review

Title: Touch of Power
Author:
Maria V. Snyder
Series:
Avry of Kazan, #1
Publisher:
Mira Books/Harlequin
Publish Date:
December 20, 2011
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honored for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.
Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince—leader of a campaign against her people. As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for. Because the price of peace may well be her life…


 photo generalthoughts_zps43654e44.png

I loved the whole premise of the book. It has so much potential. The book has plenty of life lessons and experiences to learn from.

My first Maria V. Snyder book was Poison Study. I loved it so much. I love her writing style. It’s easy to follow, understandable and she doesn’t use difficult terms.

This book was good. I liked it. The heroine was sort of kick-ass, forgiving and very soft-hearted. But there were scenes in the book where I found her annoying and inconsiderate. She’s very hard-headed. Kerrick, our male protagonist, had this bad boy attitude that I did not appreciate at all. I didn’t like him as much as I loved Valek from Poison Study. Plus, I don’t like his name. It’s getting on my nerves.

The side characters (Belen, Loren, Quain, Flea) were great. They all had their sense of humor and would lift my mood after parts where I would hate Kerrick.

The world-building was confusing. It’s hard to tell what time period this book is set in. The descriptions were kind of fuzzy. Despite this, I managed to still enjoyed the setting and the main plot. But not the romance. I did not enjoy that.

Overall, I liked it and I hope the second book is better.

 photo detailedreview_zpsc8e80656.png

So this part of the review is sort of like a discussion where I rant/rave about specific parts of the novel.

Things I didn’t like…

In the first chapter, Avry is captured and sentenced to death. Despite knowing she’s going to die, she’s really chill about it. She doesn’t thrash around, complain or even attempt to escape. Honestly, I don’t think anyone will be so relaxed with the idea of death.

Avry, supposedly, was the only Healer left. I’m not a fan of the stories where the main character is either the only one left of her kind or he/she is the only person who could solve a huge conflict, which, in this case, was to heal prince Ryne.

Her “attraction” to Tohon was irritating and unnecessary. Couldn’t she be his slave/secretary whatever without the kisses and seduction? Tohon kind of reminds me of Warner from [book:Unravel Me|13104080], whom I hate just as much.

Kerrick is really mean to Avry, yet in the end she lets this slide. He handcuffed her on trees to sleep and didn’t let her use her cloak when it was cold. I don’t like his character nor Avry’s acceptance towards him.

Just like I said, the world building was kind of confusing. While reading, you would imagine a sort of olden times setting, since they used cloaks and there were mountains everywhere, but they even had glass coffins, toxins, vials, etc. which implies that it’s in the present time. I will just assume that this is set in the future.

Things I liked…

I loved the side characters. Belen was so kind and caring, Loren and Quain were hilarious and little Flea was adorable.

Even if the world building was confusing, I loved the setting. I really like those stories that takes place in mountains, caves and the likes. They make the story seem more serious, but still enjoyable to read.

Ryne was actually a pretty fun character. He was focused yet funny. I could understand why Kerrick and the rest of the gang would want to heal him.

The Death/Life Lilies were a great addition to the story. I liked their roles in the story. Flea was technically buried in a Death Lily which was probably better than burning him or burying him in a depressing coffin.

I liked Mom. She was nice and a great mother figure even towards the gang who weren’t even her real kids. She understood Avry and wasn’t like everyone else who just wanted the reward money for Avry’s capture.

I liked the general plot. They needed a healer to heal Ryne from the Plague so that he could defeat Tohon who planned to take over all of the Realms. I liked the basic idea of Healers and the other Magicians. I want to be a Life Magician. So the world of Touch of Power seems like a cool place to live in.

3 starssignature

2 thoughts on “Review: Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

  1. I haven’t read this cause it’s not YA book… I have never read anything by Maria V. Snyder but I really want to read her dystopian book calles Inside Out. Glad that you liked this one despite the negatives! :)

    Like

    1. I haven’t read that yet but I want to, as well. If you ever read it, send me a link to your review so that I’ll know if it’s good or not :)

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. :)

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

