Top Ten Tuesdaythis meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s theme: Light, fun, easy reads! I’m not really a fan of light reads, so these are probably not my favorite books. I like my books with a hint of angst. I love it when books manage to make me cry, but I still need a good old fashioned happy ending. *No particular order.

1. Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1) by Stephanie Perkins – I love the humor in this story. Every character has his/her own great qualities and each character can make you laugh. I cried a bit in this one, but most of the time I was just laughing my ass off.

rating: 4 stars

2. The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1) by Rick Riordan – It’s odd to have a light read with such deep mythology. But there’s so much humor and friendship in Rick Riordan’s books. They’re hard to pass up, so read them if you haven’t.

rating: 5 stars

3. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson – In this light, summer read, we have two amazing and witty characters who are just bound to make you laugh. I loved all of Amy & Roger’s crazy antics. It’s definitely a great, fun read.

rating: 5 stars

4. Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2) by Stephanie Perkins – We have two really sweet characters who have their own unique personalities. This is a great read if you’re looking for something light and sweet.

rating: 4 stars

5. Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen – Flipped is an adorable story about young love that will surely make you squeal.

rating: 3.5 stars

6. School Spirits (School Spirits, #1) by Rachel Hawkins – This is a really light paranormal read. We have a really cute love interest that will brighten up your day! It was an okay read for me, but I’ll bet that you’ll love it if you’re okay with reading cliches.

rating: 2.5 stars

7. Second Kiss by Natalie Palmer – This one’s not much of a light read, but I really enjoyed it and it was really cute. We have the cliche but adorable best-friends-turned-lovers series. Our characters are a bit younger than our usual YA reads, so give this one a shot.

rating: 4 stars

8. The Ghost and the Goth (The Ghost and the Goth, #1) by Stacey Kade – If you’re looking for a cute, paranormal love story, this one’s for you! It’s a quick, fun read with stereotyped (but not boring) characters.

rating: 4 stars

9. Rhymes with Cupid by Anna Humphrey – A very cute Valentine’s Day romance. We have two really cute main characters that will capture your hearts.

rating: 3 stars

10. That Boy (That Boy, #1) by Jillian Dodd – I thought this one was really cute. The writing style was kind of irritating, but it captures how a typical girl actually thinks. I wasn’t a fan of the sequel, though.

rating: 4 stars

What are your top ten light novel picks?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (1)

  1. Ooh Rachel Hawkins is such a good choice- how could I forget? Amy & Roger is so awesome, and I need to check out the Stacey Kade series sometime. Fab list!

    Like

    1. Thank you! You should read the sequel. It isn’t as good but it’s still very entertaining. ;)

      Like

    1. I think it was more about Amy & Roger’s journey rather than Amy’s past. It was a fun read for me, glad you thought so, too :)

      Like

  2. I’m just about to start School Spirits. I hope I enjoy it as much as I enjoyed the Hex Hall series! It looks so promising.

    Percy Jackson! I absolutely ADORE those books.

    Great list!

    Like

  3. Stephanie Perkins! God, I love her books. She’s brilliant, definitely one of my favorite authors.

    And Flipped… funny thing is, I have the book, but I haven’t read it yet. I think there’s also a movie… not sure.

    And a couple of days ago I got The Ghost and the Goth. I’ll probably read it soon. How bad for a goth guy that he’s the only one who sees the dead popular girl. I hope she annoys the hell out of him. haha

    Like

  4. I love how everyone had Anna on their list! I still need to read Lola myself. I added Hex Hall to my list, and while I wouldn’t give it rave ratings, it was a cute light read, like I imagine School Spirits is.

    Great list Christie!

    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

