawa? Torture them both? Great, thanks a lot. You’re doing my heart a huge favor, ripping it apart like that.

Sarren nearly defeats Kanin and Allie, but Jackal comes to the rescue! Yay! I just might marry that guy.

The ending is what bothered me, which is why the book wasn’t a complete five stars. It was a cliche way to end it, a not-so-awesome cliffhanger. So Sarren kidnaps Zeke and pretends to kill him. But of course, I’m totally excited for the next book! If Zeke dies, I may have to find Allie and stake her for not saving him.

4 and a half stars signature

6 thoughts on “Review: The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

What's the juice? Spill!

